Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2011 Parra Football Club AGM

I suppose what's more concerning is that Eric should have known that he wasn't eligible but took up the position anyway.
Do we really need people like this on the board if they are that incapable?
Geez, even I would have known if I was eligible or not, should I have been nominated.
It really was an example of amateur hour. The board should be ashamed.

Agree Suity.

But I don't think the Board or individual directors should wear all the blame? They have a full-time Leagues CEO there who should be up to speed on stuff like this, and advise the Board accordingly before any decisions are ratified. Bentley is showing himself to be less than exemplary so far, but it's a big step up to go from Council HR to running a Leagues Club in two years if we're talking about appointments on merit....

In the Fitzy years we were all concerned we had a CEO controlling the Board too much - now it seems we have a Board that controls the CEO, who is incapable of putting in the necessary checks and balances. One day our club might get eventually it right... :crazy:

Did this stuff up cost the club?

Did Guru Snr steal money?

He literally sat in 2 board meetings?

Was it really that bad? 10 pages on and we are still crying on about a minor little issue that had no bearing on any costs to the Leagues Club?

The Leabeater membership has nothing to do with this so I'm not sure why your digging that far back.

How did the announcement cost time (wages). It would of taken Doug McDougall probably 5 to 10 mins to run that release.

Storm in a tea cup, there are other bigger issues at the moment and we have become to fickle.

This is the point.

The only people who think this is a big deal are the ones who already don't like the current board. Does anybody else care? Has this changed anybody else's mind?

At the same AGM where this came out some guy couldn't even find one person to second his motion of no-confidence.

I think most Eels fans are just sick of petty bullshit. The haters say it's proof THE BOARD MUST GO!!!! and everybody else blames Fitzgerald and the media.

Everyone has alredy picked sides and now we're all just seeing what we want to see - either:

1. the board has FAILED MASSIVELY, or

2. the club (the board) is being attacked by outsiders (Fitzgerald and the media)

I think this ugly off-season will really galvanise the fans (most of us anyway). I've always thought we need a bit of a siege mentality to get us back in the winning mindset.

This summer of media criticism will be a blessing in disguise. Who else is hungry to watch some footy?

This is the point.

The only people who think this is a big deal are the ones who already don't like the current board. Does anybody else care? Has this changed anybody else's mind?

At the same AGM where this came out some guy couldn't even find one person to second his motion of no-confidence.

I think most Eels fans are just sick of petty bullshit. The haters say it's proof THE BOARD MUST GO!!!! and everybody else blames Fitzgerald and the media.

Everyone has alredy picked sides and now we're all just seeing what we want to see - either:

1. the board has FAILED MASSIVELY, or

2. the club (the board) is being attacked by outsiders (Fitzgerald and the media)

I think this ugly off-season will really galvanise the fans (most of us anyway). I've always thought we need a bit of a siege mentality to get us back in the winning mindset.

This summer of media criticism will be a blessing in disguise. Who else is hungry to watch some footy?

What a load of crap. It's not about sides or sacking the board.

Eels punters are sick of being in the papers for all the wrong reasons. We want the board to stop f**king up. FMD it can't be THAT hard.

Jodeci

Eels punters are sick of being in the papers for all the wrong reasons. We want the board to stop f**king up. FMD it can't be THAT hard.

Gronk, I said earlier in this thread it was a stuff up, but seriously 11 pages of what???

We will always be in the papers for both good and bad. We need to accept that our club will always be scrutinised for the littlest of things.

If Chris Sandow leaves training early to pick up his kids or something along those lines, headline "Sandow walks from Eels".

Yes it was a minor stuff up and as I said in my earlier post, it didn't cost anything, no one was hurt, no one stole anything, etc

Some of us are carrying on like idiots.

When the originally announcement happened the Guru would be on the board, did anyone question Guru Snr his appointment regarding not having served the 3 years???

Probably only 1 person.

SDM

Seriously guys, stop posting, if we make 12 pages the issue will become relevant.

I don't accept that. I'm sick of being in the papers and I don't care if it's a minor thing or not. Just f**king fix these problems. My 76 year old dad said to me last night that we couldn't organise a root in a brothel. He has no agenda has not taken sides and does not give a f**k who runs the club. He is also sick of being in the papers for all the wrong reasons.

what was in the papers was hardly even noteworthy - there's more hoo-har going on on here .... I'd be willing to bet the papers got their little stories from info posted here cos it was never published until after the discussion had gotten rolling here

nothing event - wait 6 months, put him on the board then - move on

Tony Bongo

Having meet Mr Duncan, previous to 2008 /2009 elections I can tell you without a doubt he was.

I didn't see Mark's comment before so I'm clear on that now.

MITS has answered the question regarding GD.

While I did agree with the conflict of interest regarding a major sponsor on the board, it gets pretty hard to draw a line regarding others who have a "perceived conflict of interest". The registered club act requires members to be notified of any business association of a board member or executive. Where to you drawn the line, Dr Michael Johnston was in a similar position for years with no complaint. What about Mario having an association with a competitor club?

