Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023-2028 next tv deal discussion

The experts reckon it's a "seller's market" for tier one sports like rugby league, fumbleball and cricket.

“The value of highly engaged sports audiences will only grow as traditional TV audiences continue to decline or fragment,” says Sue-Ellen Osborn, head of investment at Spark Foundry Sydney. “For many clients, the cultural relevance and attention that a Sport environment contributes to a campaign is fundamental to how they connect with consumers or create an impactful campaign.”​
Questions about value and the price of sports rights make for interesting discussion, in what one industry onlooker calls a “seller’s market for tier one sports, and a buyer’s for tier two”.​

Questions need to be asked.

How did V'landys botch our deal so badly when it's a seller's market for tier one sports?

Is V'landys a News Ltd puppet?

Is V'landys a charlatan only concerned about his job?

Surely V'landys will have to resign over this debacle.
Problem is whose going to ask them? Not the other commissioners who seem weak as pss and you can see why Samuels got out as quick as he could, not the media who Vlandys has given this gift to, not the fans who as you can see on here are detached from reality. So who takes him to task? Maybe the clubs but they e proved a toothless tiger and no doubt he’ll just chuck them another couple,
of mill on the grant to keep them happy at the expense of other areas of the sport.

Iamback

The media won’t call out PVL/NRL but I’m sure some clubs and players association will. No doubt behind closed doors. No doubt social media will be busy towards the NRL

You can't pay players in contra
So we will see the true value soon enough when the salary cap is set

Billythekid

It sucks seeing the NRL get dicked like this but watching the regulars squirm and seeing how utterly stupid all their posts look over the past few months and years does bring a smile to my face. Baseline panther and his ilk looking real f**king dumb right now lol.
Let’s also not forget the real gap between what ch9/fox value nrl at compared to what ch7/fox value afl at is:

nrl $370mill inc around $25mill contra
afl $593mill inc around $40mill contra

That is how the Australian tv partners view the two competitions!
There is no question we've missed out and it puts the AFL at a huge advantage. This comparison isn't totally fair though. The difference will only be this big for a couple of years of the deal, it is entirely possible that from 2027 our deal will be SIGNIFICANTLY increased.

Yeah we've been dudded but we absolutely need to start laying the foundations for the next deal. Put expansion on the table. Keep growing the womens and international game (lol). As of right now the NRL is the premier product on pay tv. Our ratings across Kayo and fox are absolutely f**king enormous and there is now way they can afford to lose the NRL. There are now more competitors in this market and the NRL needs to take an absolutely hard stance. There is no justification for us getting les from fox than the AFL and that should be the bare minimum we accept next time.

Iamback

It sucks seeing the NRL get dicked like this but watching the regulars squirm and seeing how utterly stupid all their posts look over the past few months and years does bring a smile to my face. Baseline panther and his ilk looking real f**king dumb right now lol.

There is no question we've missed out and it puts the AFL at a huge advantage. This comparison isn't totally fair though. The difference will only be this big for a couple of years of the deal, it is entirely possible that from 2027 our deal will be SIGNIFICANTLY increased.

Yeah we've been dudded but we absolutely need to start laying the foundations for the next deal. Put expansion on the table. Keep growing the womens and international game (lol). As of right now the NRL is the premier product on pay tv. Our ratings across Kayo and fox are absolutely f**king enormous and there is now way they can afford to lose the NRL. There are now more competitors in this market and the NRL needs to take an absolutely hard stance. There is no justification for us getting les from fox than the AFL and that should be the bare minimum we accept next time.

Nor is it a like for like

Channel 7 are paying 14% extra. Lets round it up to $200m there is no way Fox are paying $473m

So what matters is the cash both competitions are getting but yes for me it is a timing thing.

Sometime during the next NRL cycle AFL will do their next deal likely going up further. Will that mean the NRL has been dudded?

Diesel

It’s not like for like, AFL has 18 clubs, NRL 15 based in Aust. The AFL has teams in capitals and Tassie to come plus Perth 3? AFL games go longer so that is more advertising.
AFL has done an outstanding job getting this cash. The NRL needs to sort out the game being sold short and somehow become independent of media and also Sydney old boys clubs.
afl is National, nrl is Sydney with a few non NSW clubs invited to play in their NSW competition

Problem is whose going to ask them? Not the other commissioners who seem weak as pss and you can see why Samuels got out as quick as he could, not the media who Vlandys has given this gift to, not the fans who as you can see on here are detached from reality. So who takes him to task? Maybe the clubs but they e proved a toothless tiger and no doubt he’ll just chuck them another couple,
of mill on the grant to keep them happy at the expense of other areas of the sport.
This is the most dejected I've felt about our game. I have been predicting that our game will slide into niche status and irrelevancy due to its Sydney-centric policies and neglect of every other state and territory, but I didn't realise it would happen so quickly.

At this point I am livid at the Sydney clubs and NSWRL because I feel they've condemned our game to the same fate as rugby union. Their arrogance and ignorance has provided AwFuL with a 35 year head start that we'll never claw back. AwFuL is reaping the rewards of putting in the hard yards since their low point in the 80s as the VFL. Our game has neglected Queensland and allowed AwFuL to have free reign in the southern states. If we wish to bridge the gap we will need to accept reality and rationalise Sydney so we can grow the game outside of NSW. That will create some teething problems, but if we don't do it then the option is a slow decline into niche status and irrelevancy. The most frustrating part is the idiots who've caused this calamity to grow into a tumour are too stupid and stubborn to admit they're wrong and would rather see us revert back to THE NSWRL than do what needs to be done.

