Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 ASHES: 4th Test Australia v England, Old Trafford Sept 4-9

bazza

On the upside, we are going to hammer this lot in the next Ashes whatever happens here. Predicting a Pidge 5-0. Anderson just about done, Broady on the way out, our pace attack at the right age to dominate at least the next two series. If we can just find another consistent batter, we'll be laughing.
They might import a few south african batters to even things up

The Parra/Wade double sounds like the perfect start to the weekend

ParraWade... sounds like the name of a sports drink. Drink ParraWade and absolutely nothing will ever go wrong. Ever.

Ill be at Bankwest to watch Manly get belted (with a Manly mate)
then some drinks afterwards and then just in time to settle in to watch Wade stroll proudly to the crease for the start of his majestic t20 ton

The sublime Echelon of a night out if there ever was one...

ParraWade forever...

JJ

f**k this Wade shit is tiresome now... Little germ
Not feeling the love?

Don’t see why they didn’t try Usman at 6, he’s less terrible... interesting series, good bowling on each side, Smith insane consistently, Stokes brilliant, Root and your Saffer serviceable, everyone else pretty terrible

bazza

Ill be at Bankwest to watch Manly get belted (with a Manly mate)
then some drinks afterwards and then just in time to settle in to watch Wade stroll proudly to the crease for the start of his majestic t20 ton

The sublime Echelon of a night out if there ever was one...

ParraWade forever...
So you the person in charge of NRL match scheduling

lockyno1

Not feeling the love?

Don’t see why they didn’t try Usman at 6, he’s less terrible... interesting series, good bowling on each side, Smith insane consistently, Stokes brilliant, Root and your Saffer serviceable, everyone else pretty terrible

Khawaja is woeful! Please not again

Not feeling the love?

Khawaja is waaaaaay better than Wade. Even at like 4?

The only time I'd feel any love watching Wadey is if someone live-streamed themselves feeding him into an industrial paper shredder. Feet first.

Reactions: JJ
Wade will be gone this summer, I’d put money on Pucovski coming in.

Khawaja I see coming back as an opener if he comes back. Patterson another option.

With Labuschagne we may have found our fifth bowling option, a batsmen that can bowl 5-10 overs a day.

Warner/Khawaja
Harris/Patterson/Burns
Labuschagne
Smith
Head
Pucovski
Carey
Cummins
Starc/Pattinson
Lyon
Hazlewood
Richardson

Opener is the real puzzle

Wade will be gone this summer, I’d put money on Pucovski coming in.

Khawaja I see coming back as an opener if he comes back. Patterson another option.

With Labuschagne we may have found our fifth bowling option, a batsmen that can bowl 5-10 overs a day.

Warner/Khawaja
Harris/Patterson/Burns
Labuschagne
Smith
Head
Pucovski
Carey
Cummins
Starc/Pattinson
Lyon
Hazlewood
Richardson

Opener is the real puzzle

Cant drop Wade if he gets another ashes ton , surely?

I reckon Warner is on thin ice if he fails again in this test and the next.

I'm not sure they will drop Paine. I reckon he will hold the gig for our home summer (with a tap on the shoulder) and Smithy resumes the test captaincy again in March when he is 'legally' able, and Carey slots into keeper, or if we unearth a bolter gloveman in Shield cricket

Not if he gets another ton, but I think that’s unlikely.

Paine I’m hoping will retire gracefully, given the direction of his form this summer could be brutal.

Warner I can see getting tests in Australia, he’s always been so dominant here. I don’t see anyone else that can do that. If he’s struggling after a couple of tests then it’ll be time to replace him.

Eelectrica

The bar for opener has to be set really bloody low right now. I think if the 5th test is a must win game they'll play Warner and hope for the best.
Harris probably needs 20-30 (Really, really low bar) other that Khawaja back in.

Wade needs run this game, again probably 50 for the game because no one is putting there hand up. Could play Bancroft at 6 if Khawaja opens I guess.

Still feels like we're shuffling deck chairs on the Titanic though. Only 3 batsman who can feel any kind of security, and two of them are out there.

AlwaysGreen

I think our problems will be swept under the carpet next summer when we play at home against the Pakistanis and Kiwis on roads. I expect a lot Dave Wanker jumping.

JJ

I think our problems will be swept under the carpet next summer when we play at home against the Pakistanis and Kiwis on roads. I expect a lot Dave Wanker jumping.
And everyone raving about what a great test opener he is