Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 team line up

Dino, what is the thought process with this 1-7. You have 4 of the 7 players playing out of their normal positions here???
Though process simply involved a list of player names on a dartboard..

And bourbon.

Lots and lots of bourbon.

1.Widdop 2.Dufty 3. Aitken 4.Lafai 5. Lomax 6.Norman 7. Hunt

It makes no sense putting Lomax outside of Aitken; it would set him up for failure. Even the great Nightingale could not get any traction outside Aitken.

If those proposing Lomax to be selected on the wing, for goodness sake put him on the left wing; in that way he will not be tagged for Aitken errors or in-abilities.

There should be no place for loayalty or favouritism in 2019. It should be the case that players are selected on ability and pre-season form.

RufusRex

Aitken wing outside Lomax is a better option than Lomax wing outside Aitken.
But simply put any team with Aitken in it is setting us up to lose.

Either way, those spruiking Aitken and Dufty should stop and learn from the lessons of Dan Hunt, Mitch Rein and any number of over hyped locals bursting onto the scene with one trick up their sleeves and many failings.

Crush

Aitken wing outside Lomax is a better option than Lomax wing outside Aitken.
But simply put any team with Aitken in it is setting us up to lose.

Either way, those spruiking Aitken and Dufty should stop and learn from the lessons of Dan Hunt, Mitch Rein and any number of over hyped locals bursting onto the scene with one trick up their sleeves and many failings.
You still jumping on Aitken yet letting your boy Lafai get off scott free? Agenda much?
Do I need to pull up last years stats again to prove how much better Aitken was in 2018 than Lafai?
Happy to criticize Aitken but how about a bit of balance?

RufusRex

Sure
Lafai less tries, more try assists, same number of line breaks, more line break assists, more errors, more running metres, less try causes, equivalent tackle effectiveness ...

All in all Lafai edges Aitken ... we can do better than both but Lafai has shown plenty more in his career than Aitken ever will.

Flick Aitken and look for a lafai replacement

You still jumping on Aitken yet letting your boy Lafai get off scott free? Agenda much?
Do I need to pull up last years stats again to prove how much better Aitken was in 2018 than Lafai?
Happy to criticize Aitken but how about a bit of balance?

In my opinion both Aitken and Lafai should not be anywhere near first grade; they never should have been signed long term by Millward. Herbert and Lomax who were the ISP centres of the year in 2018 should have been the natural replacements for these two second rate players.

How many clubs are chasing these two no hopers? Support for them on here can only be based on a flawed notion of loyalty to the players or the coach however, if Millward did not sign them long term, I feel sure our centres in 2019 would be Lomax and another young potentially superstar centre. Not Maranta or Runciman, not Aitken nor Lafai. How does Millward get things so wrong. It's a MESS.

Crush

In my opinion both Aitken and Lafai should not be anywhere near first grade; they never should have been signed long term by Millward. Herbert and Lomax who were the ISP centres of the year in 2018 should have been the natural replacements for these two second rate players.

How many clubs are chasing these two no hopers? Support for them on here can only be based on a flawed notion of loyalty to the players or the coach however, if Millward did not sign them long term, I feel sure our centres in 2019 would be Lomax and another young potentially superstar centre. Not Maranta or Runciman, not Aitken or Lafai. How does Millward get things so wrong. It's a MESS.
Who's the other young potential superstar centre Possm?

Crush

One that comes to mind is the young Shark centre picked up by Newcastle however, there would be enough cap to pick up any top grade centre.
No there is zero cap left for 2019 according to recent media reports. Didn't you see the Corey Norman debacle where Dragons couldn't get 20K more as their cap was completely done?

Crush

Sure
Lafai less tries, more try assists, same number of line breaks, more line break assists, more errors, more running metres, less try causes, equivalent tackle effectiveness ...

All in all Lafai edges Aitken ... we can do better than both but Lafai has shown plenty more in his career than Aitken ever will.

Flick Aitken and look for a lafai replacement
Aitken edges Lafai.
Flick Lafai and look for a replacement from Aitken.

No there is zero cap left for 2019 according to recent media reports. Didn't you see the Corey Norman debacle where Dragons couldn't get 20K more as their cap was completely done?

Crush, my remarks were on the condition that we did not sign Aitken and Lafai long term - short term instead, meaning their contracts were up at the end of 2018. Also we signed a quality centre prior to singing fill in players giving us enough cap space.

RufusRex

Aitken edges Lafai.
Flick Lafai and look for a replacement from Aitken.

Right now we have an obvious and talented replacement for Aitken in Lomax. You could tell this by the way our leaky right turned bulletproof as soon as Aitken was out of there.

There is no obvious replacement on the books for Lafai.

My preference was always to give Mann a shot at left centre as i always thought it was his best position .. Never happened and flicking him gets rid of the obvious replacement.

Dragonslayer

Right now we have an obvious and talented replacement for Aitken in Lomax. You could tell this by the way our leaky right turned bulletproof as soon as Aitken was out of there.

There is no obvious replacement on the books for Lafai.

My preference was always to give Mann a shot at left centre as i always thought it was his best position .. Never happened and flicking him gets rid of the obvious replacement.

I read somewhere that Aitken has been training with the forwards.

Maybe @dragonssamy61 can shed some more light on this.

BLM01

Dont believe the media reports. There are plently of other ways to play the tune. Dragons may of just held their ground and good on em. I reckon we got cap space as dont forget we have 29 in our Top squad. We have to find a 30th.

dragonssamy61

I read somewhere that Aitken has been training with the forwards.

Maybe @dragonssamy61 can shed some more light on this.

He has been training as middle lock and centre.
But its not unusual for players to train in more than one position.
At this stage the player have there own individual training .
Not much ball training.
Mostly fittness and stamina and strength.

They will do more ball work and teamwork (moves ect) as it gets closer to the start of the season.

Overseas dragon

He has been training as middle lock and centre.
But its not unusual for players to train in more than one position.
At this stage the player have there own individual training .
Not much ball training.
Mostly fittness and stamina and strength.

They will do more ball work and teamwork (moves ect) as it gets closer to the start of the season.
whos the quicker mate ravalawa or pearson they say jonus is approx 93 kgs and ravalawa is 93 kgs so not featherweights ......

If these two wingers can come through the pre-season as the choice wingers, we will at last have a backline capable of scoring and defending on both sides of the field. Tall and sokid wingers with speed is exactly what we need.