Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Squad: Gains, Losses & Re-signings.

George Dragon

Am I....maybe... watch this space.
I just had a guess for OT but dont be surprised to see 1 of those 3.
But Alvaro and Poasa are contracted here next year so that = 27 on George Dragon's count as he had them not here unless he knows something.....🤔

I included both in my numbers so 25 is right. As you said they are both contract, I just think maybe one will be offloaded or swapped for a outside back with expirence.
I got the call on Fui wrong, his re-signing now make 26.
I would like a big name forward a experience wing/centre for our next two signings.

Dragon David

Possm, hope you're well off the mark, but suspect you're not. If we want to reinvigorate the coaching ranks then Ben Hornby is the "one". He has gone off to a successful program and is understudy to a master coach and a decent assistant coach. As for the next "special one" Dean Young, well he has gone off to be the understudy of the fabulously credentialed.....(drum roll) TODDY PAYTON!!!! And aren't Toddy and Deano doing a super duper job up at Townsville?

If Dean Young is fair dinkum (and I suspect he spat the dummy last season by not being appointed as head coach - Earth to Dean...you were part of the coaching problem for the last several years mate); then he should have sort out positions with the Chooks, Storm, Rabbits etc. Interesting that none of those teams sort Deano out to be an assistant coach at their clubs.

And this surely is another reason that Craig Young has to go. We are all living in fairly land if we don't think Fat Alberts last gift to us will be his son Dean. That would finish me. Imagine having Dean Young as our coach is say 2023/24, after 4 successful seasons under McGregor followed by 2 cracking season under Payten. What a resume that is!
Talking about Ben Hornby, Benji Marshall was praising him on NRL360 as per:

“I feel great, my role at South Sydney is one that I really enjoy. Don’t have to play 80 minutes each week, I come on and could be in any position,” Marshall said on NRL 360.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl-premiership/match-centre/NRL20212202
“On the weekend, I came on at centre and that play we put on was a Ben Hornby special, so I can’t claim it, it was something he wanted us to put on."

So in my opinion, Ben Hornby will be a future first grade head coach. I am sure that he still has got a strong bond with the Dragons particularly after winning the 2010 grand final as captain and being inducted into the Dragon's Legends Walk. He did have a stint under Mary as an assistant and as he continues to assist Bennett and Demetriou, his credentials are increasing in quality. Whether or not he will end up back at our club might depend on the man we know as Fat Albert.

BIG RIG

As of now this is who we’ve got next year

1. Adam Clune
2. Andrew McCullough
3. Ben Hunt
4. Billy Burns
5. Blake Lawrie
6. Cody Ramsey
7. Daniel Alvaro
8. Jack Bird
9. Jack De Belin
10. Jackson Ford
11. Jayden Sullivan
12. Josh Kerr
13. Josh McGuire
14. Mat Feagai
15. Max Feagai
16. Mikaele Ravalawa
17. Poasa Fa’amusili
18. Junior Amone
19. Tariq Sims
20. Tyrell Fuimaono
21. Tyrell Sloan
22. Zac Lomax
23. Jaydn Su’a
24. Francis Molo
25. George Burgess
26. Moses Mbye *

Both Billy Brittain and Gerard Beale I believe will not be Re- Signed

I haven’t included Josh Coric as I believe he will be under a development contract next yr

Not too sure what the future holds for guys like Jayden Hunt and Hayden Lomax so haven’t included them yet

I would personally like another high quality prop and another outside back

Moses Suli is reportedly in our sites so that will fit the outside back spot

But as of now we have 4 spots remaining - 5 pending the signing of Moses Mbye

That also is of course pending on any out of the blue departures ( E.g players requesting releases )

Overall I don’t think we are building that bad of of squad and I am hopeful that our next couple of signings can really round out our squad

And hopefully those signings can be potentially some pleasant suprises

Dragon David

1. Adam Clune
2. Andrew McCullough
3. Ben Hunt
4. Billy Burns
5. Blake Lawrie
6. Cody Ramsey
7. Daniel Alvaro
8. Jack Bird
9. Jack De Belin
10. Jackson Ford
11. Jayden Sullivan
12. Josh Kerr
13. Josh McGuire
14. Mat Feagai
15. Max Feagai
16. Mikaele Ravalawa
17. Poasa Fa’amusili
18. Junior Amone
19. Tariq Sims
20. Tyrell Fuimaono
21. Tyrell Sloan
22. Zac Lomax
23. Jaydn Su’a
24. Francis Molo
25. George Burgess
26. Moses Mbye *

I haven’t included Josh Coric as I believe he will be under a development contract next yr

Not too sure what the future holds for guys like Jayden Hunt and Hayden Lomax so haven’t included them yet

That also is of course pending on any out of the blue departures ( E.g players requesting releases )

Overall I don’t think we are building that bad of of squad and I am hopeful that our next couple of signings can really round out our squad

I'm hoping they sign a speedster either as a centre or winger. Also another hard running prop.

