Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Discussion

TheFrog

Soon after setting in Penrith I went to a game featuring the Panthers at home and we got thumped by a star studded Sea Eagles side 70-7 or may have been 77-7 I can’t quite recall. In the days of the 3 point tries so I think they scored 14 converted tries.
I go back to the very first home game, against Newtown. I was 11. I wasn't allowed to travel to Belmore from Penrith for the very first game but I went to every home game and a few away games in 1967. The 70-7 game was kind of avenged, first in 2002 and then in 2004. We've never quite had the sort of side Manly boasted in '73 though.

OldPanther

Well I am an old man Old Panther. When I left the Canterbury Bankstown Berries (now Bulldogs) I was a die hard Berries fan.

Soon after setting in Penrith I went to a game featuring the Panthers at home and we got thumped by a star studded Sea Eagles side 70-7 or may have been 77-7 I can’t quite recall. In the days of the 3 point tries so I think they scored 14 converted tries.

My rugby league playing days were over and from that point forward I was just a fan.

I have supported this club thru thick and thin, mostly thin, but you know what I don’t regret one single minute. I love the club.

I wear my heart on my sleeve, my wife does, my oldest son does and my youngest (daughter) does as well. They share the passion we instilled in them as children dragging them all over Sydney and elsewhere to follow our team the Panthers.

I have another son who follows the Sharks, less said about him the better.

When I do move on my request will be for my ashes to be scattered across Penrith Stadium or whatever sponsors name may be attached to it at that time. That’s what this club means to me and I am not trying to be melodramatic.

I actually think what you've said is nice. I like gifs because they convey emotion that text doesn't.

Bob

Well I am an old man Old Panther. When I left the Canterbury Bankstown Berries (now Bulldogs) I was a die hard Berries fan.

My rugby league playing days were over and from that point forward I was just a fan.

I have supported this club thru thick and thin, mostly thin, but you know what I don’t regret one single minute. I love the club.

I wear my heart on my sleeve, my wife does, my oldest son does and my youngest (daughter) does as well. They share the passion we instilled in them as children dragging them all over Sydney and elsewhere to follow our team the Panthers.

I have another son who follows the Sharks, less said about him the better.

When I do move on my request will be for my ashes to be scattered across Penrith Stadium or whatever sponsors name may be attached to it at that time. That’s what this club means to me and I am not trying to be melodramatic.
I’m a lot like you, I started playing schoolboy footy in 1967 and got the schoolboy pass to Penrith Park, it was a good way for my parents to get rid of me for a while dropping me at the football then picking me up after the game,
Re your son who’s a sharks supporter have you had him DNA tested, you never know might have been a mix up at the hospital

Kilkenny

I actually think what you've said is nice. I like gifs because they convey emotion that text doesn't.

I have a great laugh at the ‘gifs’ but frankly I am not that internet literate and I wouldn’t know where to find them to post them.

Without the benefit of ‘gifs’ this club has been such a large part of my life, my families life for over 50 years now and it just means so much to me personally.

Kilkenny

I’m a lot like you, I started playing schoolboy footy in 1967 and got the schoolboy pass to Penrith Park, it was a good way for my parents to get rid of me for a while dropping me at the football then picking me up after the game,
Re your son who’s a sharks supporter have you had him DNA tested, you never know might have been a mix up at the hospital

May have been a different lover, with the lights out and all that!!!!!! But let’s not go there.

forby

TheFrog - I was 8 for the first one, don’t remember who it was. The first one I really remember was in 68 against Balmain where Laurie Fagan kicked a field goal to win it!

