Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 Rabbitohs Rumours, Signings And News

Jim Rockford

Adam is a whole of league player, massive icon.

i think the club made a mistake, but it’s done.

If he speaks unkindly about the club, it detracts from his stature, is negative and won’t fix anything.

Lots of people vilifying Jai tonight. He made a bad mistake, but I’m over the hate.

I’ve lost friends on the forum trying to show some compassion.

Tigers back in the mix for Pangai as of a short time ago. Mmm. Overs of course!
I'm really rooting for the Tigers to get their act together purely for you Phantom (actually for my Brother-In-Law as well as he's a big Tigers man). You're a good guy and you need to get some happiness supporting your team.

Travitoh

@Jim & @ Trav

Both make good points, but each individual player in question needs to be considered differently, not just a blanket position of "we don't offer contracts to over 30s for longer than one year"

With Adam, I think he deserved to be given what he was asking for as a minimum - 2 more years. If he is such a risk of breaking down, and not delivering, why did he garner interest from 3 other clubs prepared to give him his minimum ask? One club signed him for more than his minimum ask - good luck to him.

With Gagai, his experience, his position, and relative health, combined with the chemistry he has been building with that whole left side, you have to consider, is a 2 year deal really gonna be such a risk to the club? Particularly when there is no real obvious replacement currently within the ranks.

With Cody, one could argue (and Greg Alexander and Braith Anasta, and Mick Ennis have done exactly that) that Cody is the one behind the play, the potency, the threat of the whole Souths attack, and is the most key player to almost all of that being unlocked. He started 1st grade relatively late (26), hasn't gone through the physicality that someone like Adam has endured, and with Cody, it's not so much his speed is the key, it's his vision, guile, and ball playing ability that is keys to that play. That just doesn't drop off a cliff just because he is 31, or 32, or even 33. Cronk was still able to do that @ 36.

On Sutton, he had a major decline toward the end of his 5 year contract, and hadn't really been a dominant player for a number of years. This, plus the money he had been on, plus the cap situation with Sam, and GI, Adam etc, meant no way he was going to be offered big or long term deals. At that time, many were hoping he'd just retire. He started taking one year deals, because it's likely no one else would off e r better. To his credit, he completely turned around his impact and form during those one year deals. It's just not comparing apples with apples when talking about Sutto and Reyno contract positions.
Gagai's next deal begins at 31 years of age. 2 years is fair but i wouldn't want to see the club giving him more.

Cody is 31 now, contracted for next season and will be 33 at the start of his next contract. A 1 year deal on good money is a fair offer for both parties, a deserving offer. It isn't disloyal, it isn't pushing him out. Cody has held the club ransom over contract demands in the past as is his right. It's the clubs turn to return the favour. Afterall, does he even have a professional career if it's not for the club taking a punt on him at 26? At what point does Cody show loyalty to the club by allowing them the cap flexibility of 1 year deals?

Reynolds i believe should've gotten 2-3 years. He'll start next season at 30, is captain of the club and a premiership winning halfback with the club. Not finding a way to offer a second year is a poor decision by the club IMO.

I wonder how much of that was racked up during those two massacres against the Storm and Penrith?
But yeah, this needs to improve, the 2nd half of the Tigers game wasn't good. We also need to stop the offload better than we do.
Not stopping offloads has been an issue for a few years still not fixed.

BotanyBorn&Bred

Gagai's next deal begins at 31 years of age. 2 years is fair but i wouldn't want to see the club giving him more.

Cody is 31 now, contracted for next season and will be 33 at the start of his next contract. A 1 year deal on good money is a fair offer for both parties, a deserving offer. It isn't disloyal, it isn't pushing him out. Cody has held the club ransom over contract demands in the past as is his right. It's the clubs turn to return the favour. Afterall, does he even have a professional career if it's not for the club taking a punt on him at 26? At what point does Cody show loyalty to the club by allowing them the cap flexibility of 1 year deals?

Reynolds i believe should've gotten 2-3 years. He'll start next season at 30, is captain of the club and a premiership winning halfback with the club. Not finding a way to offer a second year is a poor decision by the club IMO.
Fair enough.
I agree with you on almost all of this. On Cody, we'll have to agree to disagree. I think Cody should get two, he's arguably in top 3 of the most important players in the squad, by a long way from the rest. He's not injury prone, and can easily do another 2 years., even on the same money he is on now. If we don't, another team definitely will, and maybe pay more.

