Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023-2028 next tv deal discussion

Frailty

PR is totally conflicted, first and foremost it is important to acknowledge that he does love League, but being a Pom he hates Aussie League because of a) how sick we make English League look and b) what a total f-up of the game they have made up there.
I think this explains the seemingly perverse delight he gets in seeing Aussie League being shown up by fumbleball.
PR constantly criticises the sharks, etc. but he is completely right in this instance. PVL screwed over the game, and the clubs & players association should be demanding he resign from his position.

From renegotiating the media rights in the middle of a pandemic with no market, to dissolving the games digital arm and giving the digital rights away. Not to mention completely ignoring governance structures to spend ARLC money.

Iamback

I wouldn’t even worry about the show cause. Anybody involved in those negotiations need to be shown the door for either gross incompetence or complicity with Fox/Nine

Plenty in the game want PVL. So if it does turn out to be a dud deal, Someone will leak it out.

colly

So
Seven West didnt say that at all. The article youve quoted cites The Australian.

Sevens Media Release in full below

Seven Communications <Communications@seven.com.au>​

3:01 PM (6 hours ago)

Tuesday, 6 September 2022

Seven secures AFL rights until 2031

Seven West Media (ASX: SWM) today confirmed that it has secured the AFL media rights from 2025 to 2031.

SWM’s 7plus will be the new home of the AFL for Seven’s dedicated fans and advertisers, with a comprehensive package of digital rights secured with this renewal. The 7plus AFL hub will include live and replay matches as well as catch-up rights and highlights packages on video on demand, available live and free on any device, at any time. Seven will also continue to broadcast AFL games on Channel 7 and 7mate.

SWM Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, James Warburton, said: “We are delighted to extend our partnership with the AFL until 2031. Securing a comprehensive package of digital rights to the AFL for 7plus was our absolute focus. For the first time, fans will be able to access the best AFL games and video content, live and free, in a way that suits them.

“More importantly, this new combination of broadcast and digital means SWM will be ideally positioned to drive and capture a significant share of the growing total television market.

“Together, the AFL and Seven have made the code the #1 winter sport across the country and we look forward to working with the AFL Commission to extend the sport’s leadership.”

Seven will pay a 14% increase on the 2024 rights in 2025; with indexation over the term this represents a 3.6% compound annual growth rate in rights fees across the period.

This release has been authorised to be given to ASX by the Board of Seven West Media Limited.
Seven are paying $166m per year indexed by 3.6% How was that figure arrrived. Well they Seven said about it and reported in Fin review which i have previosly posted that the two year deal for Seven is just under $300m (of the 2023-2024) or just $146m average which seven and the Afl said. So a 14% increase on that gets you $166m per year, nothing to sneeze at but a long way down from $200 per year cash the AFl wanted from them. I bet thats $166m cash too with tones of bedding to get it up to $200m. However if Seven only went up from $146 p/a to $166 p/a it seems to allude a lower figure, which possile Foxtel?Kayo might do also. Does it make commercial sence that only Dec 2020 Foxtel crowed about about a small increase, 13% or $230-240m p/a on a previos deal to go now in less than two years to over say $300m+ cash per year... maybe, maybe not. However thanxs for the seven info i checked the ASX this afternoon and it wasn't their- so do you agree that Seven is paying in the new/new deal $166m cash and if not what do you calculate.

Nrls cash is around $370mill, even if it’s $550mill cash we’re still fcked!
Our only hope to bridge the gap is to add an 18th team by 2025 and renegotiate our contract. It has to be Perth so we can add a fourth major market to game. Either that or relocate a couple of small Sydney clubs to Adelaide and Perth and bring in NZ 2 or Brisbane 3. We're that far behind the other mob we now have to resort to drastic measures to prevent them from leaving us in the dust.

Nerd

Did NRL ever say what Telstra is paying?

