Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020: NRL 360

Gazzamatta

Sure and based on 2019's small sample size our coach is as good as theirs at the moment.
Certainly no criticism on the home front. Just an observation that Manlys former was less than ideal and that change can have a positive effect. Des, like BA, is at his home club. Thats a definite positive. As good a footy coach as Des is, I think his success at Manly will be dependent upon how involved in areas other than coaching the club allows. Again its my belief that BAs strength is his man management and if our club allows him to concentrate on his strength we may well move forward. Removing player recruitment and negotiation, adding specialist coaches and a HoFM was always the process to allow BA to be judged fairly on his coaching alone. Early days yet and very much the reason why there is no rush to make a decision.

IFR33K

And is Des really a genuinely good coach?

I mean as an all round coach, he's obviously won premierships with very good Manly sides. But there's more to coaching that what happens on the field every year, and he's also left two salary caps in absolute ruin...

Hasler has had success wherever he’s gone. He didn’t get the premiership at the dogs, but he made two gf’s with some average players. If you’re genuinely questioning Hasler credentials or ability as a coach, and think ours is better or even close, than I’m sorry, you belong in an institute. Bennet is supposedly have left knights in a mess, that make him a bad coach? Also, why do you think we’ve formed a retention committee at the eels? It’s because they knew ba was responsible for throwing overs at players.

And for nutt huggerz, this isn’t a BA bashing.

Hasler has had success wherever he’s gone. He didn’t get the premiership at the dogs, but he made two gf’s with some average players. If you’re genuinely questioning Hasler credentials or ability as a coach, and think ours is better or even close, than I’m sorry, you belong in an institute. Bennet is supposedly have left knights in a mess, that make him a bad coach? Also, why do you think we’ve formed a retention committee at the eels? It’s because they knew ba was responsible for throwing overs at players.

BA basher.

I never mentioned BA.

I just think Hasler is overrated. Good coach when it comes to the onfield stuff but he has an abysmal record with managing a roster.

Joshuatheeel

So your issue is you don't think he's a good 5/8. Fair enough. With such quality in the spine I think he would do a decent job at 6. Api is not a bad kicker either which would take some pressure off DCE. If they can all fit under the salary cap it doesn't matter who is getting paid what. I f**ken hate Manly butI would love to have those kind of players in the spine.

I get why some clubs may consider paying him $750k to play fullback and I do think he wouId do a fairly decent job in the halves, however if you have $750k to spend on a half surely there would be better options (or other options that will be become available) that would either offer better value or who are a better half then gutho is.

Additionally if you are spending $750k surely you would expect them to have some kicking game and have the ability to lead the side if the other half is injured. How good wouId gutho go if DCE isn’t available?

We tried gutho in the halves and yes he has the ability to do a fair job but gee it put a lot of pressure on his halves partner with their kicking game.

Anyhow just reckon $750k to play in the halves is stupid cap management and I don’t reckon Manly are even willing to pay that amount. They probably have a greater focus with signing some wingers /centres / edge forwards.

Noise

I get why some clubs may consider paying him $750k to play fullback and I do think he wouId do a fairly decent job in the halves, however if you have $750k to spend on a half surely there would be better options (or other options that will be become available) that would either offer better value or who are a better half then gutho is.

Additionally if you are spending $750k surely you would expect them to have some kicking game and have the ability to lead the side if the other half is injured. How good wouId gutho go if DCE isn’t available?

We tried gutho in the halves and yes he has the ability to do a fair job but gee it put a lot of pressure on his halves partner with their kicking game.

Anyhow just reckon $750k to play in the halves is stupid cap management and I don’t reckon Manly are even willing to pay that amount. They probably have a greater focus with signing some wingers /centres / edge forwards.

Gutho can also play centre. They will need to replace Dylan Walker. How much are we paying Jennings? I reckon Gutho at 750 is the same as we are paying Jennings right now

hybrideel

Gutho can also play centre. They will need to replace Dylan Walker. How much are we paying Jennings? I reckon Gutho at 750 is the same as we are paying Jennings right now
In saying that, Jennings was the current Origin centre and top 2 or 3 in the game when we got him. Gutho is not. He is a decent centre but no better than a player you could get for half that given his best qualities are work rate and backing up the ball which is wasted at centre

But we’re paying Jennings overs since we had unlimited TPAs when we signed him.

He’s also a far better centre than Gutherson, and a lot more experienced.

Gazzamatta

But he was pretty much unwanted at the Chooks. These are the reasons we now have a recruitment and retention committee and not one bloke, who had other things to do, negotiating such deals. Sins of the past.

Absolutely agree to both. We signed him when we were rorting.

Muuuuuch better centre than Gutho.

Certainly no criticism on the home front. Just an observation that Manlys former was less than ideal and that change can have a positive effect. Des, like BA, is at his home club. Thats a definite positive. As good a footy coach as Des is, I think his success at Manly will be dependent upon how involved in areas other than coaching the club allows. Again its my belief that BAs strength is his man management and if our club allows him to concentrate on his strength we may well move forward. Removing player recruitment and negotiation, adding specialist coaches and a HoFM was always the process to allow BA to be judged fairly on his coaching alone. Early days yet and very much the reason why there is no rush to make a decision.
f**kin oath! ... good post

But he was pretty much unwanted at the Chooks. These are the reasons we now have a recruitment and retention committee and not one bloke, who had other things to do, negotiating such deals. Sins of the past.
He wasn't 'unwanted', his big salary was. He was a better centre than any of the clowns who only won six games for the Chooks in 2016 (the same amount we won last year). But they were rebuilding and wanted to make room for younger and cheaper guys like Mitchell and Manu.

We signed Jennings because he was a current Origin centre and we were on a spending spree while being cheeky with the salary cap. If we knew we would have no TPAs 12 months later I'm sure we wouldn't have signed him.

Paul Kent talking some sense tonight:

"Parramatta are a gritty team"

"Bankwest Stadium is like a finals game for them, such the atmosphere"

"Whilst its great watching a game there on TV, it is better to be there"

Djay

I couldn't believe what I heard, something positive about us.

84 Baby

Did the merkin even watch last week?
Anyway what is happening on tonight’s NRL 360 Comments on Gutho’s Contract Negotiations?

Djay

Did the merkin even watch last week?
Anyway what is happening on tonight’s NRL 360 Comments on Gutho’s Contract Negotiations?
That we should just pay the money he wants before we regret it and lose him.

And after poor administration in previous years, we are now being "too responsible" with our cap.