Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Clifferd

Fair enough on the shoulder.

But you've quite clearly stated
& you'd think the majority would be in and around Sydney. So what's the go

Perhaps, as it has been discussed previously, many of Souths fans actually don't live in Sydney. Perhaps, they too live 'two hours away' like, I dunno...Central Coast, Blue Mountains, South Coast, Newcastle, Canberra etc. Perhaps with the poor performances of the team over the past 18 months, they're exercising their right not to go to a game.

And furthermore, I don't think Souffs have ever said their members are ticket holders. In fact, if there was more NRL transparency from all clubs about who is a member, a full season ticket holder, etc, the arguments could be argued better.

This comment is patently untrue.
Ffs they were outdrawn by Manly fans at a home game last week

I'm only having a go at you because of this one post. I generally agree with a lot of what you say. That you noted we are a pathetic club rankled me.

I hope your shoulder is better and you can start getting to games again. I'll save you a seat next Friday. I'm sure we'll have a few spare.

Can't disagree with much of what you're saying but given the general conscious of that list Perth provided, every single other clubs membership numbers generally correlate to their crowd numbers give or take say 2-4,000

That's what makes it look suss

If Souffs have more than 50% of their membership base outside of their geographical location, good on em

Haha I'll look forward to it mate, tigs v Souffs clashes are usually always entertaining

Pats on the back to you. I'm glad you're very loyal.

And yes, crowds do fluctuate. So whilst you use that as a defence, I shall too.

So the exercise in whinging about memberships / crowds is a total circle jerk.

No need to defend, since I wasn't attacking anyone. Merely pointing out some uncomfortable facts to the "Roosters have no fans" circlejerk.

Can't disagree with much of what you're saying but given the general conscious of that list Perth provided, every single other clubs membership numbers generally correlate to their crowd numbers give or take say 2-4,000

That's what makes it look suss

If Souffs have more than 50% of their membership base outside of their geographical location, good on em

Haha I'll look forward to it mate, tigs v Souffs clashes are usually always entertaining

In previous years I would buy anywhere between 2 and 5 kids memberships for nieces and family friends.

I also think Souths were good at targeting Souths fans and getting them to sign for a membership.

I also agree they need to do something about crowds. The fall away post GF 2014 has been horrendous. But, I do put it down to two things:
* bandwagon trendies between 2012-2014.
* family/friends who got swept along for the ride and the premiership run who now have gone back to their normal lives as either neutrals, non RL people, etc AND have family members/friends who aren't as insane as they were prior to the GF 2014 now that we've won a comp in our life times.

Anyway...I think if you love a team, you should be a member in some capacity. I think Souths did this. Now, they need to work on the crowd participation. But this is a game wide thing too. I don't believe calling one club pathetic because they have lean years, etc. I go to the games, I generally stopped reading the crowd thread because it got depressing going to the game and wanting to enjoy myself but worrying about it not being good enough. It is what it is.

No need to defend, since I wasn't attacking anyone. Merely pointing out some uncomfortable facts to the "Roosters have no fans" circlejerk.

That's true too.

In fact, I've previously argued that I believe a fair few Roosters members are SCG Trust members with the Swans/Waratahs/Roosters and they gravitate towards the 'winning' team. No crime in that either.

Personally, I think the problem with Sydney is people only go when their team is winning. Factor in travel, TV, cost, weather...and if you ain't winning, you're f**ked.

I wish it wasn't the case but it is.

Anyway...keep up the good work and see you round the traps.

Clifferd

In previous years I would buy anywhere between 2 and 5 kids memberships for nieces and family friends.

I also think Souths were good at targeting Souths fans and getting them to sign for a membership.

I also agree they need to do something about crowds. The fall away post GF 2014 has been horrendous. But, I do put it down to two things:
* bandwagon trendies between 2012-2014.
* family/friends who got swept along for the ride and the premiership run who now have gone back to their normal lives as either neutrals, non RL people, etc AND have family members/friends who aren't as insane as they were prior to the GF 2014 now that we've won a comp in our life times.