Again though AFL goes until 2031.
NRL 2027

NRL will almost be done their next TV deal when that ends, NRL have plenty more flexibility so who knows where NRL ends up in the last 4 years of this AFL deal
We can only hope your right and our next deal is a motza. Future management must be fully prepared to walk away from Fox and especially Nein unless their hands are deep into their pockets. I can't emphasise how important it is that if there is to be no competitive tension from Seven and or Fox that the NRL looks to restart it's digital operations and if need be go to Ten for free to air and stream our own games.

I for one would jump at an NRL subscription that doesn't subsidise AFL. We have to constantly remind Fox that no NRL means both Fox and Kayo are financially unviable.

I believe it. Murdoch came out to Australia to tell the media he and his mates prefer AwFuL and they reckon it's the premier game. They've had every major city covered since 1991. Second teams were added to Perth, Adelaide, SEQ and Sydney in 1995, 1997, 2011 and 2012. They're so far ahead of us in development it's not hard to see why Foxtel chuck more money at them.

They look at AwFuL and see a game that has a proven record of growing in its heartland and enemy Territory. They look at our game and see a game that has nine small clubs in Sydney, one massive club in Brisbane and no one else until 2023, one club in Melbourne and zilch in Adelaide and Perth. If we cannot get a second team into the world's second largest rugby league city until 2023, despite being the biggest game in town for over a hundred years, then it's fair to assume we're not very good at growing our brand. Some of Sydney's clubs have been around for over 100 years but are no bigger than the Gold Coast Suns. That's how poorly our game has been run.
Completely agree.
Along with AFLs favourable media coverage, it's actually gained alot of credibility esp in NSW and QLD. Thirty years ago, AFL was a novelty. Now it's not uncommon for Sydney born and bred people to prefer it. Even Sydney born and bred kids are playing for Melbourne clubs, it's amazing the progress they've made.
We might as well try and merge with rugby union, at least they have a credible overseas market. We're done. In this day and age with technology and other pursuits so readily available, we won't be able to keep up with the AFL and will evolve into a niche sport. Most of the fans of the NRL are 40+ men, next generation especially non Polynesian kids aren't that interested. Barely even see kids playing league on the weekends or down the park.

Our only hope to bridge the gap is to add an 18th team by 2025 and renegotiate our contract. It has to be Perth so we can add a fourth major market to game. Either that or relocate a couple of small Sydney clubs to Adelaide and Perth and bring in NZ 2 or Brisbane 3. We're that far behind the other mob we now have to resort to drastic measures to prevent them from leaving us in the dust.
That ship has sailed. They’ll have tassie, and with this chest of gold probably Darwin or canberra next in. That makes them the only genuine national metro based competition in the country by a country mile.

our only hope is this is the massive kick up the arse the game needs, we sack Vlandys and Abdo and refresh the commission. We get serious about expansion and stop pandering to small suburban clubs. Only then might we have a chance to close the now yawning gap between the two sports. I don’t hold out much hope sadly.

Iamback

We can only hope your right and our next deal is a motza. Future management must be fully prepared to walk away from Fox and especially Nein unless their hands are deep into their pockets. I can't emphasise how important it is that if there is to be no competitive tension from Seven and or Fox that the NRL looks to restart it's digital operations and if need be go to Ten for free to air and stream our own games.

I for one would jump at an NRL subscription that doesn't subsidise AFL. We have to constantly remind Fox that no NRL means both Fox and Kayo are financially unviable.

There was an article by Roy Masters early in the year, TV expert he spoke to praised the NRL deal but predicted AFL and future rights full stop will rise

Colk

Did NRL ever say what Telstra is paying?

Again though AFL goes until 2031.
NRL 2027

NRL will almost be done their next TV deal when that ends, NRL have plenty more flexibility so who knows where NRL ends up in the last 4 years of this AFL deal

Do you honestly think they are paying the difference or close to? Do you think they are paying $50 million or more.

That all depends on who is negotiating and what options are available. I would be kicking out anybody who negotiated the last deal for incompetence or complicity.

I know Channel 7 would be off the table. Do you think Fox are going to all of a sudden increase it to match their fumbleball deal? They haven’t increased it much for our game so far because they are never threatened.

