Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2010 Crowd Watch

bazza

Love your work Loudstrat. I agree with you completely. I think the crowd figures were very acceptable. Some people expect too much.

Agree - The crowds were pretty good.
I think the value of increased membership will show further into the season where the games that got 7-8k last year might get more like 9-10k.

That would've increased the crowd - hotter weather would've seen less.

ozjet1

This may have been done but a quick overview of the crowds so far:

Parra v Saints @ Parra - 18213 [3]
Brissy v NQ @ Suncorp - 48516 [1]
Dogs v Knights @ ANZ - 18110 [4]
Penrith v Canb @ CUA - 11133 [7]
Cron v Melb @ Toyota - 11820 [6]
GC v NZ @ Skilled Pk - 16112 [5]
Souths v Syd @ ANZ - 23149 [2]
Total of 147,053, average per game 21,008

Although PAR vs SGI, BRI vs NQ, and CTB vs NEW got the crowds that were generally predicted by posters last week, the rest of them were well below predicted. But IMO, the predictions were generous anyway.

Furthermore, referring to an average crowd per game when looking at the actual attendances per game is a great piece of spin. Only two matches of the 7 actually surpassed the average, with one game being largely responsible for it. The median crowd figure would be more apt - 18,110. Still a good result.

CC_Roosters

Agree - The crowds were pretty good.
I think the value of increased membership will show further into the season where the games that got 7-8k last year might get more like 9-10k.

hopefully your right. i remember the parra v sharks games last year during origin drew a mere 7K, and it is embarrassing when you see 4 figure attendances. The eels almost have that amount in ticketed members this year so it will hopefully make the difference.

My first impression of the crowds at the saturday night games was they were poor for season openers. but dogs got 18K against an out of town team and penrith and cronulla pulled 11K + for out of town teams, which is good considering passed crowds against them.

The roosters crowd v the tigers will be interesting next week, given the win tiday. hopefully 20-25K is acheivable

Springs

I thought the raw was a strange one for Round 1. Yes the Souths and Parramatta games probably should have been bigger but they were still good. I don't understand 6 games in Sydney with 3 of them against out of town teams. We were never going to beat the 2008 record with games like Sharks v Storm, Panthers v Raiders and Titans v Warriors.
In the 2008 Round 1 they deliberately booked local derbies for most games, 4 in Sydney with all of them containing Sydney derbies. Plus they had the opening of Skilled Park, Storm playing at Etihad and games at Brisbane and Newcastle guaranteed to draw big crowds because of the opening game of the season, even though they were against low-drawing teams.
This year we didn't have a chance. I expected more at the Souths game mainly because of the Charity Shield crowd. Gold Coast game was about the same as last year, where they didn't learn about scheduling 1.00pm Round 1 games.

ozjet1

I thought the raw was a strange one for Round 1. Yes the Souths and Parramatta games probably should have been bigger but they were still good. I don't understand 6 games in Sydney with 3 of them against out of town teams. We were never going to beat the 2008 record with games like Sharks v Storm, Panthers v Raiders and Titans v Warriors.
In the 2008 Round 1 they deliberately booked local derbies for most games, 4 in Sydney with all of them containing Sydney derbies. Plus they had the opening of Skilled Park, Storm playing at Etihad and games at Brisbane and Newcastle guaranteed to draw big crowds because of the opening game of the season, even though they were against low-drawing teams.
This year we didn't have a chance. I expected more at the Souths game mainly because of the Charity Shield crowd. Gold Coast game was about the same as last year, where they didn't learn about scheduling 1.00pm Round 1 games.

was going to write up a similar post, springs. i reckon there shouldve been a few more big matchups to really get the masses excited.

i still think a big opening round double-header @ Homebush should be investigated..........not necessarily for friday night, but perhaps saturday evening. that way, C9 can still look after both the Sydney & Brisbane markets with standalone Sydney/QLD double-header swap to open the season. and then schedule both Souths & Canterbury (as the home tennants of the Olympic Stadium) in a double-header on saturday evening.

and really, what did you expect from a Roosters match? their fans are reluctant to go to the SFS when they're doing well. to travel west on a train further than central? you're dreamin'.

Knightmare

Geez there are some whingers here at times. The way some carry on "if the titans dont get 21k they will surely die" you'd think the NRL would outdraw the second coming of Christ with Motorhead as support!

The matchups in round 1 consisted of:

Parra v Saints - 2 rivals with big years - and the chronic f*tards at the Telegraph telling the world that 30 000 fans would be turned away 2 weeks in advance. If that aint sabotage I dunno what is - like telling the world that Maccas will have no more Big Macs - yet they still sell 18000. A good effort considering the rampant panic the Telegraph instilled in the f*cktards of the League world.

Brisbane v Cowpats. With the worst round 1 Brisbane have ever fielded, against a crap Cowpats side - their furthest Australian competitor -and they jagged a great crowd.

Dogs v Knights. The Knights with the worst pre season since Norths players turned up and were handed a maroon and white jumper and introduced to their new boss Arko. Crowd - not a bad effort under the circumstances.

