Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

big hit!

Stupidity scheduling the Melbourne prelim against the Richmond game.. But it was expected after this week

If it ends up being against the sharks it would of been a sell out (nice little rivalry forming between us), but now it probably won't, it still should be a decent crowd if against the sharks, a bit more worried if it's against the panthers

It's not about what the other League is doing. It's about advantages for winning the Minor Premiership and Week 1 finals. Their prelim should be first to give them the longer break if they potentially win the prelim.

The Roosters prelim should be the Friday game because of this, not because of the NRL avoiding a head to head match up.

What I've just explained are what the AFL are going to do. Richmond are minor premiers.
Wk 2 - HAW vs MEL is Friday night
Wk 2 - COL vs GWS is saturday (night)

Wk 3 - RIC vs COL/GWS Friday night
Wk 3 - WCE vs HAW/MEL saturday

The NRL should do same and as a result, would coincidently avoid a head to head match with the AFL in Melbourne.

Wk 2 - CRO vs PEN Friday night
Wk 2 - SS vs SGI Saturday

Wk 3 - SYD vs SS/SGI Friday night
Wk 3 - MEL vs CRO/PEN Saturday

All teams still get at least a 6-day break between matches.

Tallon Smith

In reality we had in the region of
10k sharks fans
14k roosters fans
12k Penrith fans

Turn up for finals, pretty shthouse but reflective of just how well supported these nrl clubs are in Sydney.

16k melbourne fans
40k Brisbane fans
Around 5k Sydney based warriors fans
1k Souths fans travelled or living in Melbourne

If the Sydney clubs had the storms 16k fans we’d have seen far more respectable attnedances at the Sydney games.

About 3k were Souths fans and 1k neutrals, a lot of storm fans are demons fans so they were at the......other sport that I don’t care about

Tallon Smith

It's not about what the other League is doing. It's about advantages for winning the Minor Premiership and Week 1 finals. Their prelim should be first to give them the longer break if they potentially win the prelim.

The Roosters prelim should be the Friday game because of this, not because of the NRL avoiding a head to head match up.

What I've just explained are what the AFL are going to do. Richmond are minor premiers.
Wk 2 - HAW vs MEL is Friday night
Wk 2 - COL vs GWS is saturday (night)

Wk 3 - RIC vs COL/GWS Friday night
Wk 3 - WCE vs HAW/MEL saturday

The NRL should do same and as a result, would coincidently avoid a head to head match with the AFL in Melbourne.

Wk 2 - CRO vs PEN Friday night
Wk 2 - SS vs SGI Saturday

Wk 3 - SYD vs SS/SGI Friday night
Wk 3 - MEL vs CRO/PEN Saturday

All teams still get at least a 6-day break between matches.

Nope. Press release from NRL says Friday is Melbourne v tbd and saturday is Roosters v tbd. Then they’ll wonder why the crowd will be down in Melbourne. Pathetic

In reality we had in the region of
10k sharks fans
14k roosters fans
12k Penrith fans

Turn up for finals, pretty shthouse but reflective of just how well supported these nrl clubs are in Sydney.

16k melbourne fans
40k Brisbane fans
Around 5k Sydney based warriors fans
1k Souths fans travelled or living in Melbourne

If the Sydney clubs had the storms 16k fans we’d have seen far more respectable attnedances at the Sydney games.

Ha
What shit
The storm got out numbered by sharks v roosters by over 7000 people.

No excuses for storm
Not one other NRL team in the entire state and that’s the best they could do.

Billythekid

Ha
What shit
The storm got out numbered by sharks v roosters by over 7000 people.

No excuses for storm
Not one other NRL team in the entire state and that’s the best they could do.

Sharks vs roosters had 2 sets of Sydney fans. Neither fan base provided as many fans as the storm did.

The storm were up against an AFL match with 90K in attendance and around 550K watching on TV (not to mention 90K to the MCG the night before).

What competition did the sharks v roosters have?

Sharks vs roosters had 2 sets of Sydney fans. Neither fan base provided as many fans as the storm did.

The storm were up against an AFL match with 90K in attendance and around 550K watching on TV (not to mention 90K to the MCG the night before).

2 sets of fans?
So
Melbourne has the entire state, therefore they should have got heaps more.
Not sure why you people keep mentioning AFL
Swans and GWS played next door to Alliance.

Classic NRL scheduling the Roosters V Souths/Dragons game at Allianz instead of ANZ.

Absolute stupidity.

The game of rugby league isn’t strong enough to be locking out 20-30k paying customers. Serious muppetry.

Souths/roosters got 50k in 2014 prelim and it had the atmosphere of a funeral TBH. There is absolutely no evidence to suggest 20-30k people will be locked out

Completely agree.

Rorters will obviously have some tickets for corporates and most for their members of which they don’t have enough members to fill them so then their bandwagoners fans will get in whilst the diehard Dragons/Souths members can’t all fit!

The Rorters seem to think they have heaps of members so they shouldn’t be scared of having to play at ANZ but it looks like they were chicken...... that’s as they know they’d be greatly outnumbered at ANZ as their supporters for the most part won’t get off their arse and travel...

Still going on about this I see.

As the team who earned a home prelim, we have the choice between SFS and ANZ. Why wouldn't we choose SFS as it is our home ground? The NRL has the power to move it but clearly they don't believe it will lock many people out as proven by the 2014 prelim.

You just seem to want every advantage given to souths despite them not being the ones to earn a home prelim. I don't see dragons fans sooking about the location.

Souths/roosters got 50k in 2014 prelim and it had the atmosphere of a funeral TBH. There is absolutely no evidence to suggest 20-30k people will be locked out

They got 59k the year before in RD26.

Even on the 52k you’re locking out up to 15k paying customers (taking into account members)

franklin2323

Souths have 30k members.
Roosters 16k...That alone is higher than the capacity. Throw in SCG trust members etc and it is a stupid decision.

Still going on about this I see.

As the team who earned a home prelim, we have the choice between SFS and ANZ. Why wouldn't we choose SFS as it is our home ground? The NRL has the power to move it but clearly they don't believe it will lock many people out as proven by the 2014 prelim.

You just seem to want every advantage given to souths despite them not being the ones to earn a home prelim. I don't see dragons fans sooking about the location.

Do the rules actually state the club has a choice? (Sincere question)

I thought the call on the stadiums was up to the NRL? The rule saying is a “home state” final.

Hank_Scorpio

I

Can't win a argument with poor trolls mate. We didn't get the crowd we wanted but we know the influences on that. Hopefully we can get the Sharks in the prelim, for the building rivalry and often close games we have with them, to build a good crowd. But with an MCG Final on at the same time I don't like our chances of breaking 20k, especially if its Richmond v Collingwood.

Simple maths
Melbourne 3 games on the weekend, crowd of 200,519, average 66,340
Sydney 3 games total 82,106 average 27,369.

Yep the Storm has a crowd issue and 91k next door has no impact on Storm crowds :rolleyes:

You'd hope their attempts are not genuine or you'd have real concerns over their ability to pass on their DNA to future generations.

Souths have 30k members.
Roosters 16k...That alone is higher than the capacity. Throw in SCG trust members etc and it is a stupid decision.

We know souths 30k members isn't the same as everyone else due to high number of non-ticketed members and their alleged diaspora of fans across the country and the world.

Again, the prelim got 50k in 2014, the SFS holds 45k.

If people get locked out I suggest they become ticketed members in future.