Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2007 Crowd Watch

t-ba

Farva said:
But Manly crowds have been good all year. Brisbane may be interstate, but i reckon they have a lot of pulling power.
Should be an awesome game.

Think about where Brookvale is. Think about where most people in ther Northern Beaches commute to, and then think about the traffic that's usually around Brookvale oval at 6:00pm...

The Manly forums on the interwebs seem to think a sub10k crowd isn't out of the realms of possibility.

Read some of the prior posts mate - considering the paper has released information stating that not many tickets are left, that would indicate a pretty decent crowd, already expecting in excess of your dreaded 10k.

t-ba

Dodger said:
Read some of the prior posts mate - considering the paper has released information stating that not many tickets are left, that would indicate a pretty decent crowd, already expecting in excess of your dreaded 10k.

Official website has it at 5000.

http://www.manlyseaeagles.com.au/default.asp

Check the 'Thermometers'

The papers have consistently proven themselves to be terrible indicators on ticket sales, as has the print and radio media in general.

Well maybe the clubs could do them a decent service and provide them with the details ;-)

t-ba

Dodger said:
Well maybe the clubs could do them a decent service and provide them with the details ;-)

:roll:. If the Paper wants the details, maybe they should ring around and ask for the information. Despite what the quality of their journalism suggests, the DT is not a kid in year three who the teacher forgot to hand out a yellow Connecta-pen too...No one should have to be holding their hand.

Or maybe you could do it for them Dodger? Ring up all the clubs on Thursday night and ask them how many tickets are available, and then email your findings of to Ray Chesterton?

scottyeel

The paper also said "few" rather than plenty for the Eels game. Can't see more than 12000 turning up unfortunately.

LESStar58

Hopefully get a decent crowd to witness the old Melbourne/Sydney rivalry tonight.... bit of rain this morning and it started up again this arvo. Should be a good night for footy and hopefully a few people will show!

danmiles73

Another very ordinary crowd down in Sydney tonight. Here's an interesting stat calculated from another league site's current crowd figures (which are not up to this round):

Sydney (*) crowds: total - 551678 average - 14910
All others: total - 612308 average - 21114

(*) home crowds for Souths, Manly, Roosters, Cronulla, Dragons (both grounds), Penrith, Eels, Wests, Bulldogs. Although some are not "in Sydney" they certainly encapsulate the region in which NRL matches appear to be failing to draw consistent crowds.

effnic

Brutus said:
10,182 at Parra Stadium tonight.
Well there you go, paper said few tickets available and thats what showed up very f**king ordinary parra.
As i said before we will be lucky to get 15k.

Moffo

effnic said:
Well there you go, paper said few tickets available and thats what showed up very f**king ordinary parra.
As i said before we will be lucky to get 15k.

3 years ago that crowd would've been 7k.

fanatique

Who can blame Victorians for not turning up when all we've heard all week is about some exhibition game which underlines how they are outside the loop in a regional NSW/QLD game?

Scrap the exhibition and let the best players play for their clubs and maybe then more people will turn up.

Scrap Origin?

You're the biggest tool on the forums if you think that's a realistic option :lol:

S.S.T.I.D

As much as I love Origin footy, it is a burden on the club games.

One could be forgiven for thinking there weren't games this weekend at all such has been the coverage.

ByRd

loll get rid of origin, you guys are kidding, the game exists outside of the nrl loll

Really if you look at it the club level being more important than anything is what holds our game back at higher levels i.e. State and International.