Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Crowd Watch

Cockosh

I was at the game last night and thought the crowd was around the 8000 mark was surprised to hear it announced here as 10000. Still more there last night than the souffs home game there last year announced as 12000. A game where souffs were 7th playing against 1st, reigning premiers, playing next to their traditional supporter base, on a dry night, with 36000 members and could only pull an imaginary 12000 people. Souffs fans are the last people to be commenting on last nights game.

Round 7

123,164 through the gates at 15,396 per game.

⬆️ Up on R7 last year which saw just 98,868 at 12,359 per game.

Season

906,247 so far attended this season at 16,183 per game

⬆️ UP on 2015, after R7 was 875,183 at 15,628 per game.

I was at the game last night and thought the crowd was around the 8000 mark was surprised to hear it announced here as 10000. Still more there last night than the souffs home game there last year announced as 12000. A game where souffs were 7th playing against 1st, reigning premiers, playing next to their traditional supporter base, on a dry night, with 36000 members and could only pull an imaginary 12000 people. Souffs fans are the last people to be commenting on last nights game.

I must be last in line then.

Grand Finalists in 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2010, 2013. Premiers in 02 and 13. Minor Premiers 2013-15. Surely with all the mergers and club deaths, and their traditional neighbours moving to ANZ, the roosters should have cultivated a sizable fan base and crowd numbers having a stadium of their own and so much success.

But no.

The crying shame of all this, after so many years, so many pushes, so many threads and so much hand wringing, as a code, we can't seem to get bigger crowds.

Cockosh

I must be last in line then.

Grand Finalists in 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2010, 2013. Premiers in 02 and 13. Minor Premiers 2013-15. Surely with all the mergers and club deaths, and their traditional neighbours moving to ANZ, the roosters should have cultivated a sizable fan base and crowd numbers having a stadium of their own and so much success.

But no.

The crying shame of all this, after so many years, so many pushes, so many threads and so much hand wringing, as a code, we can't seem to get bigger crowds.

Our crowds are on par with Souths. You averaged only 1000 per game more than us last year. 15600 vs 16600

2014 reigning premiers , 21 premierships, 36000 members and you average more or less the same as us. That is a disgrace. If our junior territories weren't plundered by the corrupt souffs officials in the 50's who knows we might even outdo you.

We finished 6th overall in crowds last year. There are 10 other clubs with more to worry about than us.

Souffs highest ever avg is 22361 while ours is 19368 both in 2013. Your numbers boosted by the 60000 vs us. So for all your supposed superiority in crowds you only have 2000 or so more than us. As with most things Souths your crowds are a myth. Put that in your Book of Myths.

Our crowds are on par with Souths. You averaged only 1000 per game more than us last year. 15600 vs 16600

2014 reigning premiers , 21 premierships, 36000 members and you average more or less the same as us. That is a disgrace. If our junior territories weren't plundered by the corrupt souffs officials in the 50's who knows we might even outdo you.

We finished 6th overall in crowds last year. There are 10 other clubs with more to worry about than us.

Souffs highest ever avg is 22361 while ours is 19368 both in 2013. Your numbers boosted by the 60000 vs us. So for all your supposed superiority in crowds you only have 2000 or so more than us. As with most things Souths your crowds are a myth. Put that in your Book of Myths.

Those rooster averages including swans games?

Cockosh

Typical Souths. Respond with a smartarse comment instead of some facts to back up your argument.

I'm not defending our crowds. They are crap and at least I'm honest enough to call it as 8000 last night. But our crowds are no worse than most of the other clubs including yours. Check for yourself. This site has averages for every club dating back to 1957 and in that period Easts average 11500 and Souths 12100. Such dominance!

http://afltables.com/rl/crowds/2015.html

Typical Souths. Respond with a smartarse comment instead of some facts to back up your argument.

I'm not defending our crowds. They are crap and at least I'm honest enough to call it as 8000 last night. But our crowds are no worse than most of the other clubs including yours. Check for yourself. This site has averages for every club dating back to 1957 and in that period Easts average 11500 and Souths 12100. Such dominance!

http://afltables.com/rl/crowds/2015.html

Mate, I don't defend souths member numbers, their idiot fans or anything else. I just like footy. I go to home games and anywhere up to two dozen away and neutral games a year.

I just want bigger crowds. I'm beyond knowing how to do it. At times I can't give tickets away. I can't encourage people enough but all wsnt to watch it on TV.

I always thought if Souths got near the top again we'd shit it in, but we haven't. I thought 25-30k easy. But we haven't and it's disappointing.

I admit I'm a smartarse. I'm sorry if I riled you.

Warriors Fever

Round 7

123,164 through the gates at 15,396 per game.

⬆️ Up on R7 last year which saw just 98,868 at 12,359 per game.

