Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 TV/Fox/Streaming Ratings

Iamback

Eh? Never said that, I said they’d struggle to get $20mill for 12 more games in this current deal.

Next deal value will be totally dependent on who bids. If no one bids against ch9/fox then I expect it to be around $50mill more than the current $402mill. If there’s competition I expect it to be anywhere between $500-600mill going off what afl just experienced.

Except the $402m the game now gets is going to be more by 2027.

3% annual growth puts it at $460m even half of that puts the 2027 deal at $430m.

Add Inflation to the next deal and that by itself is $500m ( Assuming the deal isn't less than 5 years)

Hence why the deals cricket, AFL, Tennis have signed recently when broken down aren't over the top

Billythekid

I have Kayo because I often can't watch games Live, I wouldn't be counted in the ratings. How many other shift workers etc do the same?

Kayo knows but can't report it, Hopefully we get an EOFY report or something
Shit tons. I’ve said it before but whenever the ambos are ramped at the hospital and the footy is on you’ll see heaps of them on their phones watching kayo (often see other staff sneaking a look as well).

Iamback

Shit tons. I’ve said it before but whenever the ambos are ramped at the hospital and the footy is on you’ll see heaps of them on their phones watching kayo (often see other staff sneaking a look as well).

Yep, They would then go home at 2am or whenever and watch the replay of the whole game

Except the $402m the game now gets is going to be more by 2027.

3% annual growth puts it at $460m even half of that puts the 2027 deal at $430m.

Add Inflation to the next deal and that by itself is $500m ( Assuming the deal isn't less than 5 years)

Hence why the deals cricket, AFL, Tennis have signed recently when broken down aren't over the top
Another one. The $402mill is an avg cash and contra over 5 years. It’s not starting at $402mill then add 2-3% each year, that’s not how an avg works lol.

so for us with a 5 year $2bill cash and contra deal worth around $380mill a year cash avg it will be around (on 2% shift)
2023 $365.5mill
2024 $372.5mill
2025 $380mill
2026 $387.5
2027 $395mill

again one deal to the next had nothing to do with inflation. Last tv deal was $385 a year avg. This deal is $402mill avg. that’s got nothing to do with inflation!

I have Kayo because I often can't watch games Live, I wouldn't be counted in the ratings. How many other shift workers etc do the same?

In reality its subscriptions that matter most, how many subscribers nrl is driving is all ptv really care about. ive Never been surveyed by them so dont know if they can tell how many individuals are watching a week as opposed to cumulative numbers of people who watch numerous games a week Or how many people subscribe for a particular sport.

I guess if they lose the rights they’ll soon find out!

Wb1234

Current deal 430 million pa

add five percent (inflation and economic growth minimum pa) means 25 percent increase on the tv deal which is an increase to 530 million pa

then you need to add women’s games pre season dolphins and a ninth game

600 million would be a fair result not excellent

550 would be a poor result

anything less a disaster

Iamback

add five percent (inflation and economic growth minimum pa) means 25 percent increase on the tv deal which is an increase to 530 million pa

anything less a disaster

yet AFL is $550m and everyone is saying how good it is 🤔

The_Wookie

We will, but it wont have this. Really need Foxtel to hurry up and get listed on the ASX

anything less a disaster
Nope,lol

The_Wookie

Total Ratings: AFL and NRL matches up to last Friday (consolidated)

CodeRoundDayHomeAwayCons 7 Total
NRL4FriBrisbaneDolphins1,472,140
NRL1ThuParramattaMelbourne1,308,000
AFL1ThuRichmondCarlton1,249,916
NRL4ThuParramattaPenrith1,223,020
NRL1FriPenrithBrisbane1,200,000
AFL1FriGeelongCollingwood1,185,854
NRL1SunDolphinsSydney1,183,000
NRL6FriNorth QueenslandDolphins1,180,730
NRL7ThuDolphinsSouth Sydney1,178,700
NRL2ThuPenrithSouth Sydney1,178,000
AFL3FriCollingwoodRichmond1,161,976