Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Membership Discussion

Lambretta

I'll be getting the interstate membership again after a 2 year break, purely because the Chooks are playing in Canberra. Excited that it's round 2 sat arvo and still daylight savings.

You and BFO and anyone else should consider heading down to the bush capital, seriously.

The missus is checking with our Queanbeyan residing friends to see if they're available in the week we play the Raiders down there

If they are, I'm there - excited about that at least

Lambretta

Do the Roosters have a 3 or 4 game package? You could still sign up for that one and get tickets to the matches you do go to cheap

Yes, they have a 4 game membership and I will be getting that one at the very least

A tiny part of me is still thinking of getting the bronze membership and crossing fingers the last three games are Friday or Saturday nights

ek999

Sharks only have 3 Monday night games at home. Why the 2 away games would have any bearing on buying a membership I don't know. It would be like Manly fans complaining they have 7 Monday night games. Sounds bad but only 2 of them are home games so it should have minimal impact on membership numbers

Lambretta

8pm Ko in Auckland.

If they had brought Perth in they could have had

Game one 8pm Ko in Auckland - 6 pm Sydney,
Game two 8pm Ko east coast
Alternate week
game one 7pm Ko Sydney
Game two 7pm Ko Perth - 9pm east coast

Would have solved the terrible prospect of playing a game on the east coast at 6pm

Agreed - but 6pm East Coast does at least work for the Roosters, Broncos and Storm as all the stadiums are close to town where people work

It will effect away fan numbers for Roosters games as people won't have as much time to travel from out West etc.

Not sure how it would work for Newcastle and Canberra

6pm Friday will be a shocker for Souths, Bulldogs, Penrith, Manly, Sharks, St George and the Tigers for sure. Good luck getting to Campbelltown or Wollongong by 6pm.

LeaguePlayer

Sharks only have 3 Monday night games at home. Why the 2 away games would have any bearing on buying a membership I don't know. It would be like Manly fans complaining they have 7 Monday night games. Sounds bad but only 2 of them are home games so it should have minimal impact on membership numbers

Exactly! The draw hasn't stopped me from buying my Sharks season ticket. If anything I can attend more Sharks games then ever this year including both home and away.

Lambretta

When you compare to afl's planned schedule in their new deal you realise how bad our fixtures are going to be! They will play the occasional Thursday but usual fixtures will be:
- One Friday night match
- Two Saturday afternoon matches
- One Saturday twilight match
- Two Saturday night matches
- Two Sunday afternoon games
- One Sunday twilight game

I guess having a national footprint gives better options for kick off times with the different time zones.

The AFL puts a lot of stock in the number of supporters who turn up to games (this is why the West Sydney and Gold Coast experiments are a thorn in their side). The believe (quite rightly) that match day atmosphere assists in the excitement of games and is more likely to get more people along in future and therefore build their product.

The NFL puts far more stock in TV viewing numbers than attendances while seemingly believing that the clubs don't care about gate revenues provided they get sufficient cash from TV deals.

The AFL seems to be able to deal with games that clash on TV - they just merely show them on different channels and let the fans decide which channel they want to watch.

It would be amazing if the NRL did the same thing

You could play two games at 7.30pm on a Friday for example

Sydney game - live on Channel 9 in NSW and live on Fox in other markets
Regional game - live in all markets except NSW on Channel 9 - live on Fox in NSW

Show the game on delay in the reverse markets afterwards without any ad breaks during play except if there are genuine stoppages as you would with a live game.

That way most people get the choice they want

Lambretta

Ah, apologies. I was repeating what the guy had told me

How many Thursday games have the Sharks got at home?

ek999

Ah, apologies. I was repeating what the guy had told me

How many Thursday games have the Sharks got at home?

None. They actually have no games on either a Thursday or Friday (home or away) up to round 20. They may get one Thursday or Friday against the Roosters in round 25 if both teams are going as well as they did last year but that will be it (other home match left is the Raiders).

For what has been released they have 3 on Saturday, 5 on Sunday and 2 on Monday with two matches left in rounds 21-26. I reckon it is a great year for Sharks members

Lambretta

None. They actually have no games on either a Thursday or Friday (home or away) up to round 20. They may get one Thursday or Friday against the Roosters in round 25 if both teams are going as well as they did last year but that will be it (other home match left is the Raiders).

For what has been released they have 3 on Saturday, 5 on Sunday and 2 on Monday with two matches left in rounds 21-26. I reckon it is a great year for Sharks members

With one Friday game a week only, it's highly doubtful that they'd show the Roosters v Sharks on FTA even if they were both in the top 4 at the time

Thursday is slightly more likely, but it would probably be a Saturday game

The NFL puts far more stock in TV viewing numbers than attendances while seemingly believing that the clubs don't care about gate revenues provided they get sufficient cash from TV deals.

That is not correct. The NFL have a local TV "blackout" policy still in place. If the stadium is not sold out, it is not automatically available live on local TV at all.

Lambretta

That is not correct. The NFL have a local TV "blackout" policy still in place. If the stadium is not sold out, it is not automatically available live on local TV at all.

Yes, apologies CA, I did indeed mean the NRL

I cannot understand why they do whatever they can for viewing audiences, yet pass up opportunity after opportunity to improve attendances

Then the NRL whinge and bitch to the clubs and tell them they've got to offer fans a whole day experience with face painting and bouncy castles

Lambretta

Have the Roosters announced how many members they have signed up so far?

I suppose it hasn't helped their cause not having automatic roll over available for next season

H.H

Have the Roosters announced how many members they have signed up so far?

I suppose it hasn't helped their cause not having automatic roll over available for next season

Nothing and it's starting to sh*t me.

Might tweet them and ask the question.

BlueandGold

[FONT=&quot]2016 Members[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Broncos: 16,316[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Souths: 24,092[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Eels: 10,780[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Canterbury: 12,581[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Panthers: 5449[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Dragons: 10,415[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Newcastle: 7434[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Cowboys: 8746[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Roosters: [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Storm: 10,645[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Manly: 8291[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Warriors: 5000[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Sharks: 5205[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]West Tigers: [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Raiders: [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Titans: 3608[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]04/12/15 TOTAL = 128,562[/FONT]

NRL Members 2015
Broncos 14,492
Bulldogs 10,891
Cowboys 6,673
Dragons 8,025
Eels 10,676
Knights 9,000
Panthers 4,596
Rabbitohs 23,527
Raiders ?
Roosters 7,424
Sea Eagles 5,000+
Sharks ?
Titans 3,255
Warriors ?
Tigers 4,859
Storm 10,909

01-12-14 Total = 119,327

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=440007&page=17#RBL2y6ozq7BFwZe7.97