Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Expectations

super_coach

Siro basically for the first time in his short career was injury free at the back end of 2015 and during that time started to show us glimpses of what he is capable of.

Like others I have been a doubter, I thought he was playing back row like a no6, there was no grunt or aggression,rather than charge onto the ball he was just trying to step around the opposition, but at the back end of the year he took some angry pills and started to look like he might make the grade.

2016 will be his judgement year

BrotherJim05

I've said this a thousand times, the fairytales need to end. Players need to earn their keep and be picked purely on form.
Simona is the perfect example of this. He wasn't part of an under 20s dream team, showed tremendous potential but had to prove himself in NSW Cup. Took him a while but when he moved up to first grade (with some decent size on him) he carved up.

Sironen has done nothing. I can't remember one game he stood out, got man of the match or even got a workhorse in my fantasy league. Brooks and Moses are rocks and diamonds but you can make a highlight reel of the shit they can do when they are on fire.

However I still have hope for Sironen. If he needs time to find his feet in back row then play NSW cup untill he is dominating every game. Im prepared to wait

Wasn't Sironen MOTM in a game against Canberra at the start of his career?

Tigerted

Geez I want to be massively wrong but sironen isn't a 1st grade backrowers a/hole.

We will know if this club has turned the corner re appropriate decision making this yr particularly with sironen's contract expiring & if the status quo remains with his appalling work ethic & attitude then he must b shown the door !

Tigerted

Just 1 more thing with siro I just wonder whether we'd b better served with a halves combo of siro @ 6 & Moses @ 7.

Brooks hasn't kicked on in the critical no.7 role.Moses to me looks the most likely with the aptitude & nous to steer this team as he plays with a big heart & has got it between the ears.Siro did play junior footy & excelled @ 6.Just a thought & it's unlikely it would eventuate but it maybe the most effective way to get the best out of siro & thus far with 1 less yr in the top grade Moses has surpassed brooks.

Magpies Forever

Another thing that will happen in 2016 apart from the Sironen renewal of contract decision is the Moses & Brooks contract renewal decisions.

I am doubting WT can afford to be spending $600k plus on both of them for 1/2 and 5/8. Just maybe we will have to pick one of them to make the serious play for and have the other position filled by cheaper 'stock standard' player.

2016 will be an interesting year to see how they have developed. They have had a reasonable apprenticeship now. They have to stand on their own feet and be judged as such.

BrotherJim05

Just 1 more thing with siro I just wonder whether we'd b better served with a halves combo of siro @ 6 & Moses @ 7.

Brooks hasn't kicked on in the critical no.7 role.Moses to me looks the most likely with the aptitude & nous to steer this team as he plays with a big heart & has got it between the ears.Siro did play junior footy & excelled @ 6.Just a thought & it's unlikely it would eventuate but it maybe the most effective way to get the best out of siro & thus far with 1 less yr in the top grade Moses has surpassed brooks.

I haven't often thought about this. Developing Siro as a #6 might have been a better option. At least then we would only have to carry one inept defender....Moses and Brooks together is just too big a weakness defensively.

Either way, 2016 is really make or break for Siro.

With regards to the threads topic my expectations is that we really give the 8 a crack. I think Moses, Brooks and Sironen all need to turn into gun players for that to occur but I think they can.

I also think Taylor is one of the biggest risks in the squad. If he comes up with dumb game plans again it will kill us.

Magpies Forever

With regards to the threads topic my expectations is that we really give the 8 a crack. I think Moses, Brooks and Sironen all need to turn into gun players for that to occur but I think they can.

I also think Taylor is one of the biggest risks in the squad. If he comes up with dumb game plans again it will kill us.

Agreed. I'm a little less ambitious but I dont think a spot in the lower side of the final 8 is beyond us provided we have gelled at season's start and can be competitive from the start. I suppose now its all up to Taylor and the players he's got inc Farah whether he/they like it or not.

BrotherJim05

To add to the expectations, im expecting Sue to have a breakout year. He has been steadily getting better and better and i think this year he will cement himself a starting spot in our 13.

