Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023-2028 next tv deal discussion

The_Wookie

How can you argue it doesn't look good for PVL without the ACTUAL figures though? It isn't that hard to understand.

From the article I posted above

NRL officials are convinced the AFL deal includes a large amount of contra, or non-cash benefits, such as free TV advertising. The Herald has also reported that the new AFL deal includes money from Telstra for the AFL-owned Marvel Stadium.

Wookie said contra is believed to be $80-$96m a year. That would qualify as a large amount of contra

Telstra is $50m a year

That leaves $550m that is being brought up including Telstra, Leaving $500m cash from TV/
However if you then have money from Telstra to do up Marvel then it brings that figure down further.

Have they? There was no issue until the $643m deal was announced, If they comes in lower then it is a different conversation

Actually I said that NRL officials believe it will be 5 or 6 times what the 16m it currently is. I personally think its ludicrous.

What we have is an NRL desperately trying to prove the AFL deal isnt as good as the AFL says, and NRL media and forum posters desperately trying to prove that not only is the AFL deal not as good as it says, but that the NRL deal is better than it appears.

Until someone conclusively proves otherwise im running with the 4b cash and 643m a year total as announced for the AFL. And the "more than 400m pa" for the NRL. Its all we know from the governing bodies themselves.

Wb1234

From the Financial review so more trustworthy then a DT mate writing it
To be fair to colk denying vlandys claim they would get more based on a promise was spot on

obviously team 18 will be the biggest incentive

I really believe Monday night football would be the biggest carrot they could offer with it

as long as they don’t extend the current deal another 50 million would be ok and then take the whole thing to market

Stan is the biggest wild card. As much as channel nine sucks them bidding against foxtel would push the nrl rights well past 500 million cash pa

which is more than afl get for their tv rights

Wb1234

How can you argue it doesn't look good for PVL without the ACTUAL figures though? It isn't that hard to understand.

From the article I posted above

NRL officials are convinced the AFL deal includes a large amount of contra, or non-cash benefits, such as free TV advertising. The Herald has also reported that the new AFL deal includes money from Telstra for the AFL-owned Marvel Stadium.

Wookie said contra is believed to be $80-$96m a year. That would qualify as a large amount of contra

Telstra is $50m a year

That leaves $550m that is being brought up including Telstra, Leaving $500m cash from TV/
However if you then have money from Telstra to do up Marvel then it brings that figure down further.

Have they? There was no issue until the $643m deal was announced, If they comes in lower then it is a different conversation
Seriously? How hard is to understand. They have literally said the cash value is 'over' $4bill or 'over' $571mill a year. If there's loads of contra/in kind in the Telstra deal that means the TV cash must be around the $550mill. We know the NRl cash is going to be around the $370mill. What dont you understand here?

2025-31 AFL TV $583mill ($643mill minus $60mill Telstra) $550mill cash
2023-27 NRL TV $395mill ($402mill minus radio rights $7mill) $375mill cash

Difference $188mill - Cash difference $175mill A YEAR!

Iamback

To be fair to colk denying vlandys claim they would get more based on a promise was spot on

obviously team 18 will be the biggest incentive

I really believe Monday night football would be the biggest carrot they could offer with it

as long as they don’t extend the current deal another 50 million would be ok and then take the whole thing to market

Stan is the biggest wild card. As much as channel nine sucks them bidding against foxtel would push the nrl rights well past 500 million cash pa

which is more than afl get for their tv rights

From what we know Ch7 is paying $40m more than Ch9, We don't know how close Fox is to know that claim

$50m seems possible with the expanded NRLW, Tests and Pre-season thrown in

I hope the streaming competitors lift their game to be viable because atm take a pub or a club

You have atleast 2 x Horse racing channels
The TAB set up
Keno
Certain parts of even Panthers I can't get phone reception, How would that go with several screen streaming? Even worse in the bush and it needs to be able to be accessed which Fox provides

Iamback

Actually I said that NRL officials believe it will be 5 or 6 times what the 16m it currently is. I personally think its ludicrous.

What we have is an NRL desperately trying to prove the AFL deal isnt as good as the AFL says, and NRL media and forum posters desperately trying to prove that not only is the AFL deal not as good as it says, but that the NRL deal is better than it appears.

Until someone conclusively proves otherwise im running with the 4b cash and 643m a year total as announced for the AFL. And the "more than 400m pa" for the NRL. Its all we know from the governing bodies themselves.

The structure is changing so you need to advertise it, Like if it is Thurs night footy they will flog it on the radio etc telling people, Similarly when Sat night schedule changes. Hell even ch7 will want people to know that games are on 7 Plus now. So it is only natural that contra increases, How big an increase is the question

I don't think the players, Clubs or stakeholders really care as long as they get paid. PVL cares too much about what idiots say on twitter though, Which is why such articles come out

Wb1234

From what we know Ch7 is paying $40m more than Ch9, We don't know how close Fox is to know that claim

I hope the streaming competitors lift their game to be viable because atm take a pub or a club

The TAB set up
Keno
Certain parts of even Panthers I can't get phone reception, How would that go with several screen streaming? Even worse in the bush and it needs to be able to be accessed which Fox provides
I haven’t been to panthers since the 90s

rector one was one of the clubs

copped a lot of looks bunch of ethnics partying there lmao

The TAB set up
Keno
haha 2 NRLW games, tests which we already had and 'pre season' what ever you mean by that is worth $50mill? Get off the pipe!

