Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 Rabbitohs State Of Origin

callmack1

Give me 10 - Late bloomer Cook hits Blue milestone: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/03/give-me-10-late-bloomer-cook-hits-blue-milestone/

Didn't really think of this as being Cookie's 10th Origin match but that's a decent milestone. Congrats to him!!

Why do you hate the other state?: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/03/why-do-you-hate-the-other-state/

Renouf - How Maroons can centre attack on Blues' defensive weakness: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/03...an-centre-attack-on-blues-defensive-weakness/

Maroons wary of how rule rejig will affect Origin: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/03/maroons-wary-of-how-rule-rejig-will-affect-origin/

Queensland’s Jaydn Su’A has a point to prove to Wayne Bennett when he runs out for the Maroons: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...s/news-story/9bb980604c48f9bb2e7c230b72465425

Origin LIVE - ‘Good luck Queensland’ — Freddy fires warning over big Blues weakness: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...n/news-story/292bd9bc310442aa87d84b7518da5d3d

Townsville may force major rethink on Origin venues, Darren Lockyer says: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...-lockyer/9d2463e0-3278-4425-8931-244ea2f93dfb

'Nothing to worry about' - Tom Trbojevic plays down injury scare at Blues camp: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/nsw-or...ues-camp/a8f8476c-19b2-49ad-a652-c99a5609d9fa

callmack1

'Not the UFC' - V'landys warning to feuding enforcers ahead of State of Origin opener: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...ui-fight/44707e8a-decc-4028-8c2d-993828790009

Darren Lockyer's big reveal over injured Maroons stars Cameron Munster, Harry Grant: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...ury-news/0e79d2ce-eb35-43d9-8c61-4bb155cb6b8c

Targeting To'o - Risks and rewards of kicking at NSW 'nightmare': https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/03/targeting-too-risks-and-rewards-of-kicking-at-nsw-nightmare/

callmack1

Latrell happy to be Blue: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/04/latrell-happy-to-be-blue/

Blues clues - The NSW plan for almost any scenario: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/04/blues-clues-the-nsw-plan-for-almost-any-scenario/

Munster a certainty but Gagai illness adds further mystery: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/04...agai-illness-adds-further-mystery-to-maroons/

Origin LIVE - Maroons’ massive Munster boost as utility trains; Turbo’s new Blues role: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...n/news-story/292bd9bc310442aa87d84b7518da5d3d

Townsville cashes in on Origin as tents erected after hotels up room prices by 1380 per cent: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...s/news-story/965f78bfec95531dbb3f0c02314392eb

Andrew Johns sees through Queensland smoke screen over fullback selection: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...-maroons/6968a42b-0902-4a77-a99c-4865e88d5de4

callmack1

'He tore us to shreds' - Murray tasked with Operation Fifita: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/05/he-tore-us-to-shreds-murray-tasked-with-operation-fifita/

Su'A reflects on Origin debut: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/05/sua-reflects-on-origin-debut/

Gagai fights tonsillitis ahead of Origin series opener: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/06/gagai-fights-tonsillitis-ahead-of-origin-series-opener/

Cameron Murray didn’t know if he’d be picked for Origin. Now, he’s bunking with his ‘role model’: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/a36598dffcb95bda4df34d96ca712319

Andrew Johns calls for Sunday night State of Origin experiment to be scrapped: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...radition/39a9bbc2-f478-4cbd-8056-cdbd433bc053

Billy Slater believes NSW will have one major advantage in Townsville over MCG: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...than-mcg/9bf15670-e72b-4b0e-a964-695b175aa20c

callmack1

Origin LIVE - ‘90 per cent’, Munster lifts lid on his and Maroons teammate’s fitness: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...s/news-story/15cbebf20de93630a5f793f0174d2168

Phil Gould urges Brad Fittler to pick and stick with NSW Blues rookies with squad in 'transition': https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/phil-g...ansition/36bdb6cc-3110-4c4a-b2b5-1c8ddae2d8a7

