Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Jerseys/Logos/Sponsorships

Hello, I'm The Doctor

This is one step too far imo. The team jersey design in the logo goes against one of the other key intentions of the new branding, which is to provide simplicity and clarity.

Imagine if the NRL decided to use these de-facto logos as the favicon for team websites. Not that the club logos provide much more legibility at that size but they're at least varied enough for easier distinction.

I definitely dont think this should replace the real logos anywhere. That was a reaction to whatever this hunk of shit was intended for...

50995015_2014355531951577_8114664720889282560_n.jpg

It always shits me when the websites or (more often) the tv stations try to simplify the club logos with a framing device (FOX did that football) or a single colour. I get the idea to make it easier to see in that small corner next to the scores, but its a shit effort.

If that is going to continue (and it definitely will) i think the clubs/nrl should come up with official simplified logos for the purpose (i think that is what these logos above are meant for).

Rather than just half-assing the current logos, i think we'd get a much better result by taking the core elements of the clubs brand and creating a logo fit for purpose. To me, the obvious one is the club colours/jersey design, but a simplified cartoon or a letter/wordmark would work just as well

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Raiders jersey in the flesh shows how the new logo is just done so poorly.

It’s considerably bigger than the club logo and the embroidery of the text is quite cheap looking.

It actually looks like it’s covering another logo underneath.

View attachment 26570

I still think the white design against a black shield would looks SOOO good. (Make the V club colours if we want to individualise it)

As for the Wordmark, i wonder how it would look above the logo. I think the size problem is because they have placed it below the V instead of above the flat end.

I definitely dont think this should replace the real logos anywhere. That was a reaction to whatever this hunk of shit was intended for...

50995015_2014355531951577_8114664720889282560_n.jpg

It always shits me when the websites or (more often) the tv stations try to simplify the club logos with a framing device (FOX did that football) or a single colour. I get the idea to make it easier to see in that small corner next to the scores, but its a shit effort.

If that is going to continue (and it definitely will) i think the clubs/nrl should come up with official simplified logos for the purpose (i think that is what these logos above are meant for).

Rather than just half-assing the current logos, i think we'd get a much better result by taking the core elements of the clubs brand and creating a logo fit for purpose. To me, the obvious one is the club colours/jersey design, but a simplified cartoon or a letter/wordmark would work just as well
I liked Fox's idea but I think the execution got a bit repetitive and in some cases hard to differentiate. The pennant for AFL, chevrons for RL, hexagon for sokkah - the idea was right but it just didn't work.

I like the simple colour boxes with names they do now, instead of trying to cram logos onto the scoreboard.

kdalymc

I disagree that the rebrand has been an absolute abortion but the logo application on the jerseys has been lacklustre, especially compared with how its applied elsewhere.

I totally disagree. Everything outside of the jersey integration has been great...

Couple of people on this site/ some nerds see the other stuff.
99% of people see nothing but the jerseys only, and the jerseys suckkkkk

AJB1102

I used to get the annual Sharks members jersey until they stopped for a year. Last jersey I got was the Premiers one in 2016. It'd have to be something magnificent or another Premier's version for me to ever buy another NRL jersey. They cost a bomb, look cheap and fit like crap.

Couple of people on this site/ some nerds see the other stuff.
99% of people see nothing but the jerseys only, and the jerseys suckkkkk
I reckon 99% of people wouldn't look that closely and just wear the things

gzerounian

Raiders jersey in the flesh shows how the new logo is just done so poorly.

It’s considerably bigger than the club logo and the embroidery of the text is quite cheap looking.

It actually looks like it’s covering another logo underneath.

View attachment 26570
Logo aside..how rubbish does the quality of that Jersey look. The nrl badge is probably the best thing about that Jersey. The markup on these jerseys must be ridiculously high. Anyone who thinks they are getting a far superior product compared to the cheap made in China imitations is kidding themselves. ISC used to be my favourite jersey brand as they used to produce jerseys using quality material with a nice finish. I honestly don't know how or why their standards have dropped so much.

cooko

Logo aside..how rubbish does the quality of that Jersey look. The nrl badge is probably the best thing about that Jersey. The markup on these jerseys must be ridiculously high. Anyone who thinks they are getting a far superior product compared to the cheap made in China imitations is kidding themselves. ISC used to be my favourite jersey brand as they used to produce jerseys using quality material with a nice finish. I honestly don't know how or why their standards have dropped so much.
The sponsor on the back was also heat pressed.

It was in Rebel Sport so unfortunately it’s not a fake.

cooko

Looks like St George have a smaller version on the Premiership logo so that both the shield and text are the same size as their badge.F59A8669-36C9-4372-863C-6AF35F3680BA.jpeg

AJB1102

The markup on these jerseys must be ridiculously high. Anyone who thinks they are getting a far superior product compared to the cheap made in China imitations is kidding themselves.

I seen a few knock offs last year that a mate's mate was flogging for about $75. Seen a Sharks, Raiders, Manly, Knights and Broncos. The sponsor on the back of the Raiders one looked a little off centre but other than that they could could hang alongside the genuine thing at Rebel and not look outta place.

gzerounian

I seen a few knock offs last year that a mate's mate was flogging for about $75. Seen a Sharks, Raiders, Manly, Knights and Broncos. The sponsor on the back of the Raiders one looked a little off centre but other than that they could could hang alongside the genuine thing at Rebel and not look outta place.
And not because the knock offs are so good but because the originals are so poor.

flippikat

I miss the Auckland 9’s, both because I actually loved the tournament, but also because this thread was rocking at this time of year.

Same here. The footy was fun, but from a jersey design angle it gave clubs (and their apparel partners) license to try some radical ideas.

IMO some of those "out their" designs were worthy of being regular season alternates.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Same here. The footy was fun, but from a jersey design angle it gave clubs (and their apparel partners) license to try some radical ideas.

IMO some of those "out their" designs were worthy of being regular season alternates.

What truely shit me was when clubs would clubs would produce 10 jumpers for the season, but couldnt think of anything original for the 9s...

Whether it was ISC using the same template in different colours or Panthers using their alternate, it got to the point where i have to assume clubs just wanted to be dificult.

“We want clazy jerseys, its our right!!!”
“Ok, we will create an event where you can do crazy designs”
“We dont want to anymore. You cant tell ne what to do”

What truely shit me was when clubs would clubs would produce 10 jumpers for the season, but couldnt think of anything original for the 9s...

Whether it was ISC using the same template in different colours or Panthers using their alternate, it got to the point where i have to assume clubs just wanted to be dificult.

“We want clazy jerseys, its our right!!!”
“Ok, we will create an event where you can do crazy designs”
“We dont want to anymore. You cant tell ne what to do”
I think Penrith using their alternate was Gus giving a big "f**k you" to the tournament itself, wasn't it?