Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Rnd 1 Panthers V Manly 10th March 2022 Penrith Park

I've been around , Its a pity you have too.
Poor old Jim Rockford never did quite recover once you took him under your wing .
You've got to play the long game in this place. 😂
I quite liked him.

I asked him to chill but he wore his heart on his sleeve.

I don’t know whether he left voluntarily or was rubbed out by High Command or a mod.

Maybe @callmack knows?

The_Frog

That no try decision was ridiculous. The only penalty that could have been given was for a shepherd but To'o realised that and returned back to the sideline. Never was an obstruction.
You had Jake on the other side of Luai, but he was just as mesmerised as everyone else. He had Tom between him and Brian as well. And the bunker clearly said it was Tom who was obstructed.

betcats

That no try decision was ridiculous. The only penalty that could have been given was for a shepherd but To'o realised that and returned back to the sideline. Never was an obstruction.

Yep normally if there is an obstruction the players will be appealing for it Turbo didnt even look at the ref after Brian got the ball down he obviously didnt think it was an obstruction.

Panfa

T'oo no try was embarrassing but guess who the bunker official was yep Ashley I hate penrith klein.Thoughts on last night's game all the penrith players stood up i don't expect any changes to the lineup for next week except maybe if leota is out through injury.I think the problem with manly is there centre pairing and keiran the hog foran.Its too early to write anyone off only rd 1 but I'm not so sure about top 4 for them I have us storm roosters parra top 4 this yr.Manly had a very favourable draw last season.

Outstanding performance, couldn’t be happier. The score line doesn’t reflect our total dominance.

MOM toss up between Yeo and Edwards.

Agree. Only guy I was slightly dissapointed in was big Spencer. At this stage he just looks like an average prop. I kind of was expecting a guy who was origin quality. Of course he is very young and by end of the season he may well be. Just sometimes he seems to run sideways rather then straight and hard which I don't get.

Manly missing Alioi,Schuster and D.Walker. They don't change tthe result but would add quite a bit to the side. I can't write them off yet from just one game. Best to judge at round 10.

Penrith look the side to beat. But it is early. I did see enough however to suggest they will give it one hell of a shake and a great chance if all fit to go back to back.

Let's see come rmd 10 how the rest of the comp is looking.

Speaking of Tommy T, where was he tonight? The alleged best player in the world against the premiers in round 1 and he was invisible.

Manly had 40% of the ball and barely got out of own half. Their forwards where destroyed. What would you expect him to do?

Agree. Only guy I was slightly dissapointed in was big Spencer. At this stage he just looks like an average prop. I kind of was expecting a guy who was origin quality. Of course he is very young and by end of the season he may well be. Just sometimes he seems to run sideways rather then straight and hard which I don't get.

Manly missing Alioi,Schuster and D.Walker. They don't change tthe result but would add quite a bit to the side. I can't write them off yet from just one game. Best to judge at round 10.

Penrith look the side to beat. But it is early. I did see enough however to suggest they will give it one hell of a shake and a great chance if all fit to go back to back.

Let's see come rmd 10 how the rest of the comp is looking.
There was criticism at work today that the score wasn’t greater.

the workplace mom was Sully by a mile.

As Girdler said they are flat track bullies

They are better then plenty of sides. Not as good as the best few. Unsure that's a flat track bully. There just not at Penriths level yet. I'm still not prepared to dismiss them. They'll bounce back. They played poorly

Smug Panther

They are better then plenty of sides. Not as good as the best few. Unsure that's a flat track bully. There just not at Penriths level yet. I'm still not prepared to dismiss them. They'll bounce back. They played poorly
Manly and Parra are similar level. Parra more consistent, Manly higher ceiling with Turbo

Penrith looked more natural with SOS in the halves then when Burton tried to steer them around. Not that he is anywhere near Burton's class. But he didn't overplay his hand and kept things simple. Let the game flow. Burton at times clogged up the attack I felt.
I think perhaps you’re overplaying your hand with this call hindy.

Only one of these players may reach Immortal status.

Burto is one of the greatest young players I’ve ever seen.

Vicpanther

i just have to add staines impressed me. Rarely got driven back and had some venom in his runs. The off season did him well.
Have said for a long time tago will slot in perfectly fine the kid will be a quality player.

Vicpanther

Penrith looked more natural with SOS in the halves then when Burton tried to steer them around. Not that he is anywhere near Burton's class. But he didn't overplay his hand and kept things simple. Let the game flow. Burton at times clogged up the attack I felt.
Burto let it get to him and tried to much. SOS just played it as it is.

Manly and Parra are similar level. Parra more consistent, Manly higher ceiling with Turbo

Parras strong point is a huge physical pack. That is what beat the Storm x 2 last season and kept them within 1-2 points everytime they played Penrith. If they get 50% of the ball Parra are a chance to beat you also. They base their game on choking you out and bashing the opponents upfront. Its a big side.

Manly are far more explosive then Parra. They have flair. It is just higher risk footy. If they get more then their even share of the ball and passes stick they can rack up 20 points in the blink of an eye. Problem is when passes don't stick they aren't able to get into the grind as easily and forwards aren't dominant. So they can leak points.

Last season Eels struggled against fast backlines. Sivo,Opacic and Fergo to slow. Penisni,Sorrenson,Russel are very fast. It changes dynamics. But those two wingers aren't meter eaters either. But I imagine it gives them better balance defending.

Why I wouldn't write of Manly is if they get to finals they won't try and play it safe. They will throw it around and hope its a dry track. If passes stick they are a knock out chance. In finals last year they bombed heaps of tries against Souths where the final pass didn't stick. They then dug a big hole and imploded. They still caused Souths heaps of dramas when they had the ball.

I am most interested in how Salmon develops. He has a wicked step. I reckon they could mould him into a Wade Graheme style

I think perhaps you’re overplaying your hand with this call hindy.

Only one of these players may reach Immortal status.

Burto is one of the greatest young players I’ve ever seen.

Agree. SOS is just a handy back up.

But we need to see more of Burton. Ash Taylor looked like the next Alfi Langer in his first 2 seasons.
Tim Smith holds the record for most TAs in a season. And he was in his rookie year.

Opposition need time to work out a players strengths and try and eliminate them. And then try and find if they have any weaknesses. At this point sides have not had the chance to do this on Burton. It becomes a different game for him once they do. He will need to adjust it.