Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch

oikee

"derp derp derp derp

the QLD clubs arent going well so the league is dying waah waah waah

derp derp derp derp

derp derp faking derp"

Instead of acting like a demented alien, maybe you should start trying to understand what fans are trying to explain.
Your not blind are you. You do understand figures like 8 thousand, 13 thousand, 27 thousand for two powerhouse Sydney clubs.
Those are real facts, real figures.

What i am trying to explain is we need new teams into our heartland areas that will grow the code.
Brisbane and NZ.
I was looking at the first 4 matches figures this weekend, it came to 30 odd thousand.
So 4 games achieve the same results one game at Suncorp can achieve. ?

Even less, Brisbane normally drag 33 thousand to games depending on which team they play.

You see we live on earth alien, with real facts, real figures, not derp derp derpy figures or calculations you seem to enjoy to imploy.
Keep it real alien, dont go space cadet on us.

oikee

B,, B,, B,, B,,B,, Bunnies are the team to beat.
Big Bold Beautiful Burgess Busting Bunnies.
Canberra Warriors was a great game, and had a great caller. Not Biased Freddie and Gus.
Why is Freddie even allowed to comment on Roosters games. He is not neutral, him and Joey always lean towards teams they support which is lop-sided reporting and shows how amateur our game has become.

We need to get rid of NSW trainers and ex-players who are on clubs books, get them off while those teams are playing.
Bring in some neutrals like Lockyer or Sampson, even Gasnier at chook games or Kimmorley.
Freddie is working for NSW origin and a roosters clubman, Joey works for Manly and with other halves.
The leg-up some of these teams get in coverage and help from ex-players and commentators is bias and showing a lack of professionalism by the code.

No wonder fans are not turning up.

oikee

Freddie should be sitting with the crowd, same as Rusty Crowe does.
You wouldn't want james Packer on commentary praising souths every two minutes. ? no.
Then why do we allow Joey and freddie get away with it, and Gus at Penrith games.

It just goes to show how unprofessional and how far our code is behind as a professional sport.

All these little things add up, and are the reason our game cant attract new fans.
Freddie should be on the gate greeting fans coming into ANZ or the SFS.

I would even go as far as having him only do games in Queensland Melbourne or NZ as a sidekick.

That is just me, i hate seeing my team hammered and then having to listen to a fanboy of that team sink the boot in and ham it up to you.
being beaten by a team of internationals, wow, how excited you must be freddie. Now let me buy a team of 15 internationals and then we can dance.

yobbo84

Yesterday's crowd was slightly disappointing. Granted there were only 2-3k Roosters fans, but even so you'd hope for more than 25k Souths fans there.

Then again had we played the Bulldogs there would've been 50k - that's the real "big crowd" Sydney game these days.

Danish

I love that its always our fault when other teams can't pull big home crowds, but if a Roosters fan tries to use the same excuse for a low attendance we are told that relying on away fans to boost crowd numbers is a poor excuse.

At least we know who is actually bringing the lion's share of the crowd at the Easter game against the dogs now.

ouwet

Yesterday's crowd was slightly disappointing. Granted there were only 2-3k Roosters fans, but even so you'd hope for more than 25k Souths fans there.

Then again had we played the Bulldogs there would've been 50k - that's the real "big crowd" Sydney game these days.

Hopefully the weather on good Friday is clear and sunny! GF rematch, should get at least the 51K it got 2 years ago!

Round 3 estimates...

Manly V Bulldogs @ Brookie - 15,400
Broncos V Cowboys @ Suncorp - 41,500
Warriors V Eels @ Mt Smart - 17,000
Raiders V Dragons @ GIO Stadium - 12,000
Storm V Sharks @ AAMI - 13,500
Rabbitohs V Tigers @ ANZ - 24,000 (Do Tigers members get in for free?)
Titans V Knights @ Cbus - 10,300
Roosters V Panthers @ SFS - 15,500

Total - 149,200
Average PG - 18,650

yobbo84

I love that its always our fault when other teams can't pull big home crowds, but if a Roosters fan tries to use the same excuse for a low attendance we are told that relying on away fans to boost crowd numbers is a poor excuse.

At least we know who is actually bringing the lion's share of the crowd at the Easter game against the dogs now.

LOL. You could have not a single away supporter at any Souths home game and we'd still beat every Roosters crowd other than ANZAC Day.

IMHO it's always been about 60-40 to the Dogs at Easter. I don't see that changing.

I think it's a good measure of where Souths are at when there's disappointment at "only" 25,000 of us showing up.

Galeforce

Hey Danish ,
were you at the ANZ stadium yesterday?

If you were , it would have been obvious there was a huge Souths attendance. I would be kind to Roosters fans to suggest there was at least 20000 Souths fans there , easy to judge by the number of souths gear worn by crowd.

I think the earlier rain kept non rabbitohs/roosters fans at home to watch on TV and Roosters fans was very low for such a big game.

I do think the Souths / Bulldogs games appear to have more Bulldogs fans, a BulldogsSouths game yesterday would have been at lest 45000 , with the same Souths supporters present.

SLRBRONCOS

Hopefully the weather on good Friday is clear and sunny! GF rematch, should get at least the 51K it got 2 years ago!

Round 3 estimates...

Total - 149,200
Average PG - 18,650

I think you have nailed this - such a shame that in 2007 and 2008 we pulled 50,000.

Canard

I think you have nailed this - such a shame that in 2007 and 2008 we pulled 50,000.