BotanyBorn&Bred

I just want to point out that giving Cody a 3 year deal at 33 isn't a very big risk. You only have to look at Benji tonight. 36 years old and still killing it. Absolutely no reason why Cody can't do the same.
His age is not really gonna affect the way he plays.
I'm definitely giving him 2 + 1 option.
Also, how many teams would kill to have a playmaker like that @ $650K per season? It's a bargain in my eyes.

callmack1

Welch, Bennett say Arrow will learn from breach fallout: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/07/09/he-knows-he-has-let-everyone-down-welch-on-arrow-breach/

Big call to be made on Arrow’s Origin future after Covid breach: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...s/news-story/f2fcb3f67042ec933b9bd84cc9850c55

Peter V'landys warns more player breaches could leave NRL in 'disarray': https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/peter-...outbreak/3c0b7cfd-e43d-49f4-80c9-29a9dc7ee5d9

'Threat of moving competition is imminent' for NRL amid Sydney outbreak: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/nrl-le...eensland/49ea386a-b054-461a-8b41-76e7a64c00e4

Was a rumour today that we were chasing Drew Hutchinson. If I’m being honest Hutcho to replace Reyno lol He isn’t good enough to tie Reyno’s shoe laces.

Fact of the matter is we won’t just be able to replace Reyno like this. My mate sent me a message an hour ago ticketed member like me has been for years and this is what he said:

“the more i see of this comp the more i wont be able to take seeing reyno i another jersey and i can firmly say Walker wouldnt be what he is without Reyno. If we dont win it this year we will be waiting a while again”.

I think he’s nailed that! Cody does what he does off the back of what Reyno does you can’t just replace that combo. Anyone who thinks you can just like that is fair dinkum nuts!

To those that say get over Reyno going etc.... I realise his goneski.

Like my mate says and I agree we come back to the field a bit without Reyno and his game management I believe our window also closes for a little while after this year.

And you watch Cody get criticised for not being quite as good without Reyno, it won’t surprise me. Reyno gives Cody the time and space for him to perform his magic. How some do not see this I’m at a loss to explain! So I certainly won’t be criticising Cody if he dips a bit next year.

Jim Rockford

If that is true that we are chasing Hutchinson it makes a total mockery of the claim we are letting Reyno go because we have gun juniors ready to step in and take his place. I just want the club to be truthful with us fans. We might not like every decision but me personally that's far better than being mislead.

callmack1

ARLC announces 12 clubs relocating to Queensland due to COVID spike: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...-relocating-to-queensland-due-to-covid-spike/

Rabbitohs set for a one month Southeast Queensland move: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...et-for-a-one-month-southeast-queensland-move/

Wow, this is huge news. Completely packing up and moving for one month, maybe even more is something that I'm sure won't be easy for our players and all other players in the NRL but I guess it must be done. Never before in our club's history have we been forced to relocate but I guess this is just our turn. Other clubs like the Warriors and Storm have made sacrifices to keep the comp going so now it's our turn and we must do our part.

Of course, it's bound to effect everyone a little but our players and staff can't let it effect them too much, it has to be a business as usual approach.

This is where it's so lucky that we're the Rabbitohs. Souths are probably the most well supported NSW club in Queensland and we always have great support at games in Brisbane, the Gold Coast and the Sunshine Coast. So I'm not really too fussed where we play out of as we'll have good support everywhere which will make the boys feel as at home as possible.

callmack1

Was a rumour today that we were chasing Drew Hutchinson. If I’m being honest Hutcho to replace Reyno lol He isn’t good enough to tie Reyno’s shoe laces.

Fact of the matter is we won’t just be able to replace Reyno like this. My mate sent me a message an hour ago ticketed member like me has been for years and this is what he said:

“the more i see of this comp the more i wont be able to take seeing reyno i another jersey and i can firmly say Walker wouldnt be what he is without Reyno. If we dont win it this year we will be waiting a while again”.

I think he’s nailed that! Cody does what he does off the back of what Reyno does you can’t just replace that combo. Anyone who thinks you can just like that is fair dinkum nuts!

To those that say get over Reyno going etc.... I realise his goneski.

Like my mate says and I agree we come back to the field a bit without Reyno and his game management I believe our window also closes for a little while after this year.

And you watch Cody get criticised for not being quite as good without Reyno, it won’t surprise me. Reyno gives Cody the time and space for him to perform his magic. How some do not see this I’m at a loss to explain! So I certainly won’t be criticising Cody if he dips a bit next year.
Oh hell no to him please!!!

I don't think it's true though, hasn't he recently re-signed with the Chooks?