Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch

elbusto

Terrible here - something needs to be done to get people coming back.

40,000 if lucky - looks to be no rock ups outside.

Horrible humid night will keep fickles away.

I highly doubt that there is going to be 4,000 more than v rabbits.

Then why is it disappointing? If its a horrible humid night that is what you get. FFS lads get real!

BunniesMan

Brooky crowd - frigging wet night and you can watch it at home live. Get over it. This is the reality of holding a big game on a wet night on a ground which is 70% grass. Its 2015 - build a 2015 stadium or face reality that people will not roll into such a crap ground in that weather.

The stadium is no excuse. Manly could play at SFS or ANZ if they wanted. They choose not to so they have to accept the crowds they get.

elbusto

Travel, sit on the wet grass, in the rain, travel home for $50+
v
Sitting at home in the warm, for free, to see the game better.

Gee, let me think.....
Walk to fridge, queue behind wife for alcohol, check her ass out and grab a feel, sit down watch footy with a coldy as compared to stand in queue for ten minutes to buy light crap.

Mind you I am at Shark Park next week for my Annual pilgrimage. Looking forward to a 530 game, some shitty food, too much piss, money ddown the pokies and a whimpy fail in bed at 1am :(

elbusto

The stadium is no excuse. Manly could play at SFS or ANZ if they wanted. They choose not to so they have to accept the crowds they get.
Shit mate get real - they need a covered stadium on the North Shore. Is it really that hard to understand why?

WaznTheGreat

Manly got 10k last week so the wet weather made no difference tonight as obviously there scrub fans have already given up on them because Daly Cherry Evans and Kieran Foran dumped them to the curb.

Get dumped on you Manly scrubs.

elbusto

Listen fellas the product is fine, The marketing needs a lot of work as the game is fantastic to watch. All you will do this year is over analyse something that the players cannot control - the weather and the marketing.

SLRBRONCOS

I wonder if we have ever had 2 warmer home games in a row.

Never - feck it was filthy, I took in a 2L bottle of water from Paddo woolies and had consumed it by half time.

Literally zero walk-ups, so in that regard it was decent, good atmosphere too - lets hope more of that for crowds to build.

Have just got home five minutes ago (yes, that is how long bussing and driving takes). Weather was bloody awful. Doubly hot since this time around I decided to wear a jersey - big mistake.

Thought there would be 35k there until just about kick off. Great crowd under the circumstances.

Travel, sit on the wet grass, in the rain, travel home for $50+
v
Sitting at home in the warm, for free, to see the game better.

Gee, let me think.....

That's like saying pay $150 for a concert ticket or $20 for the download and listen in the comfort of your home. You go to live events for the experience. You cant get that sat on your arse staring at a box.

DC_fan

That's like saying pay $150 for a concert ticket or $20 for the download and listen in the comfort of your home. You go to live events for the experience. You cant get that sat on your arse staring at a box.

With the quality of TVs today you can get a great experience at home. Plus their is no lineup for toilets and food. Plus after the game you don't spend the next hour trying to get home.

Now you can say the same thing about going to concerts. But the difference being with concerts you may attend one once or twice a year max. With the NRL you get twelve home games a season.

Storms floating around the coast so expecting the wrost at brookie. Whats the lowest a cowboys game at suncorp has attracted? Surely it will not drop below 40k

On a side note slrbroncos what do you think a second brisbane team or ipswich based side would do to broncos crowds?

Two bob's worth. Last night's disappointing 40k crowd (and for someone who sat through 14k or thereabouts Cowboys crowds at ANZ it feels good to say that) was a reflection of the weather and scheduling. The weather is what it is. No one can change that, but it was a factor. As to scheduling, opening the season with the Qld derby is a no brainer in my opinion. You get the 40k that showed up last night, and the extra 5-10k who are excited that it is the end of the offseason.

It seems to me that the schedulers bank on 40k for the Cowboys, and they are opened the season with the premiers hoping to get another 40k+ for the end of the off season. Actually fairly sound reasoning now that I type it, but the Rabbitohs were never going to pull in a huge crowd after a 38 (whatever it was) degree day.