I still maintain that playing it in Round 3 takes some of the gloss of it. It has reduced this fixture from the 2nd biggest event game outside of Origin to just another game.

In Round 1 both sets of fans are full of optimism and convinced they are going well combined with the hype of the opening round.

To sacrifice a potential 50k for a 28k game against the Rabbits seems dumb to me.

Danish

Hey Danish ,
were you at the ANZ stadium yesterday?

If you were , it would have been obvious there was a huge Souths attendance. I would be kind to Roosters fans to suggest there was at least 20000 Souths fans there , easy to judge by the number of souths gear worn by crowd.

I think the earlier rain kept non rabbitohs/roosters fans at home to watch on TV and Roosters fans was very low for such a big game.

I do think the Souths / Bulldogs games appear to have more Bulldogs fans, a BulldogsSouths game yesterday would have been at lest 45000 , with the same Souths supporters present.

Yes I was. Managed to swing some corporate tickets so thankfully didn't have to pay the usual $45-50 or whatever crazy price they are asking for Cat 1 these days at ANZ.

And yes I would estimate about 20,000 souths fans, making about 7000 roosters fans in attendance. A far cry from the 500-3000 most people have been trying to peg it at on these forums.

There were about 7k roosters fans there yesterday even though souffs fans don’t want to admit it. That means that at a minimum, 12k of the alleged biggest membership base in the NRL couldn’t be bothered turning up to their first home game after winning the comp against their greatest rivals.

If this was at Allianz it would have got 35k minimum regardless of who the home team was.

yobbo84

7k Roosters fans there :lol:

So people reckon there was 1 Roosters fan there for every 3 Souths fans. Really? Please.

The issue about crowds is rarely found by those of us here as many of us are hard core supporters (either of our clubs and/or the code of rugby league) so when attendances like yesterday happen we all wonder why.

Personally, I think the ease of accessibility via television is the reason. Being live on free to air TV, at 4pm on a Sunday, the average person would have wondered "should I spend money on a ticket, spend the time in the car/bus/train getting to and from the ground, spend money on food and drink, put up with any bad crowd behaviour and go to the game or should I say stuff all that and watch it for virtually nothing at home?"

Let's face it, when the game is live on TV, what actual advantage do you get by being at the game? It is that question the NRL and clubs must answer if they want bum on seats at the ground.

For decades we have pandered to Channel 9 and Fox Sports. Games are primarily scheduled around the dates and times they want. I mean what a great time if you were in Sydney and wanted to go to the Sharks v Broncos match - 8.30 pm local time? The people who go to the games are the last people thought of.

Also 4.00 pm on a Sunday. Gee what great timing. Wait till mid-winter. The game will be finishing well after sun down. Just what you need to get the crowds in. Let alone the fun of getting home if you travel by public transport. In Sydney after 6.00 pm, public transport becomes a virtual ghost, and in some areas of Sydney, buses cease running after 6pm. So have fun getting home.

Yes I am pessimistic because I don't see it changing. Until we stop pandering to the code's TV broadcasters nothing will change regarding crowds.

Round 3 estimates...

Total - 149,200
Average PG - 18,650

15,000 for a Rooster v Panthers match on a Monday night?! I don't like your chances mate.

Last year when we played at the SFS in Round 19, and the game being played on a Saturday night, between them the clubs could only muster 13,993 between them. On a Monday night you won't get that big a crowd. Few Panthers supporters will be there as the time of the game on a work day, plus the travel time it takes to get to the SFS from out Penrith way works against Panthers fans, and a few Roosters fans too.

Danish

Try $70. Farcical.

Jesus really? That is beyond a joke. Given how terrible the view from the corners and behind the posts are at ANZ as well they are really screwing people out of going to games with pricing like that.

LineBall

The issue about crowds is rarely found by those of us here as many of us are hard core supporters (either of our clubs and/or the code of rugby league) so when attendances like yesterday happen we all wonder why.

Personally, I think the ease of accessibility via television is the reason. Being live on free to air TV, at 4pm on a Sunday, the average person would have wondered "should I spend money on a ticket, spend the time in the car/bus/train getting to and from the ground, spend money on food and drink, put up with any bad crowd behaviour and go to the game or should I say stuff all that and watch it for virtually nothing at home?"

Let's face it, when the game is live on TV, what actual advantage do you get by being at the game? It is that question the NRL and clubs must answer if they want bum on seats at the ground.

For decades we have pandered to Channel 9 and Fox Sports. Games are primarily scheduled around the dates and times they want. I mean what a great time if you were in Sydney and wanted to go to the Sharks v Broncos match - 8.30 pm local time? The people who go to the games are the last people thought of.

Also 4.00 pm on a Sunday. Gee what great timing. Wait till mid-winter. The game will be finishing well after sun down. Just what you need to get the crowds in. Let alone the fun of getting home if you travel by public transport. In Sydney after 6.00 pm, public transport becomes a virtual ghost, and in some areas of Sydney, buses cease running after 6pm. So have fun getting home.

Yes I am pessimistic because I don't see it changing. Until we stop pandering to the code's TV broadcasters nothing will change regarding crowds.

I agree about the TV issue. It would be great if we could have games scheduled at the same time - both broadcast live, but into different areas. Having a broadcast blackout of a game in the local area, unless sold out, would be help increase crowds significantly.

gronkathon

Yeah. I only attend home games these days as a rule and the reciprocal access games at ANZ if it is convenient.

The ease of access on TV coupled with not being as fanatical as I once was and the ability to have time for other pursuits makes that decision easy