In order for your scenario to hold much sway you would need the following to happen

1. National game - no more trepidation. We have seen the value of a national competition from our competitor.
2. Total independence - no News Ltd influence at all, either implied or otherwise on the board
3. A white knight or media provider totally seperate to what is present at the moment. We have needed to get away from Nine for about 15-20 years. They have wanted AFL rather than us and they promote that game with more fervour. Their coverage is shocking anyway. No more dealing with them.

In any case, this is the worst thing that has happened to the game since Super League and the period just after. We are dead to rights now. No coming back to compete with fumbleball now.

Nerd

When this deal kicks in the AFL will obviously throw even more money at junior participation in NSW and QLD and the NRL have to divert funds from NRL clubs and start investing heavily in grass roots football. We need to copy AFL and cosy up to state governments and co fund improvements to junior Rugby League grounds.

Touch football needs to be heavily promoted as even safer to play than Soccer to parents and this would be a great way to push the game into the AFL states. I know that in Brisbane touch is so popular that the clubs are struggling to find grounds for games to be played at yet our state government keeps putting their hands in their pockets to help upgrade AFL facilities with nowhere near the same player numbers all thanks to the AFL co funding model.

Colk

Plenty in the game want PVL. So if it does turn out to be a dud deal, Someone will leak it out.

Yeah News Ltd want him.

Mate the difference is $200m and even if you take out all the buttressing it is still plenty north of $100 million.

Instead of going but but answer me this question: do you think that fumbleball is worth $100m-$200m more than League? If not, then it isn’t a good deal.

colly

So

Seven are paying $166m per year indexed by 3.6% How was that figure arrrived. Well they Seven said about it and reported in Fin review which i have previosly posted that the two year deal for Seven is just under $300m (of the 2023-2024) or just $146m average which seven and the Afl said. So a 14% increase on that gets you $166m per year, nothing to sneeze at but a long way down from $200 per year cash the AFl wanted from them. I bet thats $166m cash too with tones of bedding to get it up to $200m. However if Seven only went up from $146 p/a to $166 p/a it seems to allude a lower figure, which possile Foxtel?Kayo might do also. Does it make commercial sence that only Dec 2020 Foxtel crowed about about a small increase, 13% or $230-240m p/a on a previos deal to go now in less than two years to over say $300m+ cash per year... maybe, maybe not. However thanxs for the seven info i checked the ASX this afternoon and it wasn't their- so do you agree that Seven is paying in the new/new deal $166m cash and if not what do you calculate.
I have changed my mind on the Seven TV asx statement, the whole deal is 14% over the 2024 year deal which averaged $146 p/a which Seven and AFl reported. So no mention of Contra so it might mean that figure is cash and contra which starts to get the real figures for the announce deal... If Seven pays total $166m p/a it's not so bad for the NRL, lets compare to Nine TV $130m p/a and SKyNZ broadcasting of $32m p/a which adds up to $162m pa for FTA broadcasters for the NRL Compared to Seven TV with $166m p/a.

"The AFL said the deals with Foxtel, Telstra and Seven were together worth $946 million over the 2023 and 2024 seasons. Seven is paying just under $300 million of that figure."

The proof that seven was paying a average $146m p/a in 2024 and thus have a 14% increase on that amount, to equal $166m p/a from FTA Seven Tv to the AFL where the Nine and SKy NZ get the NRL $162m p/a, just about equal, and im sure we will wrangle $5m to $10m for a international series before the end of contract,
So all you nervous nellie's it doesn't sound that bad AND I am sure we get some indication that Foxtel aren't paying top dollar.... and it's the usual Telstra and Bedding that make it look good, especially as it has a long duration.
Headline Seven pays only $166m per year of the $640m p/a AFL deal. What are the rest of the broadcaster paying?
$640m pa Total minus Sevens $166m p/a equals $474m p/a from 'other' broadcasters,, that's go to be bedding to the MOON.