'Brutally honest' Phil Gould hits Blues with frightening warning ahead of State of Origin opener: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/news-2...-munster/fec5e6f9-7c01-4768-947a-5987ea10dfdb

Crushing James Tedesco injury blow in 2020 decider behind Brad Fittler's thinking in picking Blues team: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...m-martin/d15498df-162a-47a0-875f-d84069172022

callmack1

Su'A sledgehammer tackles show physicality far from dead: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/07/sua-sledgehammer-tackles-show-physicality-far-from-dead/

No milking - Cherry-Evans calls for gentleman's agreement: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/07/cherry-evans-calls-for-gentlemans-agreement/

Nine months since Grant played 80 but DCE backs rake to go distance: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/07...-played-80-but-dce-backs-rake-to-go-distance/

Origin LIVE - Maroons skipper calls for ‘gentlemen’s agreement’ over high contact milking: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...e/news-story/428e8c2f2732e1ff4cd1e6bff59f5d05

Paul Gallen whacks Maroons over see-through Origin mind games: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...n-column/53ad76cc-675d-4f3a-a3a7-4fa4ef466e72

callmack1

Test-case scenario - Cleary threatens DCE's hold on Kangaroos jersey: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/08...eary-threatens-dces-hold-on-kangaroos-jersey/

New era starts now - Arrow targets sustained success for young Maroons: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/08...-targets-sustained-success-for-young-maroons/

Cook - Origin's big stage is where Latrell belongs: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/08/cook-origins-big-stage-is-where-latrell-belongs/

Double sell-out - Full house locked in for first two Origins: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/05/24/everything-you-need-to-know-ampol-state-of-origin-2021/

Why jury’s out on ‘great’ Cleary as ‘final frontier’ awaits Blues star: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...r/news-story/23d152b5a8987f3addc1b812a32821ef

Origin LIVE - Gagai’s hospital stint revealed, Maroons confirm Holmes and Brimson’s roles: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...e/news-story/428e8c2f2732e1ff4cd1e6bff59f5d05

Phil Gould slams Queensland's 'arrogance' in lead-up to State of Origin opener: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...ben-hunt/e59e0729-4a60-4d22-b39b-be1bb24c5d93

Why Nathan Cleary holds the Origin edge over rival halfback Daly Cherry-Evans: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...ome-luai/5b201d77-2b50-40c7-9649-8c03c8063d7d

Green declares Blues 'a better team than us': https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...ositions/f3d033d3-6434-4ef7-8f34-999e0b516a59

callmack1

Well here we are, the first of three Christmas days for us Footy fans. That's right, it's Origin game day!! Always love this time of year and I have to say, I've never been this pumped for a series I don't think. The past few years I've expected it to be a walk over to the Blues. In the years before that, a walk over to Queensland. This year, i really feel like it's anyone's series and that's a great feeling!!

I'm obviously a Kiwi but I absolutely love Origin and get right into it, my whole family does. Three of the best nights each year. I go for Queensland but am obviously not as passionate about them as Souths, however that's who I cheer for. I'll also be cheering for all our Rabbitohs on the park tonight.

We make a night of it in my house, Pizza for dinner, beer in hand and chips on the table. Friends and family packing the lounge room and that'll be the case again tonight.

My tip is Queensland by 2.

I feel we're in for a big one. Soak it up and in the words of Gus Gould, enjoy your Origin Football!!

callmack1

A lot of articles tonight so skip the next few posts if you're not interested.

