Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Crowd Watch

Cumberland Throw

Nice work again Brisbane...

If they get a second team again one day, you could almost have exclusive Friday nights at suncorp every week...

just give up on Sydney on Fridays, basketcase anyway with traffic

SLRBRONCOS

Ripper crowd. I sat in the bay next to the Burrow. They are a weird mob...

Next crowd at Suncorp is going to be 48-50k at the double header.

BlueandGold

Broncos vs Souths - 36k Suncorp 40k
Bulldogs vs Titans - 16k ANZ
Raiders vs Wests - 12k Gio
Cowboys vs Eels - 19k Smiles 2nd vs 4th
Sharks vs Panthers - 16k Shark park
Knights vs Manly - 19k hunter Anzac day game
Dragons vs Roosters - 37k Allianz Anzac day game
Melbourne vs Warriors - 27k AAMI Park Anzac day game

Great start...

Wont happen until they get a second Brisbane team to create a real rivallary and give the Broncos some motivation to work harder at attracting fans.

Burns

That's an incredible crowd for Brisbane, what's their record crowd average? Would have to go close to smashing it this year.

Emu01

Anyone got a current pax on the Roosters/Dragons game? I'm going so I'm hoping for a great atmosphere.

CC_Roosters

Anyone got a current pax on the Roosters/Dragons game? I'm going so I'm hoping for a great atmosphere.

Would be very surprised at anything under 35k

live shots of homebush make earlier predictions of 10k very ambitious.

Nrl and clubs really need to address crowds... Maybe evening creating a NRL membership, in where by you can become a member for 10 games and you can go to any nrl matches

CC_Roosters

Nrl and clubs really need to address crowds... Maybe evening creating a NRL membership, in where by you can become a member for 10 games and you can go to any nrl matches

IMO marketing, travel packages, gameday prices, food and beverage are the main issues.

There is a perception in the general public that its expensive to go to the footy. The only way to break that is to lower admission and food & beverage prices then make it the focus of a well organized mass media marketing campaign via TV, radio and newspapers.

I would focus week to week marketing on the demographics who are more likely to attend on each day that footy is played. make sunday arvo the family game with free entry for kids and ensure access to the field of play after fulltime. Run an advert on FTV and STV in the week leading up to the sunday game each round, focused on the matchup and kids free etc.....

For friday and Saturday night, focus on ticket deals like discounted group tickets for mates. Include a pie and beer in price of admission. Make this the social game to capture the young and outgoing types.

If i can come up with that in 5 minutes surely the marketing manager on a 6 figure salary can implement similar or better ideas, anything less is a fail for that role.

Finally as you have said an NRL membership with varying levels/cost for the amount of games to attend. Memberships still need work, 3 years ago the roosters GA membership cost $99 for 11/12 games now its the same cost for 4 games. And regardless of which major stadium the tennants of moore park and homebush should have bolt on options for away access. I know the homebush tennants have this to am extent now but its still not prolific enough and if the roosters had the option to add say 2 or 3 games away access at homebush in addition to home games i would sign up.

The last problem is stadia and infastructure, we know what is happening with that issue, just the waiting game now.

BunniesMan

The key problem for the NRL is the nature of the game with virtually all the action being within 10 metres of the ball you can see 99.9% of what you need to see on tv. The nature of AFL means what is happening 50+ metres down field is often more important than the immediate vicinity of the ball. The tv cameras are much better at capturing an NRL game. This tilts the scales in favor of staying home on many cold winter days and nights.

AFL crowds are helped by AFL being a less than ideal product for tv. NRL crowds are hurt because it is such a good product for TV.