Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Membership Discussion

juro

Definitely the multiple grounds situtation hurts Wests Tigers in attracting fans.

Other clubs have say a 3 game membership, and the member can choose which games they will attend. This gives great flexibility for the member, who can choose the games that suit, given the day of the week, the opposition, the weather, etc.

Wests have 4 game memberships, but it is for all 4 games at one of their grounds. So say you choose Leichhardt, and you are locked into those 4 games at Leichhardt. Miss one of those games for whatever reason, and you are not getting the value anymore.

rooster25

Easts don't have many fans...

For whatever reasons despite 100 years existence they just have failed to use that time as well as souths have.

For a club that averaged 20 000 a year back and had 17 000 members last year Easts really cop a lot of flak.Other clubs would love those numbers.

I do agree though that our members numbers should be way higher,it is quite disapointing among most of the clubs.The NRL have done no promoting this year.

rabbitohs95

For a club that averaged 20 000 a year back and had 17 000 members last year Easts really cop a lot of flak.Other clubs would love those numbers.

I do agree though that our members numbers should be way higher,it is quite disapointing among most of the clubs.The NRL have done no promoting this year.

The Roosters just need to do something to tempt their fans to commit. Seriously I have mates that live on ANZAC Parade that don't bother going to the SFS for home games, whereas I travel 40+ minutes to ANZ every week and usually to other Sydney locations for away games, more than happy to go to Penrith on a Friday night or Cronulla on a Monday. They just need to market the hell out of the chooks, maybe even rebrand them slightly.

The use of 'Sydney' in the name is a shun to the previous successes of the club and more people in the Eastern Suburbs would recognise with a name change back to Easts. I absolutely hate it and I know there are Roosters supporters that hate it too. And Easts sounds better anyway. Throw in an old school logo and a slogan like #eaststowin and you're halfway there. Maybe a few games at the SFS or interstate to attract fans in Perth/QLD etc. Re-association of the traditions and morals the club stands for and more people will want in.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Does the multiple stadium approach damage Wests uptake of memberships? I'd be reluctant to get a full family membership given the lack of weather protection at two of the grounds.

Wests always seems to have a solid fan base but few members?

3 or 4 stadiums would f*ck with any team, but Dragons for example absolutely thrive split between 2.

If the Roosters did make a CC move, then they would need to commit the other 8 to sfs only. But the benefits of this dual region commitment would be massive for this team; i mean, its not like the move would be depriving Easts crowds of 40k. At worst, theyd get the same agregate attendence they do now with the benefit of a wider support to shovel merch to...

Hello, I'm The Doctor

The Roosters just need to do something to tempt their fans to commit. Seriously I have mates that live on ANZAC Parade that don't bother going to the SFS for home games, whereas I travel 40+ minutes to ANZ every week and usually to other Sydney locations for away games, more than happy to go to Penrith on a Friday night or Cronulla on a Monday. They just need to market the hell out of the chooks, maybe even rebrand them slightly.

The use of 'Sydney' in the name is a shun to the previous successes of the club and more people in the Eastern Suburbs would recognise with a name change back to Easts. I absolutely hate it and I know there are Roosters supporters that hate it too. And Easts sounds better anyway. Throw in an old school logo and a slogan like #eaststowin and you're halfway there. Maybe a few games at the SFS or interstate to attract fans in Perth/QLD etc. Re-association of the traditions and morals the club stands for and more people will want in.

Rooster do seem weirdly determined to pretend they didnt exist prior to 2002.

You get Souths fans preaching about Sattler's Jaw and the Little master, but for Sydney "...who even is Dally Messenger? :sarcasm:"

pHyR3

Hmm - looks like they are up?

You would expect the Warriors/ Sharks/ Raiders to have 15k members between them wouldn't you? They did this time last year. That'd make the membership number well up on this time last year (especially if people updated their numbers).

148,963 in 2015 vs 159,537 in 2014

take your numbers

gives 164k versus 159.5k giving a fantastic growth rate of under 3%!

rabbitohs95

Rooster do seem weirdly determined to pretend they didnt exist prior to 2002.

You get Souths fans preaching about Sattler's Jaw and the Little master, but for Sydney "...who even is Dally Messenger? :sarcasm:"

Exactly, and they have the likes of Fittler, Ricketson, Fitzgibbon and Minichiello to advertise....baffles me how none of them are used for membership drives etc.

alien

Exactly, and they have the likes of Fittler, Ricketson, Fitzgibbon and Minichiello to advertise....baffles me how none of them are used for membership drives etc.

they'll use hulk hogan though:

[youtube]xyEhpr6N9kY[/youtube]

papabear

Lol they have worked hard for that well deserved flak.

The dragons and souths fans showing up to there derby games keeps there crowds from being a joke.

I agree with the other comments that they first need to go back to being easts.

