Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Rnd 1 Panthers V Manly 10th March 2022 Penrith Park

living in Penrith while being a supporter of another club is like 1 country invading another (jokes)
I don’t actually live in Penrith, but spend ample time there and surrounds. I make do. The Northern Road M4 works is looking good and the hospital precinct is really taking off.
Kingswood could be the new Paris of the west in time.

Not much interest in the forwards from the panel today, so I will post up my own ratings up after work tonight. Hopefully further the debate.

Aliceinwonderland

Can you please move along and stop abusing me please.bal

As I explained yesterday Silverdale......I am posting my opinion, backed up by facts. In this case, facts from the club itself.

Cleary held his final word presser this afternoon, thanking the ground staffs for their hard work in preparing an excellant surface.

The nrl obviously agrees. Transferring numerous games to this venue on Saturday.

If you call that being abusive....I can't help you.

As I explained yesterday Silverdale......I am posting my opinion, backed up by facts. In this case, facts from the club itself.

Cleary held his final word presser this afternoon, thanking the ground staffs for their hard work in preparing an excellant surface.

The nrl obviously agrees. Transferring numerous games to this venue on Saturday.

If you call that being abusive....I can't help you.
Can you please leave me alone and stop stalking me.

I don’t want anything to do with you because of your personal abuse of me.

Please move along and bully someone else.

Please focus on the game and discuss with others.

murraymob

All comes down to feild position.thd trial against parra had us coming out of our try line all game them starting on there 20 . This is my concern .osullivan has yet to show he can kick more than 20 to 30 meters

soc123_au

All comes down to feild position.thd trial against parra had us coming out of our try line all game them starting on there 20 . This is my concern .osullivan has yet to show he can kick more than 20 to 30 meters
I'm wondering if Edwards would be an option for a bit of long kicking. He nailed that 2 point field goal last year, so he has a decent boot on him.

Iamback

Piggybacks was the issue more so then kicing game then

I'm wondering if Edwards would be an option for a bit of long kicking. He nailed that 2 point field goal last year, so he has a decent boot on him.
Only for pure defence.

I’d rather a more enigmatic player at the back with Turbo lurking.

Im thinking of the post-Dylan world and I see Brian.

They could swap positions at different times of the match.

soc123_au

Only for pure defence.

I’d rather a more enigmatic player at the back with Turbo lurking.

Im thinking of the post-Dylan world and I see Brian.

They could swap positions at different times of the match.
You're overthinking it, I'm purely talking about getting him to hoik it downfield if we are stuck in our own end while Nathan is still out. I imagine he is capable of kicking it 60 metres down the other end if needed.

Smug Panther

And he kicks it twice as far as Luai

O’ Sullivan must be a feint. Cannon fodder

My bet is that he doesn’t play and if he does, it will be over pretty quickly.

Martin will have to baby-sit him leaving his own zone in peril. Can’t risk him on the wing.

Whoever signed O’Sullivan when the best Colt half remains unsigned should be hung, drawn and quartered.

Cory Norman has ten times the class

Anyway, if he plays, his duties will thankfully be reduced to feeding the ball into the scrum and running away.

There’s a certain inhumanity about chucking him into this match. He scored 2 tries last year from 13 games. He’s basically incompetent.
Not his fault.

But whatever ye old classic smug plan, it’s gone out the window. So it will be interesting to see what Ivan cooks up.

If you can beat this Manly side, it will be a miracle! I know you’re not used to this, but it’s going to be very tough.

soc123_au

O’ Sullivan must be a feint. Cannon fodder

My bet is that he doesn’t play and if he does, it will be over pretty quickly.

Martin will have to baby-sit him leaving his own zone in peril. Can’t risk him on the wing.

Whoever signed O’Sullivan when the best Colt half remains unsigned should be hung, drawn and quartered.

Cory Norman has ten times the class

Anyway, if he plays, his duties will thankfully be reduced to feeding the ball into the scrum and running away.

There’s a certain inhumanity about chucking him into this match. He scored 2 tries last year from 13 games. He’s basically incompetent.
Not his fault.
All that, yet still better than Brooks.

Aliceinwonderland

Sean O'Sullivan Australian schoolboy. Won an SG ball trophy. He's not a flog.

I Think he'll do really well filling in for Nathan.

I believe that the trial loss won't hurt Penrith at all. Probably good for them actually. Brought them back to earth with a thud.

It's not going to be easy, but I think Penrith can win.

Penrith have won without Cleary in the past, against teams like Melbourne, the chooks among others.
I won't be donning the sack cloth and singing viking dirge yet.

All that, yet still better than Brooks.
Ahem…try to stay on topic please!

Moving on, I’ve had the opportunity to assess the respective forward packs and on my reckoning we have two very different types.

Firstly, there can be no denying that the skill set and panache of the Panthera is much higher and they will try to deploy these in a faster type of game. More ball players, more sophisticated interaction and Api. Yeo is an enormous presence to strap them together. On his day, when he hits his on button, Kiks can be the best player in the game. But he’s often very lazy. You dumped him at the right time.

The Manly forwards, they present as little more than large lumps of raw meat. Looking at the kilos, they are so big and robust, it’s almost like they have the strength of another forward with them at no extra cost.

Looking at the benches, the same seems to hold true, except more poundage with the Sea Eagles.

Head to head, it’s really going to be whether or not you can exploit their edges, but all that done, you are very light on in the backs, having to rely on almost children. Very young with virtually no games behind them.

Plus I thought Garrick was one of the games most improved players last year. I’m enjoying his rise. A authentic punk having a red hot go, I’m all for him and he’s heading for rep squads.

The other X factor is no Nate. The security blanket as gone. He was a good defender and up for a wrestle. How will the boys handle that? His composure and spiral kicks of death are no longer.

Unless you run the sea Eagles ragged, you might have a solid 50 or 60 minutes in you of effort, before the parting of the heads and the Manly ball players start piling on the points.

How many can they put on in final 20 minutes or will the Panther players bodies remember the gruelling finals and stay the distance? The invisible giant paw that lifts the group!

Everyone was supposed to fall apart and collapse in the finals. Is the resolve still there?!

I reckon you have say 15 % of chance of winning this game.

And Des is very very hungry. Remove the doors.

Aliceinwonderland

If it's only a 15% chance of winning tonight, why don't the betting market's reflect that ?

It will be a 'dead' and 'heavy' field, which will suit Penrith and their outstanding forward pack.

This will nullify Turbo to some extent along with their 2 wingers.

An excited and pumped home ground will bring those mighty Panthers home.

A chance to play for and in front of the Penrith community.

That is priceless.