Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014 Origin - Game 1

Hindy went for Ennis last night on Matty Johns show. Merkin.

And I think it makes sense too, considering the Farah will be only out for one game in all likelihood.

My side for SOO 1 (assuming Farah is out) would be:

1. Jed Bogan
2. Josh Mansour
3. Mick Jennings
4. Jarryd Hayne
5. Jorge Taufua
6. Jarrod Mullen
7. Mitchell Pearce
8. Andy Fifita
9. Mick Ennis
10. Paul Gallen
11. Greg Bird
12. Anthony Watmough
13. Shaun Fensom
14. Josh Reynolds
15. Trent Merrin
16. Aaron Woods
17. James Tamou

Game 2 - Farah in for Ennis, Sutton in for Reynolds (back up hooker no longer required).

Or maybe Hindy is doing a Sterlo and trying so hard to appear unbiased that he's going against his own.

I'm not sure he is that calculating. He probably hadn't thought about it before and when questioned about it came up with the first person he could think of. At least he picked someone who wears number 9...

Joshuatheeel

1. Hayne
2. Morris
3. Jennings
4. Morris
5. Richards
6. Carney (yes aren't in the best form but has been there and is one if our best attacking players)
7. Mullen ( time for change )
8. Tamou
9. Farrah if fit, if not peats
10. Gallen
11. Stewart
12. Bird
13. Scott
14. Woods
15. Fifita
16. Watmough
17. Merin

Stuff having a cover for the halves / backs, take a risk and let's take them on in the forwards where I reckon we have an advantage. I reckon this bench would give us a very big advantage after 20 mins. I would go with Stewart / Scott / carney because of their experience.
I hope farrah is fit as he can play 80 mins and offers another kicking option.

oldmancraigy

And I think it makes sense too, considering the Farah will be only out for one game in all likelihood.

It's a strange decision not to pick the best player available at the position....

Ennis has been a flop at Origin level many times. Hooker is so important, we need someone there who is in form, and will fire. There is no issue with dropping Peats for Farah game 2 (assuming Farah recovers, doesn't get injured again). It'd be sad to skip picking Peats on the assumption Farah would be ready, only to find out Farah isn't available game 2 either.

I can't see why Josh + Brett Morris wouldn't be picked either.

oldmancraigy

1. Hayne
2. Morris
3. Jennings
4. Morris
5. Richards
6. Carney (yes aren't in the best form but has been there and is one if our best attacking players)
7. Mullen ( time for change )
8. Tamou
9. Farrah if fit, if not peats
10. Gallen
11. Stewart
12. Bird
13. Scott
14. Woods
15. Fifita
16. Watmough
17. Merin

Stuff having a cover for the halves / backs, take a risk and let's take them on in the forwards where I reckon we have an advantage. I reckon this bench would give us a very big advantage after 20 mins. I would go with Stewart / Scott / carney because of their experience.
I hope farrah is fit as he can play 80 mins and offers another kicking option.

I like your rationale!

But Beau Scott is an edge forward, as are both Stewart and Bird.

I'd probably opt for Gallen at 13 to start with, and shuffle him to prop to bring on Watmough (for example) halfway through the first half. Then leave Gall in the prop rotation for the rest of the game.

Pat Richards is also an interesting choice - good idea to put a goal kicker in the team, and that wing spot is probably the most open one. Personally I'd go with Taufua - but maybe that's just because I would have gone for him last year

It's a strange decision not to pick the best player available at the position....

Ennis has been a flop at Origin level many times. Hooker is so important, we need someone there who is in form, and will fire. There is no issue with dropping Peats for Farah game 2 (assuming Farah recovers, doesn't get injured again). It'd be sad to skip picking Peats on the assumption Farah would be ready, only to find out Farah isn't available game 2 either.

I can't see why Josh + Brett Morris wouldn't be picked either.

I don't think Ennis or Peats is in any better or worse form than each other, so IMO you take the known/experienced option over the " rookie" option. Risk v reward.

And I jus think the Morris boys are overrated.

I'm not sure he is that calculating. He probably hadn't thought about it before and when questioned about it came up with the first person he could think of. At least he picked someone who wears number 9...

I'm not so sure.

Didn't Hindy also pick Minichiello for NSW fullback ahead of Hayne on the Footy Show a few years back?

Unless he's just that cranky that he hates our younger talents....

IMO another good reason to play Peats is planning for the future - Farah is already on the wrong side of 30, and Ennis - aside from being shit - is 120 years old.

However, Nathan Peats isn't even 24 yet.

Joshuatheeel

I like your rationale!

But Beau Scott is an edge forward, as are both Stewart and Bird.

I'd probably opt for Gallen at 13 to start with, and shuffle him to prop to bring on Watmough (for example) halfway through the first half. Then leave Gall in the prop rotation for the rest of the game.

Pat Richards is also an interesting choice - good idea to put a goal kicker in the team, and that wing spot is probably the most open one. Personally I'd go with Taufua - but maybe that's just because I would have gone for him last year

Yeah I wasnt sure if Scott could play lock. I would then move gallen to lock and bring in Willie mason to start and leave Scott out. I reckon need to use experienced players to start.

Richards is very experienced , kicks goals. Jorge will play origin eventually.

fanool

Disclaimer - I have NO idea.
These are the players who deserve to be here from what i have seen in the past month.

1.Hayne
2.Morris
3. Jennings
4. Hoppa
5. Richards
6. Carney
7. Pearce
8. Woods
9. Peats
10. Tamou
11. T Simms
12. Lewis
13. Gallen
14. Watmough
15. Grant
16. Merrin (in case there is a stink)
17. Mannah

There are few injured that I have ruled out (Bird, Stewart, Cordner and Fifita)

I've retained Pearce because he is the best pick to handle the pressure for the game at Suncorp instead of a newbie to Origin. I don't think Reynolds has the X factor although he is mega competitive.

i picked Mannah but there are a bunch of Props that could be named. I haven't seen enough of some of the other teams.

I've gone for skill. If Gidley gets a spot or Hayne isn't FB I won't watch in protest and instead go to my daughters violin recital (she's f%cken hopeless).

That's what happens when you pick teams on form.

f**k form, pick the players with the most ability, whether they're in form or not. You're only as good as your next game.

Someone

Carney is in shit form and is half injured and didnt run the ball against the tigers at all. No way is he playing origin this year. Stop picking him in your teams people.

eels_fan

On form

Hayne
Morris
Morris
Jennings
Hoppa/Tupou
Mullen
Reynolds
Woods
Farah
Tamou
Hoffman
Scott
Gallen

Watmough
Lewis
Merrin
Sims

eels_fan

Anyone think Hayne likely to back up vs Panthers only 46 hours after origin? Tbh I think it's unlikely.

Someone

What id go with...

1. Hayne
2. Hopoate/Taufua/Mcmanus (this is the one position im not sure on. as long as they are defensively sound)
3. Jennings
4. J.Morris
5. B.Morris
6. Maloney (Would pick Mullen if i was convinced he was 100% fit)
7. Pearce
8. Tamou
9. Farah
10. Gallen
11. Lewis
12. Scott
13. Merrin

14. Watmough
15. J.Reynolds
16. Woods
17. T.Sims

A big, solid starting forward pack to wear down the QLD pack with a versatile, strong and quick bench full of flare to win in the game up the middle.