Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Jerseys, Sponsorship, Logos Discussion

Nuke

To think, in the process of this being released:

* Someone had this as an idea
* Someone then designed it
* Someone then favoured it (it made it down to a best 10 or so ideas that were then presented to the decision makers)
* It was then chosen by a different someone / some people
* It was approved

Not one of the people in any of the above steps stopped it. For curiosity's sake, I'd love to see all the ideas that lost out to this one and have remained as sketches / designs on a computer somewhere.

It's part of the kangaroo brand and will be seen in public. We should care!

And while it doesn't suit us, the jersey elite in this thread, there are probably thousands of bogans it will appeal to.

forward pass

Where do we start?

Kangaroos logo in the middle of the Southern cross???
Canterbury logo over the union jack???
Commonwealth star is almost around the side of the jersey??
Why add the pointless green and gold lower section??
Different colour sleeve trims??
The collar???

omg - that is so bad it is embarrassing.

GAZF

And while it doesn't suit us, the jersey elite in this thread, there are probably thousands of bogans it will appeal to.

There's a perfect opportunity to release heaps of training jerseys with this tacky shit on them, or flog movies and toys, or take up the cause du jour. Clubs and the NRL could make a shedload of money on merchandising without diluting the on-field brand.

In reality though, they'd still do both.

beave

Highly disagree.

They went for a 1995 retro look and IMO they've nailed it the best of any modern retro we've ever had.

images

Nuke

There's a perfect opportunity to release heaps of training jerseys with this tacky shit on them, or flog movies and toys, or take up the cause du jour. Clubs and the NRL could make a shedload of money on merchandising without diluting the on-field brand.

In reality though, they'd still do both.

Pretty much my thoughts too. On-field jerseys should be iconic and something a club wears for years and years and becomes part of the club's brand. In 20yrs time, we should be able to watch a game and know exactly who is playing who. As it presently is, one week from the next it's getting hard to tell with all the different jerseys and colours.

Keep the on-field jerseys pretty much the same year in, year out (with clubs using their 'main' jersey as much as possible), and let the clubs go wild with crazy jersey designs for the Nines, off-field 'training jerseys', even alternate jerseys to some extent.

What the Kangaroos are doing here, although I have no liking of that particular design, is the right idea as far as I'm concerned. Playing jersey is iconic and mostly untouched for decades, yet they can still release different designs for supporters to buy if they so wish.

Pierced Soul

What the Kangaroos are doing here, although I have no liking of that particular design, is the right idea as far as I'm concerned. Playing jersey is iconic and mostly untouched for decades, yet they can still release different designs for supporters to buy if they so wish.

i would love to see sales figures at the end of the year for this jersey. only people i see buying it are 1/ collectors 2/ little kids 3/ people doing it for a laugh

this will be the first jersey released at an elite level which sells less than 100 units

Hello, I'm The Doctor

i would love to see sales figures at the end of the year for this jersey. only people i see buying it are 1/ collectors 2/ little kids 3/ people doing it for a laugh

this will be the first jersey released at an elite level which sells less than 100 units

I think youll be surprised at the number of bogans that wear shit like this...

kdalymc

attn design heads!-

can anyone decent with design do up a logo for me?

we got a charity team together for a mid season game and the team is called "Jakes All Stars", parramatta colours.

can anyone help?