The surprising aspect about EGS association is the fact that his payments with his band aren't listed in the report (or he plays for free), I see this an area that could be exploited if people were so inclined.

Really if people are so concerned with the operation of the NRL side is it too much to pay $100 for a perpetual membership to the club?
Yes I believe $100 is too much for some people. I may have been mis informed but I was told EGG does get paid to play. If that's the case I guess it will be in the Leagues Club financial report somewhere.

cv8z

Gronk, I said earlier in this thread it was a stuff up, but seriously 11 pages of what???

We will always be in the papers for both good and bad. We need to accept that our club will always be scrutinised for the littlest of things.

If Chris Sandow leaves training early to pick up his kids or something along those lines, headline "Sandow walks from Eels".

Yes it was a minor stuff up and as I said in my earlier post, it didn't cost anything, no one was hurt, no one stole anything, etc

Some of us are carrying on like idiots.

When the originally announcement happened the Guru would be on the board, did anyone question Guru Snr his appointment regarding not having served the 3 years???

Probably only 1 person.
Don't tell me it was Hassa?

SDM

Someone teased me about Parra and it hurt my feelings. Stop the leaks!!!!!11!!!1

cv8z

I didn't see Mark's comment before so I'm clear on that now.

Yes I believe $100 is too much for some people. I may have been mis informed but I was told EGG does get paid to play. If that's the case I guess it will be in the Leagues Club financial report somewhere.

Then they can pay 10 bucks a year and get a $10 food voucher to nullify it

Delboy

Jodeci hit the nail on the head, we managed to get 10 pages of "beating ourselves up" over virtually nothing

There should be no question why some long term memebrs avoid the footy club meetings, it has become about point scoring by a a relatively few people, and then coninued on here.

The real question should be why the junior league is battling internally with the Exec Officer and clubs looking to play outside the district, far more important than this drivel

WOW MITS.

You have been waiting for this slip up.

No, I never want bad things for the club, saying I do is tantamount to saying I don't love the club, which I highly resent. I thought better of you mate.

They have stuffed up and your really stretching it for as long as u can sustain this roll on.

Did this stuff up cost the club?

I'm not the one that keeps this thread going sport.

Did Guru Snr steal money?

He literally sat in 2 board meetings?

No, but him sitting in on two board meetings is one thing. the other is that any board member receives a benefit. I would wonder how much of those benefits he has receive that no regular member is entitled to, and as it would appear that he is a regular member, then I would suggest he is not entitled to.

Was it really that bad? 10 pages on and we are still crying on about a minor little issue that had no bearing on any costs to the Leagues Club?

First things first, you may wish to adjust your settings as I only see 4 pages, having said that, it is a small thing, but I have been bringing up these small things since 2007, through both boards, if you f**k up with my club, I will make sure that is known. This is one of several f**kups that was bought up at the meeting.

Some other examples, were that we received 250,000 from the leagues club as payment for memberships to the FC, most will note that all membership packages went up $25 in 2010 the first year the new board had control of memberships, because FC membership was included in your package, yet memberships cost the FC $360,000. The question was asked, why did we receive that bad debt? We were told it was because the FC paid for the membership pack and the shipping costs. How does the membership pack become the finacial issue of the football club, when the NRL side sells it, and has been selling it for the past 10 years? The FC only gives out an annual report and an badge (to under 1500 people), how does that equate to over $36 a member especially when most do not receive half of those benefits?

I wonder come April how close the leagues club financial report will be and if $360,000 cost would be of substance?

The Leabeater membership has nothing to do with this so I'm not sure why your digging that far back.

For mine to shows that 3P stands for, Piss Poor Preparation and it has been from the start.

How did the announcement cost time (wages). It would of taken Doug McDougall probably 5 to 10 mins to run that release.

Storm in a tea cup, there are other bigger issues at the moment and we have become to fickle.

This one may be, but then another, then another, then another. It all rolls on. Sure Doug may have been able to do it in his sleep. 10 minutes, top. Also you have to think that was how long the clubs CEO and board took to think through the appointment.

I would be more concerned if we didn't have a major sponsor like 2 other Sydney clubs at the moment or the Stadium won't be ready till after July cause the stadium roof is falling apart.

As would I, but I am dealing with what Parramatta are actually doing at the moment, let’s not compare them with any other club, because we are not any other club, we are PARRAMATTA.

Yes Mits, Fitzy has caught the board out, well done to the bloke. It's nice to see that he is monitoring them and keeping them on their toes.

Wasn't the only thing they were caught out with on Monday night, just the only one that made the papers.

The biggest one that hasn't gotten that much coverage was a question asked from the operator of "the other site".

When he asked the board what the proposed time line was for returning NRL football operations to the football club, as was listed in their print election material, he was told that.

1) That was not in their election material or part of their campaign.
2) The board is happy with the current arrangement and sees no need for it to change

Jodeci hit the nail on the head, we managed to get 10 pages of "beating ourselves up" over virtually nothing

There should be no question why some long term memebrs avoid the footy club meetings, it has become about point scoring by a a relatively few people, and then coninued on here.

