Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Crowd Watch

Probel with nrl clubs is that they rely to much on tv revenue... and honestly to care about crowds but are prepared to make going to the game really expensive....thats a fact.

33k in a 46-47k capacity stadium in R1 against the biggest club in the comp and your star player's comeback game is not great. Good, but not great. Should've cracked 40k. Relocation of event 3 weeks out and competing sport next door dented AFL's gate.

12k at Allianz a good result considering, but when you remember these two were GF-ists just 2.5yrs ago, how sad.

Raiderdave

400,000 people in the area. Seriously how many of them left for the weekend and how many of them were RL fans? For Raiders 11-12k is normal so it doesn't look like the time of year was a particularly big factor.

:sarcasm:
We've averaged 9500 for the last 2 years you know nothing twat .. Not 12000
& about 8000 against the Titans.
What an.ignoramus you are :lol:

Burns

What kind of crowd will Woolongong get today? After all the ruckus this week about how the 'Gong is worried they are being abandoned by the Dragons, will they come out in numbers?

Clifferd

What kind of crowd will Woolongong get today? After all the ruckus this week about how the 'Gong is worried they are being abandoned by the Dragons, will they come out in numbers?

Been raining all morning so far will be lucky to break 13k imo

Pete Cash

400,000 people in the area. Seriously how many of them left for the weekend and how many of them were RL fans? For Raiders 11-12k is normal so it doesn't look like the time of year was a particularly big factor.

Last year's crowd against the titans was 8k. Again what do you expect from the raiders they struggle for crowds for good reasons. It's because they've sucked pretty much since the start of the nrl and pretty much every good player has turned out to be a merkin.

They are financially healthy off the field and perform an important role in southern NSW. They do a job for the nrl. The crowds will come back if the raiders are reasonably successful. Heck there was a 35 percent improvement on crowds against the titans from last year.

BuffaloRules

I'm genuinely interested in what Canberra is doing to further Rugby League in Southern NSW..

The AFL flogs are forever talking about how they are marching north into NSW...

I hope the Raiders are doing something, but are they genuinely strongly supported outside the ACT in southern NSW?

BuffaloRules

Cheers...

Southern NSW is a critical area under intense competition from the flogs so good to see they are putting some money in...

Would it be fair to say though that most people from the region support other Sydney teams rather than the Raiders?

:sarcasm:
We've averaged 9500 for the last 2 years you know nothing twat .. Not 12000
& about 8000 against the Titans.
What an.ignoramus you are :lol:

Apologies didn't realise you were that irrelevant in Canberra lol. So you got a bigger than avg crowd totally discrediting the myth people flee the city on PH weekends. One day you might fill the stadium, at this rate about 2035. :roll:

http://m.smh.com.au/rugby-league/ca...ancial-losses-don-furner-20160210-gmq44s.html
The Raiders are one of the only clubs who foot the bill for running grass roots rugby league, absorbing all costs of junior and senior competitions into their budget.

Tbf it is the mandate of sports pokie clubs to fund Jnr and amateur sport is it not?

Either fans support someone else, are sat at home waiting for a Raiders team worthy of getting out of the armchair for or RL just isn't as popular in Canberra as we would hope.

BlueandGold

Raiderdave

http://m.smh.com.au/rugby-league/ca...ancial-losses-don-furner-20160210-gmq44s.html
The Raiders are one of the only clubs who foot the bill for running grass roots rugby league, absorbing all costs of junior and senior competitions into their budget.

their commitment to RL in the region is total.
they often complain that they get no recognition for this when teams like the Broncos
( who do virtually nothing for RL at the grass roots in Brisbane ) come along & steal players we've pumped resources into developing like Milford & Pangai Junior
& they threaten to stop doing what they do because of it , leaving the bill to the CRL & NSWRL
but in 2016 they appear to be doing the opposite & putting even more resources into grass roots RL in the region.
They deserve a big pat on the back , it isn't just about the elite team for them , its a whole of RL picture for the Raiders.

Raiderdave

Tbf it is the mandate of sports pokie clubs to fund Jnr and amateur sport is it not?

Either fans support someone else, are sat at home waiting for a Raiders team worthy of getting out of the armchair for or RL just isn't as popular in Canberra as we would hope.

:lol::lol:
read up on what sports clubs are required to do to satisfy their commitment to the local community
then see what the Raiders do
then see what other clubs do for RL in their district
then clench your fist

& give yourself several short sharp uppercuts you know nothing ignorant twat :lol:

:crazy:

Pete Cash

30percent improvement from the same game last year. What do you want lol

Raiderdave

Apologies didn't realise you were that irrelevant in Canberra lol. So you got a bigger than avg crowd totally discrediting the myth people flee the city on PH weekends. One day you might fill the stadium, at this rate about 2035. :roll:

Ill type slow for our soap dodging dumb dumb
the bigger turnout then normal didn't discredit the idea that the long weekend affected the crowd yesterday
if it were a normal weekend the crowd would hypothetically have been larger again

got it stupid ?:roll:

Red Bear

Cold and public holidays are decent ones. Canberra stadium can be genuinely unpleasant in winter and canberra was dead today.

Anyways the raiders have a lot of work to do with engaging with the local community. They have been mediocre for decades and thr playsrs have been nightmares off the field. That said i reckon 11k was alright
That's how I read it, could easily have been a couple of k less. I've moved to Canberra for work and most people I know were GTFO by thursday evening for the long weekend, going home etc. I only hung around because of the North Sydney game and left directly after first grade.

Doesn't seem to be an excuse, more just acceptance of facts around the nature of the city.

Shame it coincided with a really great day weather wise, which feels like it'll be lucky to be replicated.

Last 15 minute fade out aside Canberra are playing reasonable footy at present and with their first choice halves probably win that one comfortably. A good year on field will bring some people back.

Warriors Fever

Decent effort in Canberra against a team which is effectively poison for crowds, Roosters crowd was bigger than expected too considering the Swans, lack of form, etc. the actual grand final rematch only drew something like 14.9 in much better circumstances.

chahrour123

Anyone know the updated PAX for Easter Monday? and next round Friday night at CBUS is the Titans vs Broncos. If the weather is good they should get 15-16k especially with how the both clubs are going. Should be a good game and great crowd!. I can only see the GC Titans crowd increasing this year tbh.