Then there were 2 home games to teams with dabolical recent histories versus out of town teams with less fans than Peter Garrett. Combined total of 23k on a saturday night - suggests far better crowds against other clubs.

Gold Coast vs NZ. The home side requiring a home mortgage for tickets - the away side perennial underachievers from another country with a worse travelling record than the HMAS Melbourne. 16k sold the family jewelles tpo make it. Not bad at all - no game will rate worse at Skilled Park

Souths v Easts - the "traditional" rivals where the combined fan base of 6 yell at each other - and one team as spooners last year, and carrying the baggage of the "thrown game" allegations, and the other being excited about recreating 1967 - with the same bloody game plan. 23k - good crowd considering they were both failures last year.

I remember the days when half the games got 8k, and the match of the day drew 15k. They are not long ago either.

Anyone expecting bigger crowds than attend a Haitian food drop are delusional.

Knightmare

Ticket to game=$50, 2-3 rounds of beers, at least 50-70 bucks. There is $120 without even trying. That is too much each weekend. I would rather go to a movie for $15 and then watch the game on IQ fast forwarding the scrums, pre game rubbish and half time break. Game goes quicker and lasts just over 60 mins of so.

I hope you're getting your beers before you get into the ground. If you're paying Suncorp prices for a tepid cup of XXXX, no wonder it's costing you so much!

At EAS I go to Macca's for food beforehand, and if I'm going to a match at the SFS I got for drinks at the Captain Cook generally.

Big Mick

Cant really smash the Penrith crowd.

It was at risk of rain all day.

Plus Canberra arn't known as great travelling supporters...there was lucky to be 200 there..all on the southern hill.

Considering our crowds last year, and our recent history of underperformance...that wasn't bad.

But we'll be ok from Round 5 onwards.

Round 3 we play Melbourne. Not exactly expecting awesome crowds for that.

ozjet1

Cant really smash the Penrith crowd.

It was at risk of rain all day.

Plus Canberra arn't known as great travelling supporters...there was lucky to be 200 there..all on the southern hill.

Considering our crowds last year, and our recent history of underperformance...that wasn't bad.

But we'll be ok from Round 5 onwards.

Round 3 we play Melbourne. Not exactly expecting awesome crowds for that.

what about that channel 9 dickhead at homebush during a live cross on the sunday footy show.............he said it looked like there was a massive storm brewing and people were better off staying at home and watching the game on the tele. someone at the NRL really has to give these merkins a kick up the arse.

ByRd

Round 1 crowds:

Parra v Saints @ Parra - 18,213
Brissy v NQ @ Suncorp - 48,516
Dogs v Knights @ ANZ - 18, 110
Penrith v Canb @ CUA - 11, 133
Cron v Melb @ Toyota - 11,820
GC v NZ @ Skilled Pk - 16, 112
Souths v Syd @ ANZ - 23, 149
Tigers v Eagles @ SFS - 18, 421

Total: 165, 474
Avg: 20, 684

Not a bad start to the year i guess.

ByRd

Might as well start the predictions for Round 2:

Dragons v Bulldogs @ Win Stadium - 19, 274 (capacity)
Rabbitohs v Titans @ ANZ - 14, 319
Warriors v Sharks @ Mt Smart - 15, 750
Knights v Storm @ EAS - 17, 482 (not sure how much the ground holds right now but it should go close to capacity imo)
Cowboys v Panthers @ DFS - 20, 618
Eels v Sea Eagles @ Parra - 17, 462
Roosters v Tigers @ SFS - 20, 176
Raiders v Broncos @ Canberra - 11, 480

Total: 136, 561
Avg: 17, 070

Good crowd at the SFS tonight.

Round 2 predictions
Dragons v Bulldogs @ Win Stadium - 19 000
Rabbitohs v Titans @ ANZ - 15 000
Warriors v Sharks @ Mt Smart - 14 000
Knights v Storm @ EAS - 16 000
Cowboys v Panthers @ DFS - 20 000
Eels v Sea Eagles @ Parra - 18 000
Roosters v Tigers @ SFS - 20 000
Raiders v Broncos @ Canberra - 10 000
Average: 16 500

Round 1 crowds:

Parra v Saints @ Parra - 18,213
Brissy v NQ @ Suncorp - 48,516
Dogs v Knights @ ANZ - 18, 110
Penrith v Canb @ CUA - 11, 133
Cron v Melb @ Toyota - 11,820
GC v NZ @ Skilled Pk - 16, 112
Souths v Syd @ ANZ - 23, 149
Tigers v Eagles @ SFS - 18, 421

Total: 165, 474
Avg: 20, 684

Not a bad start to the year i guess.

What were the numbers first round last year?

ByRd

Rd1 2009 = 168,483 (av 21,060)
Rd1 2008 = 183,627 (av 23,953)
Rd1 2007 = 185,051 (av 23,131)
Rd1 2006 = 161,713 (av 23,102)
Rd1 2005 = 159,614 (av 22,802)
Rd1 2004 = 138,304 (av 19,758)
Rd1 2003 = 123,405 (av 17,629)