The only real valuable thing we have to sell is a ninth game and Monday night and an extended deal so it doesn't go to market. And even all of that is unlikely to get us close to the massive gap from 2025 if Vlandys is still running the show.

Personally I wouldnt be offering anything to them, Id be licking my wounds and starting the hard yakka to get 2 or 3 bidders for the 2028-rights, and finding anew chairman!
I'm going to cut Abdo some slack here as he isnt in any position to influence anything and by all accounts advocated for not signing the deal. Until Vlandys fcks off we wont really know how good or bad a CEO Abdo is.

You want PVL and the ARLC booted out, If they AFL deal and NRL are closer then that doesn't hold weight here. Hence why the Telstra component is an issue.

What ch7 and Fox are paying AFL is the AFL TV deal

Compare that to what Pay and ch9 are paying NRL and then we can discuss if NRL took a dud deal or not.

Too soon for that discussion due to both parties

I can watch a full replay of any NRL game on YouTube. Full replays of AwFuL are not available on YouTube.

I wouldn't be surprised if the Telstra component blocks AwFuL from broadcasting full replays on YouTube. If so then the money they're paying is part of the broadcast deal.

There's no point arguing with these people. Them and the NRL officials who've "convinced" themselves that much of it is contra are full of delusion and trying to save face because they got dudded.

“The Herald has also reported that the new AFL deal includes money from Telstra for the AFL-owned Marvel Stadium.”

and there it is

Any money invested in Docklands by Telstra is a lot better than contra as it adds value to a physical asset, making AwFuL richer in the long-term. In short, it's an investment and not going to be pissed up a wall by the clubs. Our game would never make such a forward thinking deal because it is cruelled by self-interest from the clubs, state bodies and ARLC who want the money for themselves.

There's at least $571mill cash a year in their deal. Of that its likely $20-30mill cash is Telstra with the rest TV.

Vlandys is trying to create fog with his contra nd Telstra comments to save his own arse. Reality is their is no fogging over a $175mill a year cash difference!!

The_Wookie

the financial situation of afl right now is really bad

The financial position of the AFL is a lot stronger than that of the NRL.

-> More broadcast revenue than any other code in the country
-> More non broadcast revenue than any other code in the country
-> More total revenue than any other code in the country
-> More assets than any other code in the country
-> More equity than any other code in the country

Yes. I see the terrible position you talk about.

National Bodies 2021
AFLARLCBasketball AusCricket AusFootball AusNetball AusRugbyAusTennisAus
Total Revenue$738,137$575,080$17,593$414,705$37,459$30,004$98,583$377,859
Consolidated Profit/Loss-$29,487$43,057$120$4,862$11,813$158-$4,503-$75,182
Cash or equivelants$249,313$171,363$12,333$101,556$20,751$12,208$25,932
Total Assets$658,707$264,524$16,163$265,201$45,632$58,981$211,790
Total Liabilities$457,745$125,547$14,050$205,751$29,288$70,853$209,396
Equity$200,962$138,977$2,113$59,450$16,344-$4,368-$11,872$2,393

Nerd

Like Doc Brown stated could the NRL bring in a Perth team before the next deal and play the 9th game in a timeslot that doesn't compete with existing games say Sunday night and sell this 9th game to say Ten/Paramount if Fox and/or Nein won't stump up any extra cash?

Would create competitive tension years before the next deal and let the competitor get their act together on broadcasting a major sport and start to line up advertising for a big tilt at the next deal.

Like Doc Brown stated could the NRL bring in a Perth team before the next deal and play the 9th game in a timeslot that doesn't compete with existing games say Sunday night and sell this 9th game to say Ten/Paramount if Fox and/or Nein won't stump up any extra cash?

Would create competitive tension years before the next deal and let the competitor get their act together on broadcasting a major sport and start to line up advertising for a big tilt at the next deal.
There’s no way that they could sell a ninth game to a different party, that would be in the deal. Given dolphins havent even kicked off yet it would be highly unlikely we’d see a ninth game before 2026. In theory they could renogtitate the last 2 years with a ninth game IF fox is willing to pay for it.

National Bodies 2021
Didn’t realise tennis was so rich, where do they get all their revenue from?

Wb1234

National Bodies 2021
And yet 90 million dollars worse off from a profit and loss point of view

and yet nrl clubs receive record funding and afl still receive reduced funding due of covid

And yet nrl playets are to receive a bonus 38 million from the arlc to cover lost wages during covid whilst thier afl counterparts do not

Sounds like afl has wasted a lot of money on vanity projects whilst the arl has run a lean and efficient operation

Colk

Didn’t realise tennis was so rich, where do they get all their revenue from?

The Australian Open is a global event. The TV rights would be massive with every country and region paying up. Then you would have hundreds of thousands of spectators through the gates. It would be worth a couple hundred million to TA. If you go through every other event and nothing else is comparable