The real question should be why the junior league is battling internally with the Exec Officer and clubs looking to play outside the district, far more important than this drivel

Yep, because this was a meeting of the football club, and not the Junior Rugby Leage. But I will bite. the other clubs are looking to leave because they can't compete with the Big 3, Cabra, Wenty and Mounties.

Now I heard from a parent down at the Bulls that PJRL is bringing in a law that no club can have more than 2 sides per age division, to indeed try to even out the talent across the board. But that would also mean that kids that turn up and play just for the sake of playing might be pushed out of playing for clubs like Hills, when the good players of age come back to the club.

Swings and roundabouts Del.

What a load of crap.

The haters are gloating and everyone else is telling them to settle down. How big an issue can it be?

Delboy

Mits, as you know I am involved in the Junior League, and I can tell you that it is not quite as you describe

There is no major disagreement with the new rules, most clubs have issues with gradings and attitude from the Exec

Mounties actually are suffering themselves from incusrions by Cabra, Hills are in the top 3, but that is possibly more to do with a well run club. To be fair, it really is a matter of direction from the Exec, which is all about the way changes etc are made. It is a long way from satisfactory and I wont go into the number of teams issue, but basically it is 3 teams up to U/11s then 2 teams per age group from there.

Even my club which is relatively new can field 4 teams in the 6/7 and 8s, we sent boys to Kellyville last year to make sure they got a game.

In a nutshell if the Junior League was run possibly with more discussion and less aggression from the top, we may see better solutions. I am sure Jodeci has an opinion too

No, I never want bad things for the club, saying I do is tantamount to saying I don't love the club, which I highly resent. I thought better of you mate.

I'm not the one that keeps this thread going sport.

No, but him sitting in on two board meetings is one thing. the other is that any board member receives a benefit. I would wonder how much of those benefits he has receive that no regular member is entitled to, and as it would appear that he is a regular member, then I would suggest he is not entitled to.

First things first, you may wish to adjust your settings as I only see 4 pages, having said that, it is a small thing, but I have been bringing up these small things since 2007, through both boards, if you f**k up with my club, I will make sure that is known. This is one of several f**kups that was bought up at the meeting.

Some other examples, were that we received 250,000 from the leagues club as payment for memberships to the FC, most will note that all membership packages went up $25 in 2010 the first year the new board had control of memberships, because FC membership was included in your package, yet memberships cost the FC $360,000. The question was asked, why did we receive that bad debt? We were told it was because the FC paid for the membership pack and the shipping costs. How does the membership pack become the finacial issue of the football club, when the NRL side sells it, and has been selling it for the past 10 years? The FC only gives out an annual report and an badge (to under 1500 people), how does that equate to over $36 a member especially when most do not receive half of those benefits?

I wonder come April how close the leagues club financial report will be and if $360,000 cost would be of substance?

For mine to shows that 3P stands for, Piss Poor Preparation and it has been from the start.

This one may be, but then another, then another, then another. It all rolls on. Sure Doug may have been able to do it in his sleep. 10 minutes, top. Also you have to think that was how long the clubs CEO and board took to think through the appointment.

As would I, but I am dealing with what Parramatta are actually doing at the moment, let’s not compare them with any other club, because we are not any other club, we are PARRAMATTA.

Wasn't the only thing they were caught out with on Monday night, just the only one that made the papers.

The biggest one that hasn't gotten that much coverage was a question asked from the operator of "the other site".

When he asked the board what the proposed time line was for returning NRL football operations to the football club, as was listed in their print election material, he was told that.

1) That was not in their election material or part of their campaign.
2) The board is happy with the current arrangement and sees no need for it to change

You say all this now, but when you had the chance to tell us about the AGM you told us all the ways the board WERE MADE TO LOOK LIKE DAMN FOOLS!!! but couldn't be bothered to mention there wasn't one person there willing to second a no-confidence motion.

You say you love the club, but you're only willing to report on the elements that support your view that the board is shit and everybody wants them gone. You sound just like the media heads that are mates with Fitzgerald.

My 76 year old dad said to me last night that we couldn't organise a root in a brothel. He has no agenda has not taken sides and does not give a f**k who runs the club.

I don't reckon they could organise a root in a brothel either but I don't see it as any reason to slash my wrists over it.

There is no better alternative to the current board. We're stuck with this one, do you understand?

If a better alternative becomes available you should vote for them. Until then all your whingeing is just showing the media that there are people who do want this story blown out of proportion day after day after day.

However if that's your goal then carry on.

NO IM SICK OF BEING IN THE PAPERS THEY NEED TO FIX THIS PROBLEM NOW!!! :crazy:

Or, we could just f**king wait six months and then appoint him to the board...

I think you are having difficulty in grasping the problem at hand. It is not the isolated incident of a Board member not being eligible to stand. It is on the on-going pattern of controversy which surrounds the club.

I just hope they can get their house in order soon.