Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Membership Discussion

Cockosh

You think you're funny, but you're not!

Such an immature post where everything is trash.

Are souffs supporters seriously that surprised at the scepticism. As reigning premiers they averaged 16000 to home games in 2015. They claimed to have 36000 members. So only 44% of members attend games. No other clubs average home crowd is so far removed from their membership number. Why? Are we expected to believe rabbhousos supporters are more inclined than any other supporters to take out memberships and not attend games? Is it because they typically have greater disposable income than others? It is laughable.

alien

Are souffs supporters seriously that surprised at the scepticism. As reigning premiers they averaged 16000 to home games in 2015. They claimed to have 36000 members. So only 44% of members attend games. No other clubs average home crowd is so far removed from their membership number. Why? Are we expected to believe rabbhousos supporters are more inclined than any other supporters to take out memberships and not attend games? Is it because they typically have greater disposable income than others? It is laughable.

where does souths' 2015 home attendance average compare to the rest of the sydney clubs??? well it's one of the best and has been for the last few years. having so many members just means a lot of souths supporters who can't get to a lot of games are still willing to get a non ticketed membership. it's not a negative thing at all. a lot of roosters supporters on here try to turn it into a negative though.

Cockosh

where does souths' 2015 home attendance average compare to the rest of the sydney clubs??? well it's one of the best and has been for the last few years. having so many members just means a lot of souths supporters who can't get to a lot of games are still willing to get a non ticketed membership. it's not a negative thing at all. a lot of roosters supporters on here try to turn it into a negative though.

I wasn't bagging your crowds. They are slightly better than the roosters (15661 vs 16613). I was making the point that your membership numbers are so far above your crowd numbers. Not trying to turn it into a negative, like many people I just don't buy it. Maybe other fans don't have pets?

alien

I wasn't bagging your crowds. They are slightly better than the roosters (15661 vs 16613). I was making the point that your membership numbers are so far above your crowd numbers. Not trying to turn it into a negative, like many people I just don't buy it. Maybe other fans don't have pets?

pet memberships are not a part of the number

Alien you are a truth see'r:cool:

Great truth telling.

papabear

bunnies finished 7th
Roosters 1st

and they still had more fans rock up then you blokes. Fair dinkum give it a rest.

yobbo84

Good point, this has never been brought up or discussed before. I can't believe I didn't notice it myself.

JWA accounts for 3000 of those memberships, there's bunnies stickers in every ute that goes past!

Lambretta

Well the appalling draw has been released and for the first time in 5 years I will not be buying a bronze season ticket membership

f**k you NRL, Fox and Channel Nine - scheduling games over 5 days - it's utter bollocks

The Roosters have no Friday games, three Saturday evening games (one of which is in Gosford and thanks to the Roosters shit membership isn't included), four Sunday games (one relocated to NZ) two Monday games and a Thursday game with three to be announced

Of those, I would be able to get to four games with the possibility of three more later. So paying $150 for a lanyard, a scarf and four games, possibly five doesn't seem like good value.

I have the option of a $100 4 game pass, which is a massive $5 discount per ticket and a scarf which I don't want.

A few years ago we had 5 games on Friday or Saturday nights and 3 others on Sunday - you were pretty much guaranteed a night out with the lads for every home game

Now with Thursday, Monday and Sunday evening games, I am down to 2 nights out in a season. It's garbage.

Add on to that no shoulder charges, players laying in the tackle and constant stoppages for trash and the game in losing it's appeal more and more every single day

I can't remember ever being so depressed about Rugby League.

For the first time in a decade, I will most likely not be a member, let alone a season ticket holder.

Lambretta I paid $403 for my Souths membership. I get access to 9 home game at ANZ, 1 home game at Allianz, 3 reciprocal rights matches against Dogs, Tigers and Dragons plus the Charity Shield too. Due to the Souths draw I can only make 6 or 7 matches out of the 14. I am a little frustrated but I'm fine with it as I know my money supports the club and I'll always get that same ticketed m/ship before the draw comes out. I don't base it around the draw and about what I can and can't make. SSTID. I'm not rolling in money or anything either. Souths are just very very very important to me. I wouldn't downgrade or not sign up like others over the draw. I find people who do that immature and disloyal!

I do understand your frustration but in all honesty it's about time you guys got a bad draw.

Souths have been getting bad draws for the last 4-5 seasons. But I expect it so I doesn't really bother me.

I'd be happy with a couple of Sunday Arvo games at ANZ but that's not the case.

At ANZ Souths don't get a Sunday Arvo match at all, but it is what it is.

4-5 games for $150 to support your club is important imo. Obviously you don't see it this way.

