Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 NRL Grand Final: Penrith v Broncos Oct 1st @ Accor Stadium

Bandwagon

I thought Cleary was average at best until that wayward Broncos pass when another try appeared certain. Luai was off and something just clicked. His final 20 minutes was as good as Ive ever seen. A player dreams of playing like that. Its was only 20 minutes but it certainly was enough.

Momentum. The donkeys were killing them with possession that first 20 of the second half, in that situation there's not a lot any one player can do but hold their own and wait for the moment it will shift.

When it shifted Cleary grabbed it by the balls and never let go, up until then yeah, he hadn't done anything much of note. The first half in particular Penrith should have been up by more, Donkeys made plenty of errors with the ball and Penrith and Cleary really failed to capitalise on them. Though you could argue that what they did was enough to ensure the Donkeys would tire later in the game when it really mattered.

King-Gutho94

After watching last night you could be forgiven thinking were miles away.

But we did beat Penrith twice played them for 163 mins and we're never behind in either match. So there still is hope with a better run especially with braindead suspensions we can at least still challenge.

Both wins were different we out grinded Penrith in commbank and if it wasn't for a junior brain explosion with 20 seconds to go we win in normal time.

At Penrith we defended like our lives depended on it despite having nothing to play for and won by 14 with a few consolation tries reducing the margin.

I think Penrith have another 2 premierships in them in the cleary era. Weather the run continues next year who knows. But gee JFH and Leota are just as important and maybe we underestimate why cleary struggles at origin without those 2 in the middle.

Tooooks

That was one of the best grand finals I’ve seen. Definitely in the top 4. To me, watching those two sides just highlights are far off we are. If that Morgan Harper rumour is true…well thats pretty grim.

Panthers a very good shot of winning 4 or even 5 comps in a row. Cleary has ten years left in his career, maybe more. They’ll be successful for a long time.

Glorious.

Donkeys fans would have been celebrating with twenty to go

77th minutes I could hear their little hearts breaking from over the border.
At the game with 3 of my best mates, two Donkeys and one Smug fan. I was fairly neutral and quite enjoying Penrith copping a reaming until the Donkeys fans around us started carrying on like total f**kwits. Carrying on like they had won throwing shit around and jumping up and down on their chairs. One turns to my Penrith mate and screams at him Penrith are f**king shit.

Total classless Bogan pieces of shit, and I’m not talking about Riff fans amazingly enough. It was worth a Riff win seeing one of these Twatwaffles start crying while his quite large and sweaty Misso was consoling him. It was a cracking game of footy better than 2015 IMO.

King-Gutho94

At the game with 3 of my best mates, two Donkeys and one Smug fan. I was fairly neutral and quite enjoying Penrith copping a teaming until the Donkeys fans around us started carrying on like total f**kwits. Carrying on like they had one throwing shit around and jumping up and down on their chairs. One turns to my Penrith mates and screams at him Penrith are f**king shit.

Total classless Bogan pieces of shit, and I’m not talking about Riff fans amazingly enough. It was worth a Riff win seeing of these Twatwaffles start crying while his quite large and sweating Misso was consoling him. It was a cracking game of footy better than 2015 IMO.
Yeah I agree that has surpassed 2015 GF in terms of best i have seen even though 2015 went to extra time.

I think the quality was better then 2015. JT fairytale was great but he wasn't the best of field that night.

Last night's game had everything from wild momentum swings to physicality and more importantly we have learned Adam Gee is the best ref in the game who allowed the game to flow and let the players decide.

Fmd what have we doing wasting our time with the likes of Klein and Gerard Sutton for a decade. Gee showed them both up in his 1st ever major game despite never doing an Origin or GF before.

His performance probably helped the match be as good as it was.

There was no nitpicking both teams got enough latitude to sort themselves out. And we saw in the 2nd half when both teams fatigued the attacking brilliance from both sides.
He let stuff go but it was the same for both teams, the game flowed and it allowed two great teams just to play footy. Donkeys fans left wet seats all around us I’m not sure if it was tears, sweat or a combo of both.

Noise

Adam use to be a teacher before he was a full time ref. Worked with him for a little while. Great bloke. Stoked he got the GF and did a great job. Interestingly when he was on the borderline of nearly doing first grade games the powers that be seemed to think Grant Atkins (who was also at the same stage of his career) was the better ref. Atkins is garbage.

King-Gutho94

Adam use to be a teacher before he was a full time ref. Worked with him for a little while. Great bloke. Stoked he got the GF and did a great job. Interestingly when he was on the borderline of nearly doing first grade games the powers that be seemed to think Grant Atkins (who was also at the same stage of his career) was the better ref. Atkins is garbage.
Atkins is cocky, brash and attention seeking.

Someone that shouldn't be refereeing big games as he would make it all about him.

JokerEel

After watching last night you could be forgiven thinking were miles away.

But we did beat Penrith twice played them for 163 mins and we're never behind in either match. So there still is hope with a better run especially with braindead suspensions we can at least still challenge.

Both wins were different we out grinded Penrith in commbank and if it wasn't for a junior brain explosion with 20 seconds to go we win in normal time.

At Penrith we defended like our lives depended on it despite having nothing to play for and won by 14 with a few consolation tries reducing the margin.

I think Penrith have another 2 premierships in them in the cleary era. Weather the run continues next year who knows. But gee JFH and Leota are just as important and maybe we underestimate why cleary struggles at origin without those 2 in the middle.

I think we are miles away as a team beating them in the regular season is completely different to stepping up and beating them in finals.

I don't think our players have that mentality watching them as a side over the years.

JokerEel

Gee was fantastic last night stayed out of it for 80.

On Atkins when he came in was a good ref but for some reason it has gone to his head and he seems to need to stamp his authority on games finding stupid penalties.
It's the same with Buttler was good now bad.

JokerEel

During the brocos raid, Cleary missed a few critical tackles.

But he didnt let it phase him and he took the game by the scruff of the neck. Moses hasnt really done that yet

Yeah he and Yeo missed 1 on Ma'am and rushed up on Walsh and missed it badly.

King-Gutho94

He let stuff go but it was the same for both teams, the game flowed and it allowed two great teams just to play footy. Donkeys fans left wet seats all around us I’m not sure if it was tears, sweat or a combo of both.
I am sure Brisbane will be like a funeral for the next week.

Both teams got done at the death.

I am sure Brisbane will be like a funeral for the next week.

Both teams got done at the death.
Me strutting around Brizvegas next week

vince mcmahon GIF