Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Crowd Watch

The Great Dane

Based on what? Why would raiders fans hate Storm or Saints? What history? It can't be just geography...

AAMI Park is 6.5 hours away. WIN Stadium is 3 hour away (as close as Sydney).

Also a true rivalry should go both ways.

Saints top rivals: Sharks, Dogs, Souths
Storm's top rivals: Manly, Broncos, Warriors

We did have a rivalry with the Illawarra, but when your lot took over they killed off as much of the Steelers history as possible, We did have rivalries with Brisbane and Penrith in the 90's - early 2000's but the NRL has maligned and over shadowed them so much that they have faded into the past.

In the past decade or so we have had the beginnings of rivalries form with Cronulla, Melbourne and the Warriors, and we had the beginnings of something with the Dragons for almost 15 years, but again the NRL, Nine and Fox all refused to help build on any of that and they've all started to fall off.

The Brumbies crowds are always boosted by a big NSW vs ACT crowd. It's a rivalry that makes sense.

Raiders don't have that.

That's the logical route to go, but it'll nether happen for three reasons:

1. It'd mean spotlighting the Raiders (and Canberra) for more then the very bare minimum, which neither the broadcasters nor the NRL has been willing to do for as long as I can remember.

2. It'd mean admitting that the ACT isn't part of NSW, and the NSWRL and ARLC will never let that happen because it'd f##k the Blues up even more then they are already f##ked up.

3. It'd force the Raiders to embrace the ACT, and the Queanbeyan old boys group that runs the Raiders has been reluctant to do that.

The NRL has missed just about every opportunity that has ever come up in Canberra or involving Canberra, and it shows in the city's response to the NRL in the last 15-20 years, sure the Raiders have screwed up heaps of times and it'd help if we were successful on the pitch again, but at least they try, the NRL seems to not even care unless we rock the boat.

Raiderdave

hahaha

more then acceptable under the circumstances of which there were many

meanwhile the defending premiers are playing on their favoured night
at the right time
the rains long gone
to a venue only 66% full :eek:

wow
just wow :?

Didgi

hahaha

more then acceptable under the circumstances of which there were many

meanwhile the defending premiers are playing on their favoured night
at the right time
the rains long gone
to a venue only 66% full :eek:

wow
just wow :?

Against the f**king Sharks ... And we'll still average more than half the comp playing out of a merkin of a stadium in a shithole town. Back to your hole

CC_Roosters

Disappointing crowds today. I can understand the circumstances in camberra, i wouldnt want to sit in that heat and especially not with kids. If we had suburban stadiums with roofs covering sections then it would be less of a problem

Tbh they should scrap the 3pm game for the first 4 rounds and have two 7.30 games on viewers choice

Its the same issue every year and thats the only solution i can think of, its a player and fan welfare issue so it just be a priority to remedy

Raiderdave

Against the f**king Sharks ... And we'll still average more than half the comp playing out of a merkin of a stadium in a shithole town. Back to your hole

You're the premier's dopey
Shouldn't matter who yr playing :sarcasm:

CC_Roosters

Sunscreen, hat, shade and sunnies. Multiple defences.

I had all of the above on and sat through 45minutes at Gosford in the sun in 36degrees for a 5pm kickoff in summer. Not good. I would forgive anyone who didn't want to go to a game and sit in that.

To me once the sun goes down heat is less of an excuse

Disappointing crowds today. I can understand the circumstances in camberra, i wouldnt want to sit in that heat and especially not with kids. If we had suburban stadiums with roofs covering sections then it would be less of a problem

Tbh they should scrap the 3pm game for the first 4 rounds and have two 7.30 games on viewers choice

Its the same issue every year and thats the only solution i can think of, its a player and fan welfare issue so it just be a priority to remedy

They shouldn't play any day footy for the first month every year. There are many reasons for this not least of which is player welfare.

It doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out March is hot in australia, it is at least as hot as november and can be on par with december some years. For some reason a lot of people are surprised with the heat to start the season year after year.

On the other hand they ahould have more day footy in june/july but god forbid they manipulate the schedule for the comfort of fans.

SLRBRONCOS

I had all of the above on and sat through 45minutes at Gosford in the sun in 36degrees for a 5pm kickoff in summer. Not good. I would forgive anyone who didn't want to go to a game and sit in that.

To me once the sun goes down heat is less of an excuse

Couldn't disagree more, humidity is far worse than dry heat, the thick putrid air stays.

Yep, give me perths egg frying cancer causing sun over Qland humidity anyday. I guess they thought they might be ok ho,ding a day game in Canberra. Wests fans look Li,e they are going to need a lot of convincing to come back to the team.

taipan

Yep, give me perths egg frying cancer causing sun over Qland humidity anyday. I guess they thought they might be ok ho,ding a day game in Canberra. Wests fans look Li,e they are going to need a lot of convincing to come back to the team.

Where have I read this same song from the same song sheet,by the same composer before?

It's the Perf Red rapper song"Pleaz look at me!"

BuffaloRules

No, just a few wins will do..

Cockosh

no way 35K will turn up dopey.
if it gets to 30K that will be outstanding.

60/40 in favour of Souths fans

Crowds building nicely. Lots of traffic around. We got here early and parking was already difficult. Might crack 30,000. Who knows

There are never more souffs fans at our home games. Another bs myth perpetuated by the pariah of the league. Lots of people walking around with big white bird shit stains on their green hats and jersey?

Go the chooks