Lambretta

I was browsing membership packages for the Titans as I was trying to explain to someone why their member numbers are so pitiful

The Legion GA tickets, which gets a reserved area at least, are $230 for a season. That's not bad - at around $20 a ticket

Also the club is now offering 5, 10 and 20 game flexi memberships
They're designed to be purchased by people that like taking mates along to games. Buy 20 tickets for $360 and take 19 mates to one game or take 4 mates to four games etc

These could become really popular with companies that like free ticket giveaways to clients / staff members. I reckon the club should be pushing these big time. They're a great idea.

Lambretta

The Warriors have finally released an away supporter membership and it's pitiful

$80 for a weekly email from the club with gossip and a ticket to one single game in your state. That is hands down the biggest f**king insult I've ever come across.

If I'm wrong, I'm happy to be told otherwise, but from the website info you don't get the cap, or lanyard or car sticker or anything else.

There should be a three game pass to away games for Sydney fans with supporter stuff like a member cap and it should be no more than $100

Seeing as there seem to be 10 times as many Rabbitohs fans as Roosters fans, I'd say you should be at 90,000 member by now :p

10% less than this time last year - I can't say I'm super depressed about our member numbers atm. If we crack 15,000 for the season I'll be ok

I reckon you guys could go close to 40,000 if you have another good season (which I'm tipping you to have btw)

I reckon Roosters will have a good year too. Should be matching last years numbers imo with the success on field for you guys over the past couple of years.

The Warriors have finally released an away supporter membership and it's pitiful

$80 for a weekly email from the club with gossip and a ticket to one single game in your state. That is hands down the biggest f**king insult I've ever come across.

If I'm wrong, I'm happy to be told otherwise, but from the website info you don't get the cap, or lanyard or car sticker or anything else.

There should be a three game pass to away games for Sydney fans with supporter stuff like a member cap and it should be no more than $100

What you say makes sense to me. Warriors need to cater for away members. If they don't they can't expect too many signing up for what you get.

rooster25

Couldn't agree more on the subject of being called Easts again! The club needs to bite the bullet and admit it made a mistake in the super league war when changing the name to Sydney. It alienated many fans who went for the club because it was called Eastern Suburbs and was their home team. Sydney has not worked

The Roosters are loved in the East yet more so from people traditionally from the area. A return to Eastern Suburbs and the traditional emblem would do wonders to get the community and newcomers more behind them.

The WA membership is $79:

1 x free general admission ticket to a Vodafone Warriors v South Sydney Saturday June 6 3.30pm NIB Stadium*
1 x free general admission ticket to a regular season home game at Mt Smart Stadium in 2015*
Exclusive members 20th anniversary cap**
Exclusive members 20th anniversary lanyard, bumper sticker, case and pin
Members price $150 jerseys save $35 on RRP
10% discount off CCC Vodafone Warriors merchandise

Not sure how useful the auckland ticket will be for people living in perth. Ticket to nib is worth $46, cap around $20, other merch $15. If you buy some online gear it is worth it but otherwise not that good. They should have had some members only events whilst in perth, that would have been enticing for fans.

Does it actually use the wording "1 x free"

Pretty sure it's not free if you pay for it :lol:

rabbitohs95

Couldn't agree more on the subject of being called Easts again! The club needs to bite the bullet and admit it made a mistake in the super league war when changing the name to Sydney. It alienated many fans who went for the club because it was called Eastern Suburbs and was their home team. Sydney has not worked

The Roosters are loved in the East yet more so from people traditionally from the area. A return to Eastern Suburbs and the traditional emblem would do wonders to get the community and newcomers more behind them.

http://gazf.info/east-sydney-roosters-2013-14/#respond once again credit to gazf he does wonderful jersey and logo designs.

THIS is what the Roosters should do. And for the sake of the game I hope they do. I know most of their supporters will agree with me too.

Lambretta

The WA membership is $79:

1 x free general admission ticket to a Vodafone Warriors v South Sydney Saturday June 6 3.30pm NIB Stadium*
1 x free general admission ticket to a regular season home game at Mt Smart Stadium in 2015*
Exclusive members 20th anniversary cap**
Exclusive members 20th anniversary lanyard, bumper sticker, case and pin
Members price $150 jerseys save $35 on RRP
10% discount off CCC Vodafone Warriors merchandise

Not sure how useful the auckland ticket will be for people living in perth. Ticket to nib is worth $46, cap around $20, other merch $15. If you buy some online gear it is worth it but otherwise not that good. They should have had some members only events whilst in perth, that would have been enticing for fans.

It's a long way to walk from WA to Mount Smart
That second "free" ticket doesn't include the cost of the flight to NZ does it?

You are right - you do get the cap and the stickers
So it's a non attendance membership for $50 with a $30 ticket on top and you get a $1 discount

Seems like a right bargain

My mate is a huge Warriors fan and he has been going on about Sydney memberships for the Warriors for years. They should arrange a package through the NRL for GA entry to Sydney games. $15 per ticket for say 6 games plus $30 - $50 extra for the hat, stickers etc

$120 - $140 price range for 6 Sydney away games

Surely the Warriors could arrange that through the NRL for their NSW fans

The uptake here would be huge

pHyR3

im guessing its thrown in there for people who go home to auckland a couple times a year