Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Squad: Gains, Losses & Re-signings.

Dragon David

A couple of interesting things I just saw from the mole ( take it with a grain of salt )

Marvoni Tuifua the young tigers gun has signed with the Bulldogs

And our very own young back rower Shalom O’ofou is set to leave the club to join the Tigers
I will take it with a grain of salt Big Rig, but if true about Shalom, will this lead to other of our promising junior players doing the same?

I'm concerned that while we are getting outside forwards, we need to get some mileage by using some of the younger ones much sooner than later to see there actual potential.

I like the idea of bigger and younger guys coming in to the squad to displace smaller and older guys that should not have been signed.

I'm also concerned that when you look at our top 19, there doesn't appear to be much to threaten any of the other clubs in the comp. Why hasn't this been addressed? We need a couple of players with speed and a game breaker and tough "get out of my way" forwards who can tackle hard and have off loads.

Just dreaming I guess!!

thebigredv

It just seems to me players have cottoned on the fact that they can increase their status and success but sticking with a select few clubs. More players than ever willing to take a pay cut to stay in a good system - namely storm roosters rabbits panthers. They can maintain more perceived value by sticking around better players.

Conversely, look at how Hunt went after the big bucks and suffered so long in a poor system along side a lot of average players. He'd be set for life if he had opted for a club like the bunnies and half the pressure and expectation. He managed to rise above this year with a better coach but has been much maligned.

Every time a decent player comes on the market he is linked to the roosters whereas we have to fight for off cuts. The only way I see this improving for us if other clubs like sharks, knight, titans, bulldogs start challenging the better teams and the comp evens out again. Not sure, but I think that makes sense.

BLM01

Now you’re just being ridiculous 😂😂
Am I....maybe... watch this space.
I just had a guess for OT but dont be surprised to see 1 of those 3.
But Alvaro and Poasa are contracted here next year so that = 27 on George Dragon's count as he had them not here unless he knows something.....🤔

redv13

Am I....maybe... watch this space.
I just had a guess for OT but dont be surprised to see 1 of those 3.
But Alvaro and Poasa are contracted here next year so that = 27 on George Dragon's count as he had them not here unless he knows something.....🤔
Sammy and Tommy

RedVDave

Quality centres are as rare as the proverbial hens teeth. Caleb Aekins is a young off contract back currently with the Raiders (ex Panthers). He hasn't lit up the capital but he had some impressive running metres with the pennies before the move. Should be cheap and may be worth a look for full-back, centre, wing utility.

No thanks his name is dangerously close to Aitken.

BBTB

It just seems to me players have cottoned on the fact that they can increase their status and success but sticking with a select few clubs. More players than ever willing to take a pay cut to stay in a good system - namely storm roosters rabbits panthers. They can maintain more perceived value by sticking around better players.

Conversely, look at how Hunt went after the big bucks and suffered so long in a poor system along side a lot of average players. He'd be set for life if he had opted for a club like the bunnies and half the pressure and expectation. He managed to rise above this year with a better coach but has been much maligned.

Every time a decent player comes on the market he is linked to the roosters whereas we have to fight for off cuts. The only way I see this improving for us if other clubs like sharks, knight, titans, bulldogs start challenging the better teams and the comp evens out again. Not sure, but I think that makes sense.
The good players,only come to the bottom 8 teams,if they pay overs. That's the Dragons included,at least the coach is ok now. But our Board,that's the problem.

I'd say Griffin's assistants aren't doing such a great job. If things don't improve then we are likely to have Dean Young knocking on the door and Graig Young opening it.

Brandon Smith offered $600k a year to stay at the Storm in a winning team.
Meanwhile we pay about $450k for Mbye to play next year with Tigers paying another $400k. Even $450k is too much for Mbye.
We need a clever recruitment officer. Griffin can't do it all on his own, especially with the squad he currently has. The idea of bringing in failed players who are subsidised because a club wants the out my work sometimes but I believe it would be the minority of times.

We need someone who can sell the merits of belonging to a proud club that is now moving in the right direction. 2022 will see a much stronger pack with the addition of Molo, Burgess, and Su'A. We still need to grab Paulo or Brown from the Eels as we are one prop short.

If our youngsters aren't ready, then an experienced player on a one-year deal is what is in order. Bird is no fullback and not a good replacement for Dufty. We need someone to take on the fullback role until one of our youngsters is ready. However, Bird could be a good partner for Hunt in the halves or with Lomax in the centres until Sullivan and Max Feagai are ready for first grade.

Rob Dragon 1

I'd say Griffin's assistants aren't doing such a great job. If things don't improve then we are likely to have Dean Young knocking on the door and Graig Young opening it.
Possm, hope you're well off the mark, but suspect you're not. If we want to reinvigorate the coaching ranks then Ben Hornby is the "one". He has gone off to a successful program and is understudy to a master coach and a decent assistant coach. As for the next "special one" Dean Young, well he has gone off to be the understudy of the fabulously credentialed.....(drum roll) TODDY PAYTON!!!! And aren't Toddy and Deano doing a super duper job up at Townsville?

If Dean Young is fair dinkum (and I suspect he spat the dummy last season by not being appointed as head coach - Earth to Dean...you were part of the coaching problem for the last several years mate); then he should have sort out positions with the Chooks, Storm, Rabbits etc. Interesting that none of those teams sort Deano out to be an assistant coach at their clubs.

And this surely is another reason that Craig Young has to go. We are all living in fairly land if we don't think Fat Alberts last gift to us will be his son Dean. That would finish me. Imagine having Dean Young as our coach is say 2023/24, after 4 successful seasons under McGregor followed by 2 cracking season under Payten. What a resume that is!

BLM01

Well there we go
Another one to our Top 30 next year that a few including me thought might not get a contract
I am OK with him staying as does show something that a few are missing and would not be expensive
Now work hard on your tacking technique and bloody stay on the field for most of the year
Maybe it’s a match payments contract as least that way he is value for money

thebigredv

Well there we go
Another one to our Top 30 next year that a few including me thought might not get a contract
I am OK with him staying as does show something that a few are missing and would not be expensive
Now work hard on your tacking technique and bloody stay on the field for most of the year
Maybe it’s a match payments contract as least that way he is value for money

2 more seasons equates to about ten games for him. Which is still more than what McGuire will be eligible for. I wouldn't be resigning anyone that went to the BBQ but that's just me.