Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014 Origin - Game 1

Eelpout

I'd go with:

1. Hayne
2. Morris, B
3. Jennings
4. Morris, J
5. Dugan
6. Mullen
7. Pearce
8. Gallen
9. Farah
10. Tamou
11. Scott
12. Lewis
13. Watmough

14. Woods
15. Merrin
16. Peats
17. Williams

I'd love to see someone other than Pearce get a chance for a change - and this first game presents the only "excuse" we have, given Mitchell's recent suspension.

Hayne
B Morris
Jennings
J Morris
? (Lottery... maybe Hoppa, seeing as he's been picked once before?)
Sutton (! for the combination with...)
A Reynolds (!)
Gallen
Farah
Tamou
Lewis
Hoffman
Watmough
Merrin
Sims
Williams
Maloney

If it doesnt work, Pearce can be resintated alongside Maloney for games 2 and 3, but I think it's worth trying another halves combo just to throw a spanner in the works.

Someone

well tbh i think game three will be a dead rubber anyway so i think we will get our chance to change the team around.

Sensai Cobra

Ok I'll have a go

Hayne
Bmoz
Jennings
Jmoz
Hoppa
Reynolds
Hodgkinson
Gallen
Farah
Tamou
Lewis
Scott
Watmough

Merrin
Woods
Williams
T Sims

Joely01

Anyone think Hayne likely to back up vs Panthers only 46 hours after origin? Tbh I think it's unlikely.

Players would rather play on te Friday rather then the Sunday after origin.
I hope he plays, but also much more confident this year we would still be able to win without him

Joely01

What I think:
1. Hayne
2. Morris
3. Morris
4. Jennings
5. Hoppa
6. J Reynolds
7. Hodkinson
8. Woods
9. Farah
10. Tamou
11. Lewis
12. Watmough
13. Gallen

14. Merrin
15. Sims
16. Mannah (personally think he deserves it, but very unlikely)
17. Williams

spiderdan

Thankful that thurston and smith are in their latter years and may finally be due to drop a little form come origin.

I'd be giving sutton a run off the bench and I'd pick Mullen in there playing the right side. If Dugan manages to get picked ahead of hayne and Stewart at fb I reckon I'll give up on origin until Daley is sacked. More so this season, Dugan is so far off even being "in the mix", as Daley puts it, that its ridiculous.

Joshuatheeel

My side

1. Hayne
2. Morris
3. Morris
4. Jennings
5. Hoppa
6. Carney - we shouldn't keep on blooding players and carney can be brillant
7. Mullan
8. Tamou
9. Farrah
10. Tolman
11. Lewis
12. Scott
13. Gallen
14. Williams
15. Watmough
16. Merin
17. Woods

Take them on in the forwards, Stewart/bird/fifita/ cordner being out stuffs the plan a bit. I want a very very strong bench. Stuff have a player on the bench to cover the halves it wastes an interchange, Lewis can cover the halves if necessarily. Gallen to play 80 mins and Hayne to take more responsibility for attack, ball play and kick more

If Dugan manages to get picked ahead of hayne I'll give up on origin until Daley is sacked.

All the talk is normally all about finding a fullback and putting Hayne on the wing. This year it is different. Hayne seems to be the front runner.
But why isn't Dugan ever talked about as being shifted to the wing if they want him that badly?
It proves that Hayne is the superior player by far. He is talked about being selected in many positions (wing, centre, 5/8th, fullback), yet Bogan is only ever spoken about as being a possible fullback. Even there, he still isn't better than Hayne.

Daneel

All the talk is normally all about finding a fullback and putting Hayne on the wing. This year it is different. Hayne seems to be the front runner.
But why isn't Dugan ever talked about as being shifted to the wing if they want him that badly?
It proves that Hayne is the superior player by far. He is talked about being selected in many positions (wing, centre, 5/8th, fullback), yet Bogan is only ever spoken about as being a possible fullback. Even there, he still isn't better than Hayne.

Remember the time furner gave him a run at 5/8th?
It was quite amusing. It may have lasted 2 or 3 games. :lol:

T.S Quint

Not sure if Hopoate is ready for Origin just yet.
He's still working his way back into First Grade, and even though he has shown plenty of quality in his first stint back I think he should not be picked this year.

Anyone remember when Jamie Lyon was thrown straight back into Origin/International football after signing with Manly? He couldn't handle it. And he was at least still playing footy for all that time.

I'd put Taufua on the wing. Jennings and Josh Morris in the centres. Brett Morris on the other wing.

Sutton is probably playing better than any other NSW five-eighth. Josh Reynolds is in the hot team, but Sutton has way more skill and size.

Parra Pride

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...f-origin-saviour/story-fn2mcuj6-1226921994679

I don't really care about the entire article, it's simply telling us all things we have known for years. There is one part that I find hilarious though:

Hayne, who was left out of the opening Origin game in 2011 because of attitude issues, has been unstoppable in recent weeks and shot to the top of the Dally M medal leaderboard for the first time since he won the award in 2009.

Attitude issues? Stuart claiming he was a five-eight, not a fullback, is counted as an attitude issue? Are they talking about Stuart's attitude perhaps?

It's taken NSW 6 years to realise he is our best player and the squad should be built around him Gallen and Farah.

Anyone hear Brandy in the call after Jed Bogan through that cut out pass over the sideline???

"He doesn't do much ball playing and that pass is a reason why". :lol:

oldmancraigy

Not sure if Hopoate is ready for Origin just yet.
He's still working his way back into First Grade, and even though he has shown plenty of quality in his first stint back I think he should not be picked this year.

Anyone remember when Jamie Lyon was thrown straight back into Origin/International football after signing with Manly? He couldn't handle it. And he was at least still playing footy for all that time.

I'd put Taufua on the wing. Jennings and Josh Morris in the centres. Brett Morris on the other wing.

Sutton is probably playing better than any other NSW five-eighth. Josh Reynolds is in the hot team, but Sutton has way more skill and size.

Lyon never looked dominant at Origin level.
Hoppa looked the part in his first game.

Different stories really! Hoppa would be one of the best in the comp under the high ball and is strong from dummy half and defensively. I think he would go well if picked.