Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2008 Footy Show Chat Thread

hutch

He didn't say it. He said people say it. Big difference.

However, he was pretty racist when he was talking about how alot of parents think it's dangerous to put their "Aussie" kids up against the "Islander" kids.

Just what the hell does he reckon the "Islander" Kids are? Indonesian?

that was poor form by fatty. a lot of polynesian kids are australian and basically he talked about them as though they have no right to be here.

forward pass

Actually, I will go against what seems to be popular opinion and say I think Slater is always very good when discussing footy matters. He is much better than a lot of others.

Callan Pk

It was seriously poor form from a bloke whose apparently been hosting an occasionally top rating show for over a decade now.

I agree he was in poor form, but do you think he came across as saying similar to this?

basically he talked about them as though they have no right to be here.

Thats a load of sensationalist garbage.

Tunguska

It was seriously poor form from a bloke whose apparently been hosting an occasionally top rating show for over a decade now.

Mate your a f**king idiot. Grow up and stop being so politically correct. Name one thing that Fatty did that was racist. By racist I mean he discriminated or differentiated based on race.

IT'S NOT RACIST TO DRAW ATTENTION TO RACE WHEN HE DREW ATTENTION TO BOTH AUSSIES AND POLYS.

Tom Ace

Actually, I will go against what seems to be popular opinion and say I think Slater is always very good when discussing footy matters. He is much better than a lot of others.

Very true. He seems completely at ease in front of the camera.

Could see a career in it for him in the years to come after retirement.

hutch

Mate your a f**king idiot. Grow up and stop being so politically correct. Name one thing that Fatty did that was racist. By racist I mean he discriminated or differentiated based on race.

IT'S NOT RACIST TO DRAW ATTENTION TO RACE WHEN HE DREW ATTENTION TO BOTH AUSSIES AND POLYS.

fatty didnt meant to be racist at all, but i think it is racist to assume that the "aussies" are the white kids. why cant the polynesians be "aussies" as well? it may have sounded better if he said the polynesian kids develop earlier than the european or anglo-saxon kids. im sure there was absolutely no intent on fattys behalf.

ucantseeme

The PR machine seems to have gone into overdrive here from you guys. Same type of PC crap happens after crowd violence at Dogs games.

SBW was the one making inflammatory statements not Paul Vautin. Don't try to use misdirection to shift focus to Fatty.

t-ba

I agree he was in poor form, but do you think he came across as saying similar to this?

Thats a load of sensationalist garbage.

No, most certainly not.

You can say I'm being PC and all, but frankly, It's Little Faux Pas' like that that drag down the image of the game. What's so hard about simply observing a PC policy?

This 'Harden the f*ck up' attitude simply won't fly with bleating mothers and other people who hold the key to the games demographic popularity.

t-ba

NFL?

im sure its a soccer league.

UEFA champions league?

It's not really a 'League' in the Sense of the NFL, NRL or EPL, but the revenues raised by lowly clubs like Arizona are far in excess of some of the European powerhouses.

Cumberland Throw

No comments tonight hey,,

that cake baking activity was top shelf tv,, with my father in law I fu#$ed Rugby Legaue Sarah Murdoch...

I predict thats gold will not start before 10.55pm....

Cumberland Throw

Yes Shane Crawford told robbo to lick his arse at the Logies after party... Robbo said he didn't want Sam Newmans sloppy seconds...

God-King Dean

No, most certainly not.

You can say I'm being PC and all, but frankly, It's Little Faux Pas' like that that drag down the image of the game. What's so hard about simply observing a PC policy?

This 'Harden the f*ck up' attitude simply won't fly with bleating mothers and other people who hold the key to the games demographic popularity.

PC is for fearful poofs.