Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 State of Origin

Pearce turns 26 in a couple of days. So he has at least 6 years of footy in him. If he continues to play at this level and gets picked for origin, how many more series losses do you think we should persist with him? Would 10 be a good number?

Are you blaming Pearce for the losses? Or more to the point, are you giving credit to the replacement (Josh Reynolds)?

Noise

Are you blaming Pearce for the losses? Or more to the point, are you giving credit to the replacement (Josh Reynolds)?

Are you avoiding my question? I am attributing some of the blame on Pearce. Would you agree that the halves a very important part of a footy team? How many losses do you let a losing halfback play for? There have been games where our forwards have matched QLD's and Pearce has been rubbish - game 3 in 2013 come to mind.

Are you avoiding my question?

Your question is stupid and I'm showing you why.

I am attributing some of the blame on Pearce.

Are you the kind of loser who refuses to credit the opposition for winning? Do you not think Queensland just had better players during that period?

Would you agree that the halves a very important part of a footy team? How many losses do you let a losing halfback play for?

While he's among the best two available halves you keep picking him because the alternatives are even worse.

There have been games where our forwards have matched QLD's and Pearce has been rubbish - game 3 in 2013 come to mind.

He just proved he can't carry a team, and especially at Origin level he shouldn't have to. None of the alternatives are able to do that either, other than Todd Carney.

Noise

Today Pearce and Maloney are playing just like they do in origin. Missed tackles, errors and terrible kicks.

They've had 40% of the ball! I think Pearce is a wanker but he's a great defender for a half. This is hardly a game on which to judge the losing team's halves.

Maloney is a shit defender on a good day though. Should never have played Origin in the first place.

Noise

Your question is stupid and I'm showing you why.

Are you the kind of loser who refuses to credit the opposition for winning? Do you not think Queensland just had better players during that period?

While he's among the best two available halves you keep picking him because the alternatives are even worse.

He just proved he can't carry a team, and especially at Origin level he shouldn't have to. None of the alternatives are able to do that either, other than Todd Carney.

You love avoiding questions.

Are you the kind of loser that doesn't want to give any credit to Hodkinson or Reynolds? Maybe we had 17 better players last year?

If we stuck with your theory of keep picking Pearce then we may be staring down 9 in a row this year. Thankfully we didn't go with your theory.

And you are dam right he can't carry a team. So we should try and find someone who can. Mullen / Hodkinson combo comes to mind if they drop J Reybnolds

Noise

They've had 40% of the ball! I think Pearce is a wanker but he's a great defender for a half. This is hardly a game on which to judge the losing team's halves.

Maloney is a shit defender on a good day though. Should never have played Origin in the first place.

So far Pearce has 6 missed tackles and 22 made in 70min of football. Thats hardly great defence.

Noise

Are you the kind of loser that doesn't want to give any credit to Hodkinson or Reynolds? Maybe we had 17 better players last year?

If we stuck with your theory of keep picking Pearce then we may be staring down 9 in a row this year. Thankfully we didn't go with your theory.

And you are dam right he can't carry a team. So we should try and find someone who can. Mullen / Hodkinson combo comes to mind if they drop J Reybnolds

ok boys - name your NSW halves if you had to name them today

I just did. Unfortunately Daley thinks he needs a club combo because it has worked once in the last 15 or so series.

ok - mullen+hodkinson

who you putting forward pou?

hodkinson is a right side player yeah?

Noise

How many did he miss in Origin? Everyone has bad games. This is Pearce's.

If you can find me some stats for origin over the last 8 years I would love to look at them. In particular the defensive stats, LBA's and try assists for Pearce. They won't be flattering.

Anyone who thinks Pearce is the answer only has to watch this game to see how useless he really is.

Totally shit himself under pressure as usual.

Then stop asking stupid questions. Your question rested on the assumption that we would have lost with Pearce instead of Reynolds, so to answer it would imply tacit agreement of your point. You must think I'm as stupid as you are.

Are you the kind of loser that doesn't want to give any credit to Hodkinson or Reynolds?

Everyone knows Reynolds was a liability. There's nothing wrong with pointing that out, especially after a win. A bad loser, however, fails to credit the opposition after a loss. That's what you're doing by blaming Pearce. Me finding fault with Reynolds is not the same thing, mostly because we still won. Maybe I'm a bad winner.

Maybe we had 17 better players last year?

Maybe a lot of things. But the fact is we have a much larger sample upon which to compare two players during the NRL season, rather than a handful of games during Origin each year. Pearce is better than Reynolds in every way other than grubbiness.

Pearce is a better player than Reynolds. This is proven by their performance at club level every year as well as their performances at Origin level. If we won with Reynolds we would have won with Pearce.

Yeah I rate Mullen. Until Carney is available again (even though he too has 'failed' at Origin :roll:) our halves should consist of any two of Pearce, Hodkinson and Mullen.

But don't forget Mullen 'failed' at Origin too. ;-) Maybe we should stick with Josh Reynolds. :lol:

i reckon mullen deserves another crack .... but FMD the guy is injured every time I look at him

ok - mullen+hodkinson

who you putting forward pou?

hodkinson is a right side player yeah?

Hodkinson played on the right for Manly and now plays on the left for the Dogs, however he has moved to the right to allow Mbye to play on the left. Every player is able to play on both sides but some (most?) are obviously better suited to one side over another, if only through familiarity with that side.

Anyone who thinks Pearce is the answer only has to watch this game to see how useless he really is.

Totally shit himself under pressure as usual.

He has won a premiership. That doesn't make him a star but it does mean he copes with pressure.