Panfa

I lived in canterbury and grew up following the bulldogs my whole family went for them we used to go to every home game at belmore sports ground.My brothers mate used to play reserve grade for the panthers his name was ray farag he was a centre with steve carter i used to go and watch him play at penrith park.My favourite dogs players were chris mortimer and peter kelly when they left the dogs and joined penrith i started supporting the panthers in 1989.Greg alexander was my favourite penrith player i modelled my game on his although i played inside centre for belmore boys high school which also included hazem elmasri as our fullback.Ive stuck with the pennies through good and bad ive been there to watch us win grand finals and seen us get the spoon a few times but i will always be a mad penrith supporter.P.S we will make the 8 this yr and give it a shake in the semis with a clean bill of health go the panthers.

Pomoz

What a great fit Michael Maguire has been for the West Tigers.

Too his credit Ivan Clearly had them performing above expectations as well last season before the father/son totally hijacked the whole debate.

In life, things happen for a reason, we may not recognise it at the time but in the long run for the most part things sorta turn out for the best.

You look at our prospects for this current season, full of optimism the one minute and before you know it Griffin gone, Ivan back, Gus gone, upheaval around the Tyrone May saga, awful start to 2019, fan favourites shown the door, season over and wouldn’t you just know it some Panther kids emerge from no where and we win five straight.

I don’ t know. season 2019 has for the most part been depressing, disappointing, underachieving and just when we throw in the towel a kid such as Brent Naden runs 90 metres against all odds and plants the ball down over the line.

It is moments such as these why we support the Panthers. For me anyway.
Great Post.

age.s

There's an impressive breadth of age and experience on this forum. It's unlike most other corners of the internet I inhabit. Or maybe not and it's just that following a specific footy team gives you reason to talk about life experiences in a way other interests do not. Similar to how the Panther forum I'm on in 30 years will hear about the time Flash Gordon hit the upright in a missed conversion that would have sent us to extra time against Canberra in 2010. Or what Rhys Wesser was like in full flight. Or Priddis faking out the defense to put Rooney over in the corner.

Anyway, thanks to the more experienced among us for sharing.

Panther_Daz

I am going away for the next 6 and a half weeks so my visits here will be less frequent than normal. Even this week I haven't had the chance to get on much as I have been busy finalising everything.

Hopefully we are entrenched in the top 8 when I return.

Please behave yourselves!

GongPanther

Dragons lose to Storm, so we’ll leapfrog them into 10th spot once the Bye is applied
Beat me to it.:)

And if the Tigars lose to Easts, we'll be equal with them on 16. with one bye each. Then WT play Parra next week.

In fact, looking at the rest of the draw, WT will be really up against it. Probably have the hardest run in towards the end of the season.

OldPanther

And if the Tigars lose to Easts, we'll be equal with them on 16. with one bye each. Then WT play Parra next week.

In fact, looking at the rest of the draw, WT will be really up against it. Probably have the hardest run in towards the end of the season.

If the chooks can win by 53+ we go ahead of Tigers on F/A :)

TheFrog

Good. Some of their fans have been insufferable.

OldPanther

In our 5 game winning streak, 4 of the wins were against top 8 teams.

We are going a little better than most give us credit.

Ivan said they've improved effort and teamwork and need to work on the technical stuff. Seems a fair assessment.

Also those teams were far from full strength.

MrBlack

Ivan said they've improved effort and teamwork and need to work on the technical stuff. Seems a fair assessment.

Also those teams were far from full strength.

We are far from full strength as well. We haven't had any experienced centres all year and blooded a few rookies.

We need to keep improving, but the signs are there.

MrBlack

Good. Some of their fans have been insufferable.

My best friends are Tigers and Eels supporters.

It's not been a good year for me, so it will be nice to pull up along side them on the ladder now, with momentum....

(at least we are 1 win and 1 loss with each of them this year)

OldPanther

We are far from full strength as well. We haven't had any experienced centres all year and blooded a few rookies.

We need to keep improving, but the signs are there.

That's why I think Ivan's comments are on the mark. We aren't where we should be but we are in a good place. I'm pretty happy with the improvement. Cleary and Maloney where finally working well together which is why his injury sucks so much. Them 2 could have taken us to the next level this year. Not sure how set back they'll be now.