Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Coach Rumour

Whoever employed Taylor really stuffed up but I'm hopeful the whole team turns it around this year including Taylor.
Yes,in hindsight probably not the greatest choice,on a positive note and one that has been overlooked at times is that our S&C has improved under JT.
&

Tigerted

Unfortunately our concentration & defence which understandably is Taylor's hobby horse have not improved.Until these chronic deficiencies r rectified we will not challenge for a top 8 position.

I reckon we can make the 8. Lots of teams fall away in patches. It does need to be rectified to do well in the comp but it's early days at the moment.

Isn't it usually the case that when The Board, or CEO state that the coach has 'our complete support' that the coach is gone sooner rather than later?

So we go from this yesterday.
Wests Tigers board say they back coach Jason Taylor regardless of results on the field

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/spo...19af2a8a9f568d

And today just a little piece,
Quote:
SHOOSH
Which recently retired Wests Tigers player continues a behind-the-scenes push for Jason Taylor’s coaching job.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/spo...ae9a9ff9b73dc8

Will it ever end ?

Isn't it usually the case that when The Board, or CEO state that the coach has 'our complete support' that the coach is gone sooner rather than later?

So we go from this yesterday.
Wests Tigers board say they back coach Jason Taylor regardless of results on the field

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/spo...19af2a8a9f568d

And today just a little piece,
Quote:
SHOOSH
Which recently retired Wests Tigers player continues a behind-the-scenes push for Jason Taylor’s coaching job.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/spo...ae9a9ff9b73dc8

Will it ever end ?

I think we only paid 150 for Pascoe. Well according to posts on other forums anyway.

Mate even the lesser CEOs would be on a minimum $250kpa, the better ones around $400-$500kpa. Shane Richardson is reportedly on$450kpa

A guy like Pascoe could pick a $150kpa job up in his sleep for a tenth of the stress of an NRL CEO

super_coach

If We win 60% of our games Taylor dosnt have a worry in the world, we win 50% he is probably still safe....but if the numbers drop below that he is a dead man walking.

Cleary and Payten will be waiting for a slip up so they can push their chances of getting the gig.

If Taylor can keep the players happy and the big test will come after a couple of loses when the finer pointing starts, I think he will survive and end up having a few good years in Tigertown

Ron's_Mate

It's also a question of whether as a coach he can keep the players that the club needs, as well as attracting new signings. If no good players want to work with him then he is also gone.

gordsy

Mate even the lesser CEOs would be on a minimum $250kpa, the better ones around $400-$500kpa. Shane Richardson is reportedly on$450kpa

A guy like Pascoe could pick a $150kpa job up in his sleep for a tenth of the stress of an NRL CEO

I thought so too but the post apparently had a link to the job ad we posted on seek. Unfortunately that job ad is now removed so I cant tell what salary we advertised for his job.

If he allows Brooks and Moses play their natural games then we stand a good chance of retaining them.

That will determine his tenure as coach

MacDougall

I'm a little worried. Last time the Tigers were performing well on the field the whole Potter sacking business started.

Yes,it's like we are sailing in uncharted waters,two wins from two games,no issues being played out in the media,either the clubs got it's house in order or something is brewing...and imo the two most likely issues surrounding the WT atm would be if JT got the arse which may seem unfair if the team continues to show improvement and keeps winning,and or Brooks or Moses decide to or are told they can leave.

lingard

Highly unlikely but just about anyone would be better than the gimp we have now. Next year though, assuming kpi's are in place and JT's lack of results can no longer be ignored surely it's time to bring in a tried, tested and proven coach that has results on the board ? That's if any of them are willing to join this mess

There are a couple of those hanging around doing nothing at the moment - Geoff Toovey and Ivan Cleary. (Although I suppose Cleary could end up back at the Warriors.)

Just watching the Channel 7 news, there is trouble brewing, looks like some of Taylors methods are being questioned by MO'n apparently, with the new players diet being stopped and eyes raised about not starting Farah.

Taylors was stumbing in his response to the news crews, it wasn't petty.

It seems it aint over yet.

BuffaloRules

Just watching the Channel 7 news, there is trouble brewing, looks like some of Taylors methods are being questioned by MO'n apparently, with the new players diet being stopped and eyes raised about not starting Farah.

Taylors was stumbing in his response to the news crews, it wasn't petty.

It seems it aint over yet.

It's media BS...

I reckon Taylor is a tool but I figure let's see how he goes over this season at least.

So....when does Taylor get the tap on the shoulder or should he?

And if yes, who should replace him?

macnaz

IF it is going to happen i hope its done sooner rather than later, the end of the year is to late for a new coach to organise his own roster.

Tigerted

Agree macnaz

Taylor's position has got to b in massive jeopardy coz we were handed a generous draw in 1st 7 rounds & although we've been competitive our results of 2/7 just isn't good enough.

We have had 5 home games & away games v Knights & Titans (2 teams that won't play finals footy).We should've been currently sitting on at least 8 pts with the draw we've had.

gordsy

IF it is going to happen i hope its done sooner rather than later, the end of the year is to late for a new coach to organise his own roster.

What signings could he make though, I thought we had no money till 2018 and If we have to have this stupid 50% juniors in first grade rule , what difference would it make anyway.