I'm not sold on Sue. He keeps getting talked up but he doesn't seem to take that step up and its not because of injuries or a lack of game time or anything like that.

I expect this year though that he gets heaps of chances and hopefully he does have a breakout year.

mepelthwack

*Expect Brooks to improve massively

*Expect Noafuluma to be a constant threat

*Expect Grant and Ipswich buys to be fantastic for us

*Expect injuries luck

*Hope Siro kicks on and hope we reduce our penalties against

If all this comes off we make the 8, if half it does top 12, none the spoon.

super_coach

*Expect Brooks to improve massively

*Expect Noafuluma to be a constant threat

*Expect Grant and Ipswich buys to be fantastic for us

*Expect injuries luck

*Hope Siro kicks on and hope we reduce our penalties against

If all this comes off we make the 8, if half it does top 12, none the spoon.

Hope your right but I expect Nofo to be under the most pressure of all the players to hold his place in the top grade. As we all know he is a wonderful finisher, but his defence is shaky and his pace a little down what you would expect from a winger. Players like Hunt and Carr will put a lot of pressure on him

Another thing that will happen in 2016 apart from the Sironen renewal of contract decision is the Moses & Brooks contract renewal decisions.

I am doubting WT can afford to be spending $600k plus on both of them for 1/2 and 5/8. Just maybe we will have to pick one of them to make the serious play for and have the other position filled by cheaper 'stock standard' player.

2016 will be an interesting year to see how they have developed. They have had a reasonable apprenticeship now. They have to stand on their own feet and be judged as such.

We'll retain both. Sironen is likely to get discarded to accommodate them.

Siro is too slow now. He looks about 10-15kgs heavier than his regular days as a 6.

He was slower than most back rowers last season

Tigers Tale

I think that this is his biggest issue in the backrow. Nowadays you need some pace out wide including your backrowers.

I agree Tiger05, backrowers need either speed or a very good football brain. Ellis wasn't the fastest backrower but he ran immaculate lines and knew when to run and off who. The fact he was a big human helped obviously.

Of our current backrowers I think Chee-Kam could be the fast backrower we need. Both he and Lawrence could be very good at punching through gaps. Both are quite big and both possess good speed for the position.

If our prop rotation of Woods, Grant, Ava, Sue and Griffin do the dirty yards both Chee-Kam and Lawrence could really benefit. I know a ball player like Siro is a benefit but I reckon backrowers should be running friggin hard and not looking (all the time) for an off load. If it happens sure but not every time. Siro is a big human but I don't think his NRL football brain has developed just yet.

Just my opinion....

Ellis had a quick first five steps. You may think it doesn't sound like much but it was those 5 steps that saw him impossible to get past in defence and saw hit the line hard everytime off short runs and ability to step and change his line when needed.

Sironen by comparison has a very slow first 5 steps. He is barely past walking speed. He's practically a statue.

Tigerted

Sironen isn't worthy of being mentioned in the same breath as the sublime & incomparable Gareth Ellis, WT's greatest ever forward.

Sironen's attitude & work ethic leave a lot to be desired.He has been a major disappointment & isn't worthy of a spot in our top 17 !

BrotherJim05

Sironen is contracted to the end of 2017. I highly doubt he would get a starting spot at any other club so there is no way he will leave early. Maybe to play Super League if he doesn't kick on.

Cherrington and Sue are off contract at the end of 2016 so it is imperative that they are re-signed. Hopefully having Ballin and Robbie until the end of 2017 doesn't screw up Cherrington being retained.

Re: Brooks and Moses, I'm actually really glad we signed Rankin. He may not be a world beater but he has experience and will be hungry for a spot. If Brooks/Moses even think of becoming complacent there asses need to be relegated to NSW Cup. This helps our negotiating power with extending their contracts. If they demand big money but haven't shown it then we can say goodbye to one of them.
In saying this though, I really really really hope it doesn't come to this. We throw the potential word around alot but I put these two in the category of Woods and Tedesco when it comes to potential.