Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2023 Crowd Watch

The_Wookie

S

See the previous page LU: has it at 354,313 which, on past performance, is how the complier of NRL tables will record it. We will see what Wookie thinks

1683596280129.png

See also Austadiums

I am sportsindustry on twitter mate. While a per match crowd will be noted - we'll be using the total crowd data for the round/number of events - 147,000 attendees according to Annesley yesterday divided by 3 events

Crowd figures wont count towards club averages. My understanding is that LU and Austadiums will do it this way as well.

Vibing

S

See the previous page LU: has it at 354,313 which, on past performance, is how the complier of NRL tables will record it. We will see what Wookie thinks
actually , on closer examination
rugby league tables list it as above & have done the AFL's that way as well.
I have no idea what Austadiums have done , they've added the 147K , but only for 3 games not 8 lol

So , yea we will see what Wookie says.. haha

Vibing

View attachment 73930

See also Austadiums

I am sportsindustry on twitter mate. While a per match crowd will be noted - we'll be using the total crowd data for the round/number of events - 147,000 attendees according to Annesley yesterday divided by 3 events

Crowd figures wont count towards club averages. My understanding is that LU and Austadiums will do it this way as well.

yea
what he said

beave

those weird gaps on the top tier at the ends need to be seated in , would push capacity to near 60K
I think I know the areas you speak of, unfortunately that's where the main support structure for the roof is located, I don't think you could add many (if any) extra seating in there without major work being conducted to achieve it, the squeeze is probably not worth the juice so to speak.

Suncorp is still amazing to watch footy at, i went on sunday and it still blows my mind that for a 20 year old joint (and the western stand is now 29 years old) it's still holding up very well. I don't think much can be done without major money being spent, it's shame it wasn't a 60-70k stadium to begin with but it is what it is.

Imagine the cost to knock it down and rebuild it in the current climate, it would be $1.2-$1.5bil exercise .

The_Wookie

actually , on closer examination
rugby league tables list it as above & have done the AFL's that way as well.
I have no idea what Austadiums have done , they've added the 147K , but only for 3 games not 8 lol

So , yea we will see what Wookie says.. haha

@pythagonrl on twitter has a somewhat differing viewpoint on this, but his crowd analysis is more detailed than mine too.

DIOGENES

View attachment 73930

See also Austadiums

Thanks for the explanation - does this mean that when looking at the season average the denominator will be 199 rather than 204 - last weekend counted as 3 events rather than 8?

The_Wookie

Thanks for the explanation - does this mean that when looking at the season average the denominator will be 199 rather than 204 - last weekend counted as 3 events rather than 8?

Yes. Although Ill probably be doing both figures going forward as I have done for the AFL.

shewi6

I think the best way to represent it is at the end of the season divide the total games (204) by the total aggregate, but only counting magic round as 147k.

Angthing else I feel misrepresents reality. Plus I think magic round has gotten a higher aggregate than we might have got if these games were played at their home grounds, so we aren't missing out on anything.

Vibing

Plus I think magic round has gotten a higher aggregate than we might have got if these games were played at their home grounds, so we aren't missing out on anything.
Almost certainly yea

one of these games would have been a Thurs ordinarily & there would have been no 6.15pm Sunday game
all based on fine weather & the current upward trend in crowds

Thurs
Melb V Souths 15K
Fri early
Cant V Raiders 10K
Friday late
Manly V Brisbane 15K

Sat
Warriors V Penrith 20K
Sharks V Dolphins 12K
Titans V Parra 15K

Sun
Tigers V Dragons 15K
Roosters V Cowboys 15K

Warriors Fever

Having a crack at this weeks
Storms vs Brisbane 16k Thursday night but Brisbane are usually a good draw.
Dogs vs warriors 7k something low
Panthers Vs chooks 19k
Rabbits Vs tigers 20k
Cows vs merge 17k
Raiders vs eels 18k
Knights vs titans 15k hard to tell with the recent run of results
Manly Vs Cronulla 14k

SLRBRONCOS

those weird gaps on the top tier at the ends need to be seated in , would push capacity to near 60K

I think I know the areas you speak of, unfortunately that's where the main support structure for the roof is located, I don't think you could add many (if any) extra seating in there without major work being conducted to achieve it, the squeeze is probably not worth the juice so to speak.

Suncorp is still amazing to watch footy at, i went on sunday and it still blows my mind that for a 20 year old joint (and the western stand is now 29 years old) it's still holding up very well. I don't think much can be done without major money being spent, it's shame it wasn't a 60-70k stadium to begin with but it is what it is.