I'm paying $403 for 6-7 games. I'm proud of myself and my loyalty to Souths. Compare your cost to my cost and my choice about loyalty to my club and it seems you aren't as loyal to your club as what I am to Souths. I'm not shocked though. Souths have very very very very loyal members who will get a basic supporter m/ship for $100 if they can't make the games even if they don't want a lanyard etc........ They put the club first and pay up.

Lambretta

Lambretta I paid $403 for my Souths membership. I get access to 9 home game at ANZ, 1 home game at Allianz, 3 reciprocal rights matches against Dogs, Tigers and Dragons plus the Charity Shield too. Due to the Souths draw I can only make 6 or 7 matches out of the 14. I am a little frustrated but I'm fine with it as I know my money supports the club and I'll always get that same ticketed m/ship before the draw comes out. I don't base it around the draw and about what I can and can't make. SSTID. I'm not rolling in money or anything either. Souths are just very very very important to me. I wouldn't downgrade or not sign up like others over the draw. I find people who do that immature and disloyal!

I do understand your frustration but in all honesty it's about time you guys got a bad draw.

Souths have been getting bad draws for the last 4-5 seasons. But I expect it so I doesn't really bother me.

I'd be happy with a couple of Sunday Arvo games at ANZ but that's not the case.

At ANZ Souths don't get a Sunday Arvo match at all, but it is what it is.

4-5 games for $150 to support your club is important imo. Obviously you don't see it this way.

I'm paying $403 for 6-7 games. I'm proud of myself and my loyalty to Souths. Compare your cost to my cost and my choice about loyalty to my club and it seems you aren't as loyal to your club as what I am to Souths. I'm not shocked though. Souths have very very very very loyal members who will get a basic supporter m/ship for $100 if they can't make the games even if they don't want a lanyard etc........ They put the club first and pay up.

For the last 5 years I'd bought a season ticket without seeing the draw, but last years draw was so bad (yes that's two in a row) I decided to wait and see. What I saw infuriated me, but I think I've calmed down a bit now.

It's great that you're so loyal you'll pay $60 a ticket to see Souths when entry on the door costs half that. It's good for Souths you're that loyal. I can't afford to be.

I would rather work on a pay per use basis - I am going to buy a 4 game membership and take the Saturday night games plus a couple of others

I will also travel away to Gosford as it's a Saturday (not included in our membership) and will take away games in Sydney on Friday nights. This will actually benefit the Dogs, Rabbitohs and Eels rather than the Roosters, but I'll get to see my team and my mates in a manner that suits me.

When they release the last three games I will decide if I buy one of those mini memberships they release late in the season for the last games.

I am also going to try and convince the missus to visit friends of ours in Canberra when the Roosters are down there as that is a Saturday evening game and just perfect.

Lambretta

Just re-checked - Dogs away is a f**king Thursday - empty stadium extraordinaire!!

So that means Souths, Eels and Raiders are looking like genuine away games with a trip to Gosford thrown in

That's four games away from Allianz - as many as I'll get to at Allianz if the last three home games are on at shit times too.

"The draw doesn't suit me"

So what?

It cannot and will not EVER suit everybody. It's shit and frustrating when it doesn't (I'll only make a handful of games next year myself) but that's life.

BTW Dogs away is Sunday 4pm - Dogs HOME is Thursday night.

rooster25

You can take the good with the bad each year, can't believe as minor premiers we didn't get 1 Friday night game but we've had plenty in the past, however some parts of this draw are just completely unfair and unprofessional. The Manly and Easts players/clubs get screwed.Manly have 3 games in 10 days while Easts have 7 5-day turnarounds while other clubs have none...how can the NRL come up with that? It makes a mockery of the NRL so called "even" competition.

For the last 5 years I'd bought a season ticket without seeing the draw, but last years draw was so bad (yes that's two in a row) I decided to wait and see. What I saw infuriated me, but I think I've calmed down a bit now.

It's great that you're so loyal you'll pay $60 a ticket to see Souths when entry on the door costs half that. It's good for Souths you're that loyal. I can't afford to be.

I would rather work on a pay per use basis - I am going to buy a 4 game membership and take the Saturday night games plus a couple of others

I will also travel away to Gosford as it's a Saturday (not included in our membership) and will take away games in Sydney on Friday nights. This will actually benefit the Dogs, Rabbitohs and Eels rather than the Roosters, but I'll get to see my team and my mates in a manner that suits me.

When they release the last three games I will decide if I buy one of those mini memberships they release late in the season for the last games.

I am also going to try and convince the missus to visit friends of ours in Canberra when the Roosters are down there as that is a Saturday evening game and just perfect.

You seem very loyal too. Good to hear you can get the 4 games m/ship and get too a few away games.

I understand your frustrations with the draw too.

That's how it is though I guess!!!