Green fears 'innocuous' contact deciding Origin: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/08/green-fears-innocuous-contact-deciding-origin/

No gentleman’s agreement - Green, Fittler have final word before Origin I: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/08...reen-fittler-have-final-word-before-origin-i/

Smile and swagger - The new, improved Latrell back in Blue: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/08/smile-and-swagger-the-new-improved-latrell-back-in-blue/

Clever tactics can help Fifita dominate - Maroons greats: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/09...-fifita-dominate-origin-arena-maroons-greats/

From teammates to rivals - Gagai and Latrell set to face off: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/09/from-teammates-to-rivals-gagai-and-latrell-set-to-face-off/

Munster Magic - Blues search for ways to stop Maroons master: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/08/munster-magic-blues-search-for-ways-to-stop-maroons-master/

Latrell's Origin return two years in the making: https://www.nrl.com/news/2021/06/09/latrells-origin-return-two-years-in-the-making/

callmack1

‘Will he get that passion out of them?’ - The big unknown that could decide Origin: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...n/news-story/663187fbfdc0c80e28702593103d7188

‘For f***’s sake’ - Bennett’s spray that sparked Munster magic in Origin decider: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...t/news-story/82901d048c9b1ae071ccf739095b0f1a

‘No way’ - Cameron Smith’s ‘promise’ as he rubbishes claims of gentlemen’s agreement: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...h/news-story/c924d30690d5c81c511df02278443c10

‘Keep the fabric of Origin clean’ - Mal says NSW, QLD stars should pledge allegiance to Aus: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...s/news-story/fb2781e4b72cad2ee13e88f60d16953c

Origin LIVE - Fittler plots late Blues backline shake-up as Maroons torched for ‘arrogance’: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/a3a42cab2724f828f5ddbbc6851b5a96

Andrew Johns says 'embarrassing rubbish' could decide State of Origin: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...de-match/0f3a31f5-24ad-44fa-ab74-ed35fd6b485a

Cameron Munster 'terrifies' me, says Andrew Johns, ahead of State of Origin opener: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/state-...ew-johns/1c68c56d-83da-45c6-8695-ce179967d0db

BotanyBorn&Bred

Man the pace and speed of this game is unbelievable, credit to these players, the fitness to sustain the play at this pace is a real testament.

NSW Bunnies:
Latrell has been superb, looks really dangerous in attack and his D is really strong
Cookie has been very good with strong D and good running, including one really good line break.
Cam Murray, very very good, completely shut down Fifita. Great to see he didn't take s#!+ from that wanker Munster after the bell.

The other NSW boys:
They've all been really good, the Penriff boys, Sims, Saifiti, Tommy special shout outs

QLD Bunnies:
Jai steady and strong behind a pack that is on the back foot.
Gags doing what he can under pressure, dealing with Latrell, not getting much help from Kafusi
SuA not much as I expected

Murray could be out this weekend I think.

Su’a will get suspended for the shoulder charge.

This is what I hate about origin.

BotanyBorn&Bred

Murray could be out this weekend I think.

Su’a will get suspended for the shoulder charge.

This is what I hate about origin.
Murray came back on so he should be OK.

It was Capewell with the shoulder hit on Murray. He should have been binned at the minimum, or sent off. After all the talk by the hierarchy about head shots, and Origin being no different, they s#!+ themselves. I wanna see now how serious they are, because by previous rulings, that is at least 2 weeks suspension

Murray came back on so he should be OK.

It was Capewell with the shoulder hit on Murray. He should have been binned at the minimum, or sent off. After all the talk by the hierarchy about head shots, and Origin being no different, they s#!+ themselves. I wanna see now how serious they are, because by previous rulings, that is at least 2 weeks suspension
Mate it was Feldt.

Murray did return after going off tonight he passed the HIA but then came off 6mins after coming back on. I’m not sure if that was due to a planned Fittler sub or if Murray all of a sudden felt off or dizzy or something.

I reckon Trell will back up as he just had 4 weeks off recently. Su’a hasn’t been charged so is free to play. If Murray is out we might see Su’a start and Koloamatangi to lock.

Cookie will back up I think but Benji will come on for him with around 20mins to go I reckon.

Feldt only got fined for that high shot on Murray. What pisses me off is Murray our most important player probably won’t be able to play and Feldt can play this weekend. Bloody bullshit if you ask me!