Imagine the cost to knock it down and rebuild it in the current climate, it would be $1.2-$1.5bil exercise .

Beave is right. The roof essentially holds up the top tier, and the corner truss structures take a lot of that. Because the stadium is on the old North Brisbane Burial Grounds there were excavation limitations. So it's a pipe dream at this point. I like to think that they could eventually redevelop the western stand and have it symmetrical. They could also add 6 rows to level 3 behind the goals to mirror that of the east and west. I believe that could get close to 60k.

There was talk somewhere (and some designs) that I now can't find of it being a perfect 3 tiered rectangular bowl if we won the 22 FIFA WC.

I don't think we will see it in our lifetime unfortunately.

SouthsCountry

Was just looking at some old attendance figures, and I came across a time long long ago, in a galaxy far far away, when RL was under threat in Brisbane.

Between 1995 and 1996 with all the negative press coverage the Broncos lost 12,000 fans off their average. The club had also moved from Lang Park to QEII/ANZ Stadium, purely to maximise attendance, but fans became sick of the terrible sight lines and distance frim the pitch which caused a lack of atmosphere. All of these factors combined to see the club's average attendance record of 43,200 in 1993 plummet to 19,710 by 2001, by which time success was no longer a novelty for crowds either after 5 premierships in 9 years.

Across town league was in a 1v1 battle with a rising future triple premiership Lions team. And from 2001-2005, they had a higher attendance than the Broncos. League still hung on overall through Origin and TV ratings were still far stronger, but the Lions were a threat to the supremacy of the game in the city.

Then the Broncos moved to Suncorp and by the time they won in 2006, they were no.1 again. .

But the Lions began to challenge again in the late 2010s and early 2020s as the Broncos languished at the bottom and the Lions were consistent finalists.

Enter the Dolphins. A team for the non-Broncos fans, the old BRL fans, Crushers fans, and anyone else who doesn't follow the Broncos. Rugby league is no longer vulnerable in Queensland on the basis of being level with the AFL in terms of clubs and no longer hinges on the success of just the Broncos in any given year!

We've blown them out of the water!

Billythekid

It was never vulnerable. AFL gained its own little foothold but there was never any doubt that league remained the easily dominant code even at its weakest.

I agree though that the dolphins inclusion has really changed the game and pushed the NRL forward in a big way.

SLRBRONCOS

A very good Thursday night crowd is building for next Thursday night for the Broncos vs Penrith game. Such a shame that it's not on a Friday night, but we don't deserve them all!

Same old - depending on weather, members, and corporates, but 30-32k is possible.

bazza

The Magic round could have a new destination after 2024, so many states will be bidding for it.
Magic has become so popular now everyone wants a piece of it.❤

Meanwhile, Venues NSW chairman Rod McGeoch has revealed Sydney’s multi-venue bid to bring the annual event into Blues territory.

So we can just have 8 games in Sydney at Venues NSW grounds of Parramatta, Homebush and SFS. Not much different to a normal weekend. Might just need a double header to fit all the matches in

Billythekid

I think creating a bidding war is potentially good for the NRL but I won’t lie I want it to stay in Brisbane. It’s really building up now into something special and I think having a tradition of it being in Brisbane will make it an event people really want to go to.

I already have friends wanting to plan a weekend away next year to attend magic round. It’s be cool if they could make it a real festival atmosphere and make a big deal of it. I think the NRL doesn’t do that enough (even the GF doesn’t quite have that same atmosphere around Sydney like it once had).

Who knows though maybe it will become a travelling event that’s big wherever it goes.

Iamback

I think the best way to represent it is at the end of the season divide the total games (204) by the total aggregate, but only counting magic round as 147k.

Angthing else I feel misrepresents reality. Plus I think magic round has gotten a higher aggregate than we might have got if these games were played at their home grounds, so we aren't missing out on anything.

I look at the crowds for the individual clubs, Take GC or Manly. Them being headline acts on Magic Round will inflate their averages but their crowd at home is true

Iamback

I think creating a bidding war is potentially good for the NRL but I won’t lie I want it to stay in Brisbane. It’s really building up now into something special and I think having a tradition of it being in Brisbane will make it an event people really want to go to.

I already have friends wanting to plan a weekend away next year to attend magic round. It’s be cool if they could make it a real festival atmosphere and make a big deal of it. I think the NRL doesn’t do that enough (even the GF doesn’t quite have that same atmosphere around Sydney like it once had).

Who knows though maybe it will become a travelling event that’s big wherever it goes.

Like the GF, This won't move but QLD will have to stump up some cash