Dragonslayer

1. Adam Clune
2. Andrew McCullough
3. Ben Hunt
4. Billy Burns
5. Blake Lawrie
6. Cody Ramsey
7. Daniel Alvaro
8. Jack Bird
9. Jack De Belin
10. Jackson Ford
11. Jayden Sullivan
12. Josh Kerr
13. Josh McGuire
14. Mat Feagai
15. Max Feagai
16. Mikaele Ravalawa
17. Poasa Fa’amusili
18. Junior Amone
19. Tariq Sims
20. Tyrell Fuimaono
21. Tyrell Sloan
22. Zac Lomax
23. Jaydn Su’a
24. Francis Molo
25. George Burgess
26. Moses Mbye *

Just a slight adjustment to the playing list and @georgedragon can confirm. As far as I'm aware under the salary cap, players 1 -26 have a min salary eg:140k. Players 27 - 30 have a maximum salary eg: 90k
So I would guess atm:

1. Adam Clune
2. Andrew McCullough
3. Ben Hunt
4. Billy Burns
5. Blake Lawrie
6. Cody Ramsey
7. Daniel Alvaro
8. Jack Bird
9. Jack De Belin
10. Jackson Ford
11. Jayden Sullivan
12. Josh Kerr
13. Josh McGuire
14. Mat Feagai
15. Max Feagai
16. Mikaele Ravalawa
17. Poasa Fa’amusili
18. Tariq Sims
19. Tyrell Fuimaono
20. Zac Lomax
21. Jayden Sua
22. Francis Molo
23. George Burgess
24. Moses Mbye*
27. Junior Amone
28. Tyrell Sloan

Therefore, 2 slots in tha 'main' group and 2 slots in the 'lower' group. Thats my understanding.

Reddragon

Be happy to see Hornby return; he'd be a good addition to the coaching team I believe.
Fuimaono I can take or leave. Does some solid things each game he plays, but always mucks it up with mistakes, silly penalties and then suspensions. Trying to decapitate Papenhuyzen the week the NRL declared war on head-highs was the most stupid thing all season until Vaughan's BBQ.

Yow

Be happy to see Hornby return; he'd be a good addition to the coaching team I believe.
Fuimaono I can take or leave. Does some solid things each game he plays, but always mucks it up with mistakes, silly penalties and then suspensions. Trying to decapitate Papenhuyzen the week the NRL declared war on head-highs was the most stupid thing all season until Vaughan's BBQ.
Would love to have Benny back

Maddragon99

As the great Bob Fulton said many times "you can't coach speed". My Manly mates are pissing themselves laughing at us. How was he let go? Another McGregor casualty. That bloke was the worst thing to ever walk through the Dragons front door and it will take a few more years yet to rid ourselves of that revolting McGregor stench. The longest serving JV coach. It's shameful.
He was contracted until end 2022 but for whatever reason he wanted out. In the limited games he had last year with us he didn’t impress me at all. I don’t think there’s much more the club could have done to keep him. The crybaby wanted out & played badly enough for the club to grant his release.

OneEyedDragon

He was contracted until end 2022 but for whatever reason he wanted out. In the limited games he had last year with us he didn’t impress me at all. I don’t think there’s much more the club could have done to keep him. The crybaby wanted out & played badly enough for the club to grant his release.
Saab always had speed, and he was a much hyped junior coming through. As you say, signed til 2022. I suspect Manly got in his ear about the prospect of a better paid deal, so Saab sooked, whinged, kicked stones and gave the laughable excuse of "too long a drive" until he was released. Probably signed with Manly when he got home that night! Bob Fulton was right "you can't coach speed", and you can't coach good character either. Saab lacks character and is found wanting in tough situations.

Maddragon99

I’m ok with Fuimaono staying but I am a little surprised, he’s been suspended for a total of 7wks this year. Even a minor offence will be at least 1wk out now. Also as an unsigned player I thought he showed a remarkable lack of understanding by attending the BBQ. I think he’s pretty lucky to be offered an extension, I don’t think he would have been picked up by another club. Hopefully a budget contract I don’t think he’s worth anything more than that.

Illusion

I have lot of respect for Hornby , but honestly no more ex players in the coaching ranks for a while ..... That is what got us into the mess we are in .....

Maddragon99

Saab always had speed, and he was a much hyped junior coming through. As you say, signed til 2022. I suspect Manly got in his ear about the prospect of a better paid deal, so Saab sooked, whinged, kicked stones and gave the laughable excuse of "too long a drive" until he was released. Probably signed with Manly when he got home that night! Bob Fulton was right "you can't coach speed", and you can't coach good character either. Saab lacks character and is found wanting in tough situations.
I didn’t see any signs of speed last year for us. He must have tanked his performances so he’d get released. Definitely not the kind of player we want around, but let’s be honest, if you had to choose between Saab & Beale you’d take Saab even at 75%. Complete mystery why Beale is still around now the player crisis is over. Some of Hook’s recent selection choices don’t make any sense. No wonder we’re consistently 20-30 points short of a win.

redandwhite4evr

Well there we go
Another one to our Top 30 next year that a few including me thought might not get a contract
I am OK with him staying as does show something that a few are missing and would not be expensive
Now work hard on your tacking technique and bloody stay on the field for most of the year
Maybe it’s a match payments contract as least that way he is value for money

Imo, with his history, he should have been offered a one year deal only with the clear message- improve your discipline or look for another club. The fact he was offered a 2 year deal tells me that Haran and Millward do not believe we are competitive for quality, aggressive, backrow forwards like the Nathan Browns of this world.