Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020: NRL 360

TheRam

gee if it were only that easy,

firstly how many halves can one team fit under the salary cap given they are the most expensive players in the team/squad ?

secondly, if your reserve no 6 or 7 is any good, another team will scoop him for a lot more than say we are paying Jai Field who is probabaly better than most statewide cup halves

who the f**k has enough money to pay for 3 or 4 halves under the cap ? and who misses out of squad places while they play statewide cup ?

this is not thinking,

do not rate him and this is an example of why, he hasn't thought this through and most will have already picked up on this

Simpleton.

The point is that there should be heaps of quality halves always coming through. That is the point. If there are many quality halves second string halves around then their value is somewhat diminished and ALL clubs would have them.

Of course the elite ones like a Cronk or Thurston will always be rarer and in high demand, but the DCE and Pearce type there should be many of those right throughout the competition. So if one of those types goes down, a club can promote the Chad Robinson, Blake Green, Jahrome Hughes, Brodie Croft types. Those types should be the second and third string halves that only get a go when there are injuries or Rep duties.

At the moment the CR, BG, JH and BC types are actually first stringers and that should not be the case EVER!

That is the point. I know it may sound like an impossible dream to have that type of quality coming through all the time, but it isn't if we work at it right and put in the right structures and programs. We just need the right people who know what they are doing and no single club agenda and only the welfare of Rugby League in mind. We must have grand aspirations from the top and then the right people to put a plan in place and then execute it wisely. I think Gould and V'Landys are the perfect men for this job.

But sure be a negative arse and death ride it before they even start. You're not the only bagger in this country, it is an Aussie past time. That's what we do. Tall poppy syndrome. You aren't the first and you won't be the last. It doesn't matter much at all. If or when they are successful, you will just pretend that you never doubted it or that it wasn't such a big deal and almost anyone half competent could of done it or just say nothing at all, because that what death riders do.

Doers just do and haters, well we all know the rest.

Thing is but, if you go back to the start of that interchange, Crawley actually cut Kent off in the first place...

f**k I can't stand Crawley. Fart sniffer of the highest order, to borrow a phrase of one of my Eels brethren...
I like the look of that comment.

Simpleton.

yes he is, I agree

do you think clubs are not already trying to develop halves ? (and every other position)

has he said how clubs can do more ?

so what methodology is he proposing ? and the word "pathways" is not an answer

and stating "The point is that there should be heaps of quality halves always coming through. That is the point" is not a solution , its the end result but he has not stated how it can happen, or at least how he thinks it can happen

its not thinking its just a rant, and a rather obvious one

TheRam

yes he is, I agree

do you think clubs are not already trying to develop halves ? (and every other position)

has he said how clubs can do more ?

so what methodology is he proposing ? and the word "pathways" is not an answer

and stating "The point is that there should be heaps of quality halves always coming through. That is the point" is not a solution , its the end result but he has not stated how it can happen, or at least how he thinks it can happen

its not thinking its just a rant, and a rather obvious one

Well lets see then why don't we. He has achieved more in the game then probably any other individual and all you want to do is criticise. Give him a chance to even start mate. As he has said, development and pathways is his passion. He is a very capable man, so as we know passion and ability are a powerful thing.

As for how he will do it? Well I'm not him mate. He would have a blue print for it. Sorry he hasn't rushed out and given you a copy yet. Maybe it's in the mail?

Short of that, go read his old SHM stories on the subject. He has written about it numerous times mate and in some detail too. I couldn't be F'ed finding them for you. I don't have a problem with him. If you are so concerned, you should.

Well lets see then why don't we. He has achieved more in the game then probably any other individual and all you want to do is criticise. Give him a chance to even start mate. As he has said, development and pathways is his passion. He is a very capable man, so as we know passion and ability are a powerful thing.

As for how he will do it? Well I'm not him mate. He would have a blue print for it. Sorry he hasn't rushed out and given you a copy yet. Maybe it's in the mail?

Short of that, go read his old SHM stories on the subject. He has written about it numerous times mate and in some detail too. I couldn't be F'ed finding them for you. I don't have a problem with him. If you are so concerned, you should.

I understand you are a fanboi, as is your right. I am not but you seem to think you can convince me otherwise, which will never happen.

I have read and heard enough of his opinions to form my own. His biggest problem is his ego, he believes in his own publicity but he says some very unintelligent things for mine and he speaks in rhetoric quiet a lot, which is normally a sign that he hasn't thought the details through or doesn't have any detail..

Penrith and Dragons fans dont think too highly of him either after his efforts to improve them, Panthers only improved after he left yet he spent 5 years there.

TheRam

I understand you are a fanboi, as is your right. I am not but you seem to think you can convince me otherwise, which will never happen.

I have read and heard enough of his opinions to form my own. His biggest problem is his ego, he believes in his own publicity but he says some very unintelligent things for mine and he speaks in rhetoric quiet a lot, which is normally a sign that he hasn't thought the details through or doesn't have any detail..

Penrith and Dragons fans dont think too highly of him either after his efforts to improve them, Panthers only improved after he left yet he spent 5 years there.