Iamback

It’s not like for like, AFL has 18 clubs, NRL 15 based in Aust. The AFL has teams in capitals and Tassie to come plus Perth 3? AFL games go longer so that is more advertising.
AFL has done an outstanding job getting this cash. The NRL needs to sort out the game being sold short and somehow become independent of media and also Sydney old boys clubs.
afl is National, nrl is Sydney with a few non NSW clubs invited to play in their NSW competition

most leagues in the world use 50/50 revenue share with the players

Clubs have been told to work to a $11m salary Cap next year.
Clubs get 130% of that in the grant. Lets round it up to $14.5m to make it easier
$14.5m x 17 = $246.5m
Double that and the NRL annual revenue is $490m.

Not exactly crying poor here

Mate we’ve been saying this since 2011!

ps their deal in 23&24 dwarves ours, not by as much but still a big enough gap to hurt.

That
that’s no one’s fault but our games leadership. they’ve had opportunity to bring perth in since 2011 and fcked around. We’ve waited this long to bring in the biggest no brainer in brisbane2, which turns out isnt really goingto be brisbane2 due to once again news ltd influence.
You reap what you sow

Colk

This post and the one prior were very good summations. The fact of the matter is we have been dudded by media companies for a long time. For example, the first thing you would do is look at alternatives away from Fox. Threaten them.

Firstly, a lot of this comes from how we project ourselves out to them - we can’t put a side here of there because they are AFL states for example or another example being let’s play a final in front of 10k people. As a consequence, they see a product who isn’t confident in themselves and if push came to shove they fold. You need to change this attitude.

Secondly, we need people involved in the last deal to go essentially. We need people from outside of the game - people involved in American or European sport or even fumbleball. Nobody tied to league politics or how things are always done.

Sure that might mean they get some of the players names wrong initially but we need people with fresh ideas and vision and who can actually sell a game, not somebody tied into how things are currently done and who has some inferiority complex or deferential viewpoints.

Let's be honest, we're lightyears behind fumbleball to the point we'll never catch up, and it's all because we've let self-interest from the NSWRL and its clubs dictate terms for forty years. The NSWRL killed every other major rugby league competition in the country. Now they're killing themselves.

AwFuL clubs continue to grow while ours remain stagnant. The revenue divide is enormous and growing wider every TV deal. It'll come to the stage where we won't have the resources to fund junior RL and we'll have schools fielding fumbleball teams. Don't be surprised if fumbleball uses its money and influence to convert RL fields at high schools into fumbleball fields.

Diesel

That

that’s no one’s fault but our games leadership. they’ve had opportunity to bring perth in since 2011 and fcked around. We’ve waited this long to bring in the biggest no brainer in brisbane2, which turns out isnt really goingto be brisbane2 due to once again news ltd influence.
You reap what you sow
Was 2011 when you were part of the WA Reds and you got dicked around by the admin when they announced the Pirates?

Canard

As predicted the AFL trade off for the money was more Thursday night games and no FTA on Saturday nights for a chunk of the season. Basically copying a highly successful format pioneered by the NRL.

For mine, the extra money is worth the sacrifice over fixture control, and I say good luck to them.

However as I live in Melbourne , this "negative" has quickly become "the story" of the deal though, particularly by 9/Fairfax media. In Melbourne particularly, you really didn't need PTV to watch most of the AFL with the biggest games always being on FTA. So this is a cultural shift. 3AW(Fairfax) for example was really hammering this point this morning.

Diesel

As predicted the AFL trade off for the money was more Thursday night games and no FTA on Saturday nights for a chunk of the season. Basically copying a highly successful format pioneered by the NRL.

For mine, the extra money is worth the sacrifice over fixture control, and I say good luck to them.

However as I live in Melbourne , this "negative" has quickly become "the story" of the deal though, particularly by 9/Fairfax media. In Melbourne particularly, you really didn't need PTV to watch most of the AFL with the biggest games always being on FTA. So this is a cultural shift. 3AW(Fairfax) for example was really hammering this point this morning.

Have they confirmed it stays as a afternoon GF?

Billythekid

That only cements how far behind we were. If those small concessions are worth paying THAT much more for the rights then that just shows how much the NRL has been dudded previously when giving up those same things. Apparently giving up some Saturday night FTA, adding some Thursday games and a few other small concessions is worth 150 million dollars per year for. What did the NRL get for making those same concessions then?

Even phrased like this we still look terrible.

Canard

That only cements how far behind we were. If those small concessions are worth paying THAT much more for the rights then that just shows how much the NRL has been dudded previously when giving up those same things. Apparently giving up some Saturday night FTA, adding some Thursday games and a few other small concessions is worth 150 million dollars per year for. What did the NRL get for making those same concessions then?

Even phrased like this we still look terrible.

You'll get no argument from me. Like I said it's certainly getting a negative spin in some media here, but it's well worth it in my opinion.

You would have to think that a renegotiation of the current NRL deal would have to be on the cards based on this new AFL deal.

Clearly we can't and won't get anything like this deal though.

azza29

Completely agree. NRL is clearly the top dog in NSW and QLD but has limited penetration in other markets, partly because Nine has spent two decades shafting rugby league supporters in other states by relegating games to secondary channels or broadcasting them on delay, if they bother at all.

The AFL have nine, three hour games per week to sell - so 27 hours of live sport content vs the NRL's 16. There are more ad breaks during play, and they can claim a national audience. I'm not sure what this is worth in percentage terms but nobody should be surprised that they can pull in the bigger TV deal.

Steel Saints

That

You reap what you sow

Yep, you can't blame PVL for that. In the last decade or so, fans and/or media love to finger point at one person as the scapegoat. Whether it's Gallop, Smith, Greenberg or now with PVL.

The problem is much deeper than that. You don’t depend on one person. The game needs a strong commission. At the moment, it doesn't have one.