Anyway...I think if you love a team, you should be a member in some capacity. I think Souths did this. Now, they need to work on the crowd participation. But this is a game wide thing too. I don't believe calling one club pathetic because they have lean years, etc. I go to the games, I generally stopped reading the crowd thread because it got depressing going to the game and wanting to enjoy myself but worrying about it not being good enough. It is what it is.

You're a good man. You do what you can to help out the club

To be frank the pathetic rabble comment isn't said if it isn't for the nuffy 3 that roam these forums, if you were to talk to me outside of these forums I don't mind Souffs at all

Even more so my favourite player (Farah) went there

That's true too.

In fact, I've previously argued that I believe a fair few Roosters members are SCG Trust members with the Swans/Waratahs/Roosters and they gravitate towards the 'winning' team. No crime in that either.

Personally, I think the problem with Sydney is people only go when their team is winning. Factor in travel, TV, cost, weather...and if you ain't winning, you're f**ked.

I wish it wasn't the case but it is.

Anyway...keep up the good work and see you round the traps.

Sydney has an attendance problem overall. The live music scene is far worse than NRL.
If you aint a big event (SOO, Grand Final, major derby, GunsNRoses/Metallica/Eminem/Adele/whatever) on an ideal day, you're not cracking 20k.

You're a good man. You do what you can to help out the club

To be frank the pathetic rabble comment isn't said if it isn't for the nuffy 3 that roam these forums, if you were to talk to me outside of these forums I don't mind Souffs at all

Even more so my favourite player (Farah) went there

Yeah, I know what you mean. I stay away from the Souths forums because of it.

And I'm not as 'mad' as the avatar suggests. I just love RL. Always have. I think it comes from collecting bubblegum cards and sticker books as a kid and learning all the teams and watching all the games.

Sydney has an attendance problem overall. The live music scene is far worse than NRL.
If you aint a big event (SOO, Grand Final, major derby, GunsNRoses/Metallica/Eminem/Adele/whatever) on an ideal day, you're not cracking 20k.

So true.

That's why they should really put the games where the people are. What is it - fish where the fish are.

Problem too with the 'events' like Adele, etc...they're $150-$250 a ticket. People go and then don't have $$$$ leftover for footy that they can get every weekend.

Anyway...I'm veering off topic.

Clifferd

Yeah, I know what you mean. I stay away from the Souths forums because of it.

And I'm not as 'mad' as the avatar suggests. I just love RL. Always have. I think it comes from collecting bubblegum cards and sticker books as a kid and learning all the teams and watching all the games.

Yep same as me mate

Was a casual on looker until 05 when the tigs got up and the rise of Marshall, if we didn't win that premiership I doubt I'd be as into rl as I am today

Same boat as many other people I guess

The biggest thing we can learn from AFL (who I detest) is to get to the kids.

Win them over and you get 'em for life. That's why these night games and 8pm starts are BS IMHO.

yep totally agree, get them young and keep them for life. Not sure cost is such a big issue for some clubs when you can get a full season GA membership for under $100.
I'll do the comparison again at end of season when the crowd avg's will be a bit more accurate, an interesting first look though at the correlation of members and crowds.

thorson1987

The biggest thing we can learn from AFL (who I detest) is to get to the kids.

Win them over and you get 'em for life. That's why these night games and 8pm starts are BS IMHO.

Heard on the radio this week that AFL gives free entry to kids for any Sunday game (pending tickets already sold)

Yep, and usually the later Sunday game at either MCG or Etihad allows everyone to come out on the field for a kick post-game

The few times I've had a post-match kick at ANZ, it's been heaps of fun.

Newtown and Leichhardt do it all the time. Kids think it's ace.

As for pricing, kids under 18 at ANZ should be free.

Paullyboy

Do they still give junior players a free season pass? I remember when I was in high school I went to every single Broncos game with about 5 or 6 of my mates no matter who they were playing - and I hated the Broncos (so I just cheered for the opposition each week).

It helped that at QE2 (the Broncos stadium at the time) you could just go through the gates and give your pass to a mate on the outside through the fence.