To the contrary, I'm not trying to convince you at all because I think you are a stubborn old goat. I am only stating my own opinion which is contrary to yours. I am fairly cynical overall, but when it comes to one of the few passions I have in RL and someone as capable as Gould even with his immense ego and agendas at times, I feel he too has a genuine love of the game and its overall growth and development.

I can't see anyone else with his pedigree taking on this massive task to get the game up off the ground and actually push back the steady infiltration and growth of AFL in all our RL backyards. He at least has the ear of the most powerful man in RL at the moment in V'Landys and together they may work out a good way to use the limited funds the NRL has to grow the pie at grass roots level here, the Pacific Islands and NZ as they have already stated.

As for leaving the Panthers in a bad state, what? If he had left them in a bad state how on earth would they be leading the comp just over a season after he left? Sure some of his hiring and firing look weird to say the least from the outside, but we don't know for sure all the circumstances do we? I for one could not understand why on earth he sacked Ivan Cleary in the first place, who to the contrary of many here I rate him and always have very highly.

But his junior development and pathways are producing quality players, are they not? I mean they have lost so many quality players in the last 3 years or so and yet they are still replacing all those players with quality that has seen them take the lead in the competition now for the last to weeks. So hardly the failure or disaster there mate as much as you would like to paint one.

As for the Dragons, how does he get the rap for their years of failure. Just because the fans don't like that he didn't recommend Mary's sacking? Well he wasn't tasked with that and no one knows exactly what he recommended anyway. Maybe they took on board Gould's recommendations, maybe not or maybe some and not others. Who knows, but hardly his fault for them being crap.

So again, this post is not one trying to convince you of anything. It is more me trying to set the record straight over all the negative baggers that delight in whinging and criticising at the drop of a hat people they just don't like for whatever reason. Yeah, Gould can be polarizing, but he can also be brilliant. So I want and am willing to give the brilliant Gould time to do what has been desperately needed for decades to restore the game at all the lower levels. If he stuffs it up well then he would of tried and failed, but at least someone tried. At the moment no one is doing anything different so we are slowly sinking in a forever expanding and very stormy AFL sea.

Maybe you should stick to your "slow news day" comment. It seems to be more your speed. :)

TheRam

I also agree with this pole. Gould himself has already stated that he is not interested in rule changes or referee changes. They are superficial changes and not his passion or a major priority, which I also agree with.

But you have boneheads like Gallen on 100% Footy going off at him that referees, the bunker and the 6 again rule are the most pressing and important things and that Gould should step in and fix them. WHAT?!!!

Gould dismissed the overture as I said as superficial and not a major concern or priority. What boneheads like Gallen don't realise or understand is that there is a monster at our door named AFL and it is bashing as hard as it can to bring it down and the house along with it. Gould gets it, because for one he doesn't live in a bubble and two he has worked right across all aspects of the game and has seen first hand at all levels from, juniors, to club-land, to politics, to media how our game is travelling versus how the AFL work to buy and conquer.

We have been steadily losing this battle and no amount of spin is going to change this. Look at the ratings this year. For the first time in history the AFL ratings are discernibly better then the NRL's. Why when by all accounts and even AFL pundits, the AFL product(game) has been generally crap this season and by all account the RL has been great? Sure more then usual blowouts may be a factor, but if their product is so crappy even in their own opinion, why the greater viewership?

The problem is multiple. These ratings figures have been coming for a while. If we don't shore up the foundations of the game then 10-20 years from now, the majority of Australia won't care. Most will say this is hyperbole, but that is exactly how you lose the war.

84 Baby

I also agree with this pole. Gould himself has already stated that he is not interested in rule changes or referee changes. They are superficial changes and not his passion or a major priority, which I also agree with.

But you have boneheads like Gallen on 100% Footy going off at him that referees, the bunker and the 6 again rule are the most pressing and important things and that Gould should step in and fix them. WHAT?!!!

Gould dismissed the overture as I said as superficial and not a major concern or priority. What boneheads like Gallen don't realise or understand is that there is a monster at our door named AFL and it is bashing as hard as it can to bring it down and the house along with it. Gould gets it, because for one he doesn't live in a bubble and two he has worked right across all aspects of the game and has seen first hand at all levels from, juniors, to club-land, to politics, to media how our game is travelling versus how the AFL work to buy and conquer.

We have been steadily losing this battle and no amount of spin is going to change this. Look at the ratings this year. For the first time in history the AFL ratings are discernibly better then the NRL's. Why when by all accounts and even AFL pundits, the AFL product(game) has been generally crap this season and by all account the RL has been great? Sure more then usual blowouts may be a factor, but if their product is so crappy even in their own opinion, why the greater viewership?

The problem is multiple. These ratings figures have been coming for a while. If we don't shore up the foundations of the game then 10-20 years from now, the majority of Australia won't care. Most will say this is hyperbole, but that is exactly how you lose the war.
*Pole

TheRam

yet you post a ridiculously long post trying to convince me

go figure
Like I said I posted it not for your sake but for the record of what I think. You know on a forum for RL and expression of thoughts and ideas. But I expected you to say that and make it all about yourself. Go figure.