Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Expectations

Exsilium

I hope Siro doesn't become the next Daniel Fitzhenry of this forum. Like most of our kids, he has been burden with massive expectations based on unfair expectations. I have no doubt he will be a very good footballer and I think we will see plenty of good stuff this year, but you have to remember he is serving his apprenticeship in a pretty average team, not like he cut his teeth coming on for a couple short spells in the Dogs pack when the other team has been smashed from pillar to post.

This.

If you look at your squad as a whole you have a number of young players who, for lack of better management, were thrown into the fire early. If you persist with these guys a little longer they will start realising their potential.

A little stability and some wins and those young guys will start to play with confidence. As a league fan I love it when the Tigers fire and hopefully it will start happening soon.

macnaz

I have just watched the 2005 highlights dvd again , I saw a side 100:1 to win the comp at the halfway mark but as they grew confidence they evolved into a quailty side . I know we dont have Benji and Prince now but we do have some young guys with plenty to offer if they can just find that self belief to inspire them to achieve their potential they could also go on to become a quailty team.

BrotherJim05

I have to respectfully disagree with this sentiment. Many players are living in a fantasy world where if they believe they can win despite the odds, they will somehow pull a Benji and win us a premiership.

This is a nothing more than a fairy tale. Each and every player needs to learn how to defend like a true first grader. We are getting there, but its been very slow. Once we can do this we can start doing what we do best...scoring insanely ridiculous tries very quickly.
I have been a critical of JT but you have to give that one to him, if we don't improve our defense we will never be consistent top 8 team. End of story

Beiji in his day was a one in a million

macnaz

Thats my point... the 2005 side suddenly realised they could win games and THEN their defence became fantasic .. defence is just as much attitude as it is technique.

Tigerted

Defense is the most fundamental trait of playing this game.I don't think any other NRL club has had the volume of inept defenders over the last 5 yrs than us.The absence of attitude/dedication & grit by the majority of employees of WT makes my blood boil.Theres no way in the word that this weak pathetic club imposes kpi's or accountability on its staff.

Until we become stout hearted & robust defensively across the park & we develop a competent general kicking game which has been crap for years then we will continue to be also-rans which I'm fed up with.

That 05 side is remembered for it's attacking brillance not enough credit is given to its dogged defence.

You need both to win games. If you aren't attacking the opposition gets a rest and then they can come at you.

I reckon defence is more about making the critical tackles when its tough. Ben Galea pulled off a corker in the grand final for instance. I don't think too many saw that tackle however it was a game turner.

magpie4ever

You need both to win games. If you aren't attacking the opposition gets a rest and then they can come at you.

I reckon defence is more about making the critical tackles when its tough. Ben Galea pulled off a corker in the grand final for instance. I don't think too many saw that tackle however it was a game turner.

That is why Bryce Gibbs was a vital clog in the Wests side, stopping the full, half and quarter break. Those go unrecodnized by the majority of supporters (with little playing experience) but are really bloody vital.

Gibbs was criminally under rated, even by tigers fans which was a shame. I still maintain if he didn't get injured early in the 11 semi v the Warriors we win and are a good chance to win the comp. Him getting forced groat and Galloway to play big minutes which they couldn't handle. The Warriors scored 3 tries straight through the ruck, Gibbs would have stopped at least 2 of those. Such a shame, he should never have been made to leave the club.

gordsy

Gibbs was criminally under rated, even by tigers fans which was a shame. I still maintain if he didn't get injured early in the 11 semi v the Warriors we win and are a good chance to win the comp. Him getting forced groat and Galloway to play big minutes which they couldn't handle. The Warriors scored 3 tries straight through the ruck, Gibbs would have stopped at least 2 of those. Such a shame, he should never have been made to leave the club.

From memory he caused his own departure with some silly off field stuff as well.

Gibbs was really good for us but I think his body was shot when he left us. He didn't kick on at all.

WT Unity

He also had a very quick "play the ball" one of the quickest in the game for a prop. He was very good at landing elbows and knees and got to his feet very quick for a big man. We either got a roll on...and / or a lot of good attack came on the back of a Gibbs hit-up!

super_coach

Agreeded 100%..his line speed in defence was second to no one in the NRL. He wold plug the middle, mop up on the edges and chase down breaks. At his peak I would not have swapped him for another front rower in the comp, and of course throw in his mate Fulton and you could carry a number of non tacklers like Benji and Prince

moller

Gibbs was really good for us but I think his body was shot when he left us. He didn't kick on at all.

I think you're right there. He was definitely a loss, but he didn't offer much for the Sharks after he moved.
At his peak, probably the best ruck defender in the competition.

Maroon4life

I think the Tigers should be content to finnish 14th ahead of the knights & Titans, to think they could finnish ahead of anyone else after 26 rounds would require some bias outlooks from tigers fans.

Crazyperpman

I think the Tigers should be content to finnish 14th ahead of the knights & Titans, to think they could finnish ahead of anyone else after 26 rounds would require some bias outlooks from tigers fans.

Thanks for the input Moron4life. Its good of you to let us know what our expectations should be, when we should feel contented and when any favorable outlook would just become silly fan bias.

Got a joke for Hunt you can pass on, but he probably wont catch it.

super_coach

Pretty much the way I see it, but every year there are over achievers and under achievers. A cellar dweller surprises and a fancied side has a slide. Just hope my tigers fall into the achievers category. I also think the tigers are flying under the radar a little, I do not think they are half as bad side as some people would like you to think

Ron's_Mate

Thanks for the input Moron4life. Its good of you to let us know what our expectations should be, when we should feel contented and when any favorable outlook would just become silly fan bias.

Got a joke for Hunt you can pass on, but he probably wont catch it.
:lol::lol:

The Rosco

Thanks for dropping in maroon. I actually felt sorry for you Brisbane supporters last season.
While it's such a great achievement for your 1 team town to make it to the GF, you lot missed out on the wholesome, joyous fun in pissing yourself laughing with each shot the broncs aimed at their foot.
To blow that lead . . . to choke with such alarmingly brilliant examples of the fine art of choking, especially in the last set of six before the finnnish of normal time . . . would make even a saints fan wet himself with laughter.
I had a couple of outlooks at Hunt's catch. Sorry, attempted catch. It still looks bad.
I'm guessing you ain't watched the game again since the finnnish of the season?
Anyhoo, thanks heaps for dropping by. The next time you got anything to say about another merkins team . . . 2 words for ya . . . ben, and hunt.

BrotherJim05

One day you lot will get found out for the mountain of brown paper bags lying around Wayne Bennett office. Don't expect you or Ben Hunt to catch on with what I'm saying but it will make sense with time.