Season

906,247 so far attended this season at 16,183 per game

⬆️ UP on 2015, after R7 was 875,183 at 15,628 per game.

This is good right, and with ANZAC Day coming up as well.

BunniesMan

Comparing seasons at midpoints isn't much value because the same games are not always played at the same time of year. This year's figure could be higher or lower in "real" terms, meaning like for like games.

Cockosh

Mate, I don't defend souths member numbers, their idiot fans or anything else. I just like footy. I go to home games and anywhere up to two dozen away and neutral games a year.

I just want bigger crowds. I'm beyond knowing how to do it. At times I can't give tickets away. I can't encourage people enough but all wsnt to watch it on TV.

I always thought if Souths got near the top again we'd shit it in, but we haven't. I thought 25-30k easy. But we haven't and it's disappointing.

I admit I'm a smartarse. I'm sorry if I riled you.

All good mate. I'm the same. I get to every home game and most other Sydney games where I can. I enjoy a live game. I wish every club got massive crowds because nothing beats the atmosphere. I just get defensive about as getting unfairly singled out. Each club has its own reasons for mediocrity but at the end of the day if you are truly passionate you will go to the games no matter what. All the other reasons are just excuses.

Instead of dick measuring about who has the worse crowds we should be asking the question why does the game generally not consistently draw decent crowds and wtf is the NRL doing about it as they have ultimate responsibility for creating a public perception that the sport is vibrant, entertaining and a must do thing with your hard earnt social leasiure time and money.

Scheduling is faked and the NRL is responsible for that, geez they are getting an easy ride these days since the media got its way and booted Smith. $38million financial turn around leading to an $18million loss despite massive revenue increases and crowds dropping to their worse in a decade and the media says nothing. I guess now Gus and the clubs have their perpetual licenses and massive hand out increase they will sit back happy now. Media seems Uninterested in questioning at moment and as usual happier to go after fckwits players who screw up rather than serious issues in the game, so I guess we just live with the outcomes.

Billythekid

Comparing seasons at midpoints isn't much value because the same games are not always played at the same time of year. This year's figure could be higher or lower in "real" terms, meaning like for like games.

That's true it's not a 1 to 1 comparison but it's still interesting to look at and the further we get into the season the more accurate the comparison becomes. Also comparing direct matches isn't always accurate anyway. What if a match that was played on a Sunday Arvo last year is played on a Monday this year? It's almost impossible to do a direct comparison but it's still fun to look at.

Instead of dick measuring about who has the worse crowds we should be asking the question why does the game generally not consistently draw decent crowds and wtf is the NRL doing about it as they have ultimate responsibility for creating a public perception that the sport is vibrant, entertaining and a must do thing with your hard earnt social leasiure time and money.

Because (and it's getting boring pointing this out to you all the time) The NRL don't see a problem with crowds. They made a decision long ago to position the game as a product for TV to achieve profitability. Every decision they make from scheduling, to marketing, even to rules (tell me the bunker isn't a TV marketing tool) is made to position it further as something that exists for people in lounge rooms. Sure, they would like to have full stadiums as an added bonues but they are more than happy to continue with the status quo as long as the TV money keeps rolling in. Wringing your hands about it in this thread, whilst it brings me constant LOLZ, is possibly the most irrelevant discussion in NRL Land.

No matter the day it's a typical Roosters crowd. All that success that past few years couldn't translate to 20k+ crowds yet the Swans/Waratahs/Sydney FC when successful can bring the crowds. If the likes of Parra or Newcastle had Rooster past years of success it be impossible to keep the stadiums to capacity. 3 minor premierships should be drawing a big bandwagon not the Roosters.

Roosters crowds aren't as bad as everyone makes out but you make a point about their penetration in the east.
I lived in Bondi for a couple of years and got involved in Junior Rugby League. It's hard to explain to an outsider how Rugby League just doesn't rate in the area, and the fact is it comes a distant third to Union and AFL. The Roosters should be commended for running a successful club with no juniors and maintaining a small but reliable fanbase whilst being under a constant barrage from Union and AFL marketing departments who have mercilessly bombed them into oblivion with a bottomless pit of money and profile.

johnny plath

Not really much excuse for disappointing crowds this weekend. Most match ups look good, and mostly in time spots you think should be well supported, maybe apart for Bulldogs v tits on Saturday arvo at ANZ. Cowboys have their preferred time slot against a high flying opposition - is a full house too much to expect, Sharks at home on Sunday arvo the day before a public holiday, Raiders v Tigers - is this game considered a rivalry based on the 89 GF? Is Saturday evening a good time for Canberra - not too hot, not too cold? Despite Knights form you think theyll get a good turnout for ANZAC day at home. All in all should be good, looking forward to it.