Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2027 coaching candidates

mattw5

WHY THE DRAGONS WILL OVERLOOK THE MOST OBVIOUS REPLACEMENT FOR SHANE FLANAGAN

Danny Weidler
SMH
19 April

Dean Young will need a significant change of heart from elements of the St George Illawarra board if he is any hope of being the next full-time coach of the Dragons – assuming Shane Flanagan can’t produce a miracle and hang on to his job.

Young is an assistant coach at the Dragons, but is behind the likes of South Sydney assistant and former Dragons captain Ben Hornby and former Eels and current Leeds coach Brad Arthur to be the next man in charge at Wollongong. The best Young can hope for is the job on an interim basis – which would be the easy and logical choice – if Flanagan can’t turn things around fast

The Dragons board meets on Tuesday, and the coaching job will no doubt be high on the agenda.

The strange thing is Young – who played 209 games for the Dragons, including a premiership win in 2010 – is highly regarded elsewhere, but just not at the Dragons.

Interestingly, a big part a reason he is on the outer is because of his surname. The club has spent years dealing with criticism of Shane and his halfback son Kyle Flanagan. They don’t want the same talk about Dean and his famous father Craig Young.

Craig played 234 games for the Red V, won premierships in 1977 and 1979, and was captain of the club at just 22 years of age. He is also on the St George District Rugby League board.

Dean Young has been interim coach at the Dragons before, when he replaced Paul McGregor in 2020.

If Dean fails to secure the coaching job at the Dragons, he may be forced to look at a number of issues aside from his surname.

People at the club reference an interview he did for a position some years back as an influential moment. The Dragons still discuss the Zoom-style interview where they say Young turned up wearing a training singlet. That has stuck in the memory of some. But I have been told that he was actually wearing a club polo shirt, which is reasonable.

Young’s role in the exit of Francis Molo from the Dragons in 2025 is also an issue. Molo claimed at an end-of-season review he was encouraged to drink alcohol when he was trying to stay away from it. He exited the club as a result in March the following year.

Young has never discussed his role in Molo’s exit. I have been told he praised Molo as a leader but suggested a greater role off the field at events and club functions to help the younger players. Young knows what has been said and has told people he disputes the way Molo used him as an excuse to leave the club.

Young has the backing of