Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Rd1: Parramatta v Penrith LIVE GAME DAY thread March 17

You said we have plenty of his type.

We actually have nobody similar to him.

Late response so may have been discussed, but I'd actually say Alvaro is quite similar.

I don't agree with Pou that Brown is overrated, but I think the few times Alvaro has started at or shifted to lock and taken the same runs Brown does, his stats have been eerily similar. Brown is more of a mongrel, for sure, and does run harder for longer. But both are the kind of player that is equally good in attack and defence, both are hard workers, both are two of our better wrestlers in the ruck and they are two of our quicker players in terms of playing the ball.

I'd personally be shifting Alvaro to lock with Brown out myself, but not sure that's necessarily a popular opinion, And BA has favoured Tepai in recent times.

Has anyone been able to work out why Cleary sent all his kicks to Fergo/Gutho and not Siva on debut ?

It certainly looked like a pec injury but there are reports that it could be a bicep injury, which would be much better in terms of recovery time

Tbh if it's a bad bicep injury it could be much of a muchness in terms of actually getting back into quality footy playing condition.

Chatting to a mate who has done all my exercise physiology stuff for my myriad of injuries about it this morning. He said (obviously depending on the severity) pec is essentially season ending and a bad biceps injury could take at least 4-6 months to heal to the point where a bloke can play footy again. Even at 4 months that puts him at mid-July, about round 18 or 20 somewhere.

Let's just all hope it wasn't as bad as it looked...

Just rewatched the highlights. How the f**k was this missed?

Not sure but I'd be hoping BA or someone just has a quick "please explain" sent out to the refs, because that was as blatant as I've seen since the ban honestly.

lingard

Or they didn't want to kick to Semi

Everyone played well yesterday. I was impressed with Taka. So much better than last year. Same with Jennings. Marata Niukore is, I think, destined to become an extremely good player. Gutherson was a bit underwhelming, but solid. Maybe not really a game for fullbacks yesterday. And our new Fijian flyer will get better and better; nearly had a Semi-like length of the field try yesterday, good attitude in defence and showed some smarts as well. A great acquisition, I reckon. So far so good with Moses. Great game. All the forwards played great. And Dylan Brown. What can you say? He's our new Brett Kenny. Different style of player, but all class. He'll go far. Origin. New Zealand. Australia. Depends where his allegiances lie. But he'll reach that level, for sure. We simply have to keep him and build a good quality competitive side around him so that he'll want to stay.
I've been very pessimistic about this club for a while, but I reckon if Parramatta plays their cards right, they'll challenge for the premiership the year after next.
Fearless prediction: we'll win the grand final in 2021.

Noise

Everyone played well yesterday. I was impressed with Taka. So much better than last year. Same with Jennings. Marata Niukore is, I think, destined to become an extremely good player. Gutherson was a bit underwhelming, but solid. Maybe not really a game for fullbacks yesterday. And our new Fijian flyer will get better and better; nearly had a Semi-like length of the field try yesterday, good attitude in defence and showed some smarts as well. A great acquisition, I reckon. So far so good with Moses. Great game. All the forwards played great. And Dylan Brown. What can you say? He's our new Brett Kenny. Different style of player, but all class. He'll go far. Origin. New Zealand. Australia. Depends where his allegiances lie. But he'll reach that level, for sure. We simply have to keep him and build a good quality competitive side around him so that he'll want to stay.
I've been very pessimistic about this club for a while, but I reckon if Parramatta plays their cards right, they'll challenge for the premiership the year after next.

He's a Kiwi

Joshuatheeel

Tbh if it's a bad bicep injury it could be much of a muchness in terms of actually getting back into quality footy playing condition.

Chatting to a mate who has done all my exercise physiology stuff for my myriad of injuries about it this morning. He said (obviously depending on the severity) pec is essentially season ending and a bad biceps injury could take at least 4-6 months to heal to the point where a bloke can play footy again. Even at 4 months that puts him at mid-July, about round 18 or 20 somewhere.

Let's just all hope it wasn't as bad as it looked...

Not anymore for a pec injury according to:

Glenneel

Zero missed tackles, zero errors, zero penalties conceded. In the wet and in front by a narrow margin, it wasn't the type of game that suited him.
Exactly which game does suit him? Seems ok for Wenty so maybe that's his go. I'd have Terepo or Kaufusi replacing him tbh, I'm sure they'd provide more punch in the middle.

Glenneel

He'd also be on double or triple what Evans is on, so I hope he would play more minutes.
Still sticking to your point that Evans was bought for backup only. You don't buy a backup for 3 years, simple. BA bought him to be a starting middle forward. Only you and BA ever rated him after 3 years of mediocrity with the Roosters. Lane might be paid more, but only marginally more, but keep plugging away Pou, someone will eventually believe you.

I think that he has an intimidating quality and aggression to his game above anyone else in our team. Other then maybe M'au at his best, we are very thin on the ground when it comes to true controlled aggression.

I would agree with that. Just don't think he's really an 'enforcer'. But there aren't too many Les Davidsons around these days.

Still sticking to your point that Evans was bought for backup only. You don't buy a backup for 3 years, simple. BA bought him to be a starting middle forward. Only you and BA ever rated him after 3 years of mediocrity with the Roosters. Lane might be paid more, but only marginally more, but keep plugging away Pou, someone will eventually believe you.

Agree. And a guy like Evans doesnt sign for 3yrs unless its an attractive offer. But hey this has been discussed 100x KE is most likely on 100k overs. And as I have said before big deal when others guys like Norman where on 600k overs.

Plus Evans was worth a punt. He really only has to lift his game 10-20% to be worth what I am guessing we paid. Approx 300k.

Shaun Lane's mouthguard....

D1599ClUYAIa_IY

Attachments

• upload_2019-3-18_13-3-3.png
    upload_2019-3-18_13-3-3.png
    2 KB · Views: 5

84 Baby

What does that have to do with my post?