Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2024 Crowd Watch

Brian potter

I’ve not been able to find out myself. Other sharkies might know. I’ve been there with 22000. I can’t imagine that will be achievable again. Personally I reckon we need to pack a couple of games off to the SFS each year to boost the average. Have to be the right games though.
That’s what I’ve been advocating.

so much for being a f#ck wit.

nko11

I’m not defensive at all mate. I’m just laughing at an idiot Pom. I’ve never defended our ground. It’s better than LO but not by much. Let’s see what happens next. I’ve got faith in the new admin. We’ve recovered from the edge of destruction and are now flying on almost every metric.
Any idea if the delay in the Leagues Club is something the Sharks are getting compensated for? Would be costing them millions per year in lost revenue - including stadium capacity as well.

Big if, but if stadium capacity goes back up to 17k after everythings opened up, They're not that far away from having a decent capacity stadium. They could fit a pretty sizeable stand on the Western side, which would solve pretty much all their problems (corporate facilities etc.) 14k stand for $200 mill. If they could put $100 mill in themselves, might be more chance of convincing the government for funds. With Kareela and the Leagues club firing I think they'd be able to afford it. It needs to be priority.

We're past clubs folding, but in 15 years when we're at 20 teams and most if not all other clubs are playing out of solid 25k+ facilties. If the Sharks are still playing out of subpar facilties, they might still be looked at for relocation. We're no longer in a situation where clubs can be complacent.

Vlad59

Any idea if the delay in the Leagues Club is something the Sharks are getting compensated for? Would be costing them millions per year in lost revenue - including stadium capacity as well.

Big if, but if stadium capacity goes back up to 17k after everythings opened up, They're not that far away from having a decent capacity stadium. They could fit a pretty sizeable stand on the Western side, which would solve pretty much all their problems (corporate facilities etc.) 14k stand for $200 mill. If they could put $100 mill in themselves, might be more chance of convincing the government for funds. With Kareela and the Leagues club firing I think they'd be able to afford it. It needs to be priority.

We're past clubs folding, but in 15 years when we're at 20 teams and most if not all other clubs are playing out of solid 25k+ facilties. If the Sharks are still playing out of subpar facilties, they might still be looked at for relocation. We're no longer in a situation where clubs can be complacent.
NRL just bought a hotel near the ground. They are committed to us staying where we are. In 15 years I’ll be 80. If we relocate then I probably won’t even know hahahaha

I’ve not been able to find out myself. Other sharkies might know. I’ve been there with 22000. I can’t imagine that will be achievable again. Personally I reckon we need to pack a couple of games off to the SFS each year to boost the average. Have to be the right games though.

I've been at Brookvale with 27 000+, Kogarah with 22 000+, Belmore with 27 000+ and Redfern Oval with 21 000+.
All games were what they were in the days before OH+S.
They were great days! No one ever complained about over-crowding back then.

NRL just bought a hotel near the ground. They are committed to us staying where we are. In 15 years I’ll be 80. If we relocate then I probably won’t even know hahahaha

I'm just a few years younger than you but same same.

When Parra Stadium was re-built in the 80's, I never thought it possible that it would again be re-built in my lifetime.
Yes, the Eels have been lucky, but it must be remembered that Parramatta is a proper city-like metropolis.

Cronulla is a beach side suburb.

Harry O

Never heard of anyone calling a ground as cute.

Maybe better if it was breathtaking, amazing, magnificent, stunning, mind boggling, mind blowing.....etc

What I don't get is where is this extra 4000 capacity coming from for Shark Park?

nko11

You never know they might be the Hobart Sharks playing out of the AFL's new $1 trillion stadium. Could work out alright for you.

I'm not saying it will or should happen at all. But 15 years is a long time and with lots of different adminstrations with different ideas. What I said applies to all clubs. We're in a new era, where you can't expect to play out of a substandard ground and keep up.

Vlad59

I'm just a few years younger than you but same same.

When Parra Stadium was re-built in the 80's, I never thought it possible that it would again be re-built in my lifetime.
Yes, the Eels have been lucky, but it must be remembered that Parramatta is a proper city-like metropolis.

Cronulla is a beach side suburb.
Yeah but we own our ground, and we are turning into a powerhouse off the field. Over 20000 locals play various versions of league from contact to touch. We’ve got a genuine rugby league culture. You don’t want to lose that. By the way parramatta might have grown but they have fallen far behind us when it comes to participation. A decent ground is our only weakness

Vlad59

You never know they might be the Hobart Sharks playing out of the AFL's new $1 trillion stadium. Could work out alright for you.

I'm not saying it will or should happen at all. But 15 years is a long time and with lots of different adminstrations with different ideas. What I said applies to all clubs. We're in a new era, where you can't expect to play out of a substandard ground and keep up.
The tassie stadium will still be under construction mate lol

Yeah but we own our ground, and we are turning into a powerhouse off the field. Over 20000 locals play various versions of league from contact to touch. We’ve got a genuine rugby league culture. You don’t want to lose that. By the way parramatta might have grown but they have fallen far behind us when it comes to participation. A decent ground is our only weakness
It is, and moving forward it is a really massive one, even the Manly CEO was saying about his own ground 17 000 ain`t good enough for an NRL club, 25k has to be the minimum.

Brian potter

Not a bad shout mate.

they could play 1 or 2 “home” games at shark park for nostalgia.

something needs to happen as 13k in today’s NRL just isn’t acceptable and nor should it be for a multi-billion dollar competition.

Harry O

Im all for it mate but I can’t see it myself as why would the NRL want to improve a competition that could potentially one day compete for its best players?
Good point, better not then. 🤣

Anyway, another thing also, the SL hierarchy should just piss the name SL off and call it the NRL. The N meaning the "Northern" game?