Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2011 Parra Football Club AGM

Why didn't you mention such a big development as a failed no-confidence vote?

How many people were there and they couldn't get one person to second a motion of no-confidence?

Doesn't sound like 'the floor' is even close to 10-1 against the board.

Because it didn't go to a vote. The motion was not seconded.

I know the person involved and I know members of his family who post on here and I am not going to much further into that.

Having said that I was sitting with members of this message board.
The 10 - 1 score line is more along the line of the number of times someone either at the mic or on the stage had to conceded a point.
Example 1
Chairman: Apologies, I have one Apologies from the Vice Chairman Sid Kelly who is on leave, does anyone else (to the remainder of those on stage and the floor) have any apologies.
---after a few seconds ----
Floor: Denis Fitzgerald Life member 104, Mr. Chairman, as the CEO of the football club is also according to the constitution the secretary do we have apologies from Paul Osbourne as I can't see him here or onstage.
Chairman (looks at Bob Bently): Oh yes, armm I would guess that yes we have apologies from Paul
Mark : One Nil.
Example 2
Floor: XXXXX XXXXXX (Name withheld to protect identity). I have a question on Page 2 of the Annual Report. In the list of KPI's for the club you list the top KPI is to get junior players into the NRL, can you give us more information on this KPI, is that junior players from our district into any NRL side or is it any junior player debuting for Parramatta, or any Parramatta junior playing for Parramatta, and what is consider success according to that KPI.
---after much filling around with the document on the table on stage ---
Chairman : Is Terry Rose in the room?
Terry Rose: Yes
Chairman : Is this something you can answer?
Terry Rose: doesn't it have to do with the NRL club?
Chairman (to Question asker) : We will take that under advisement and get back to you on that matter.
Mark : Four Nil.

Fmd!!! Seriously??it wasn't a game of air hockey, how the hell did we get to a score line situation?? It was an agm! There were grievances from the floor as there is every year that I have been, the difference is that we didn't have a speaker who intimidate and bully the members when they questioned anything they did... Give me break!

No, sounds like he was on the floor making a nuisance of himself.

Fathead

I'm sure the Guru situation will be cleared up. Checking his membership status would have been one of the first things they did before appointing him to the board.

you reckon ??? Im willing to bet that they didnt even know the rules. Amateur hour AGAIN !!!! -
As Big Jack once said " winning starts in the back room"
We will not do anything until we become a PROFESSIONAL club instead of running the place like a back room chook raffle.

Maroubra Eel

you reckon ??? Im willing to bet that they didnt even know the rules. Amateur hour AGAIN !!!! -
As Big Jack once said " winning starts in the back room"
We will not do anything until we become a PROFESSIONAL club instead of running the place like a back room chook raffle.

Yes I'm very confident it will all check out and be cleared up. As I said, it would have been one of the things they checked before appointing him.

We got to it when we started making a joke of the meetings.

Yes it was an AGM which makes it all the more depressing.

So what happened last year mate?

Yes I'm very confident it will all check out and be cleared up. As I said, it would have been one of the things they checked before appointing him.

Yep there is a simple explanation I'm sure.

Wasn't there the same problem with Terry Leabeater way back ?

No I would say they were asking valid questions and even the boards staunches supporters would conceed they looked like a rabble up on stage.

That's great then.
Good to see Denis doing what he thinks is the best thing for the club.
Glad to hear his heart is still in the place, and he's asking questions to make sure the board keep everything above board. It's all sweet then.

Sounds like Dennis still has the club's best interests at heart.

Maybe he should run for a spot on the board. Sounds like he'd get plenty of votes. 10-1 last I heard.

Maroubra Eel

So when will the Guru stuff be cleared up?

I have to admit it would be pretty funny if the board didn't realize he wasn't a voting member. But there's about zero chance of this. I reckon Fitzy was being a bit cheeky.

Fathead

Well with Guru there it would have been easy to clean it up and slap Fitzy down straight away. Something they would have enjoyed.

He may be a lot of things but Fitzy isnt dumb. He would have been very sure about the status of Guru before he stuck his neck out.

Spags might be a good bloke but it underlies AGAIN the need to appoint professional people to the board instead of good footy players.

(and thats nothing against Guru)

Sounds like Dennis still has the club's best interests at heart.

Maybe he should run for a spot on the board. Sounds like he'd get plenty of votes. 10-1 last I heard.

Sounds like he's back in the loop.
He could be in charge again this time next year.
Our future may not be certain again beyond 5 more years.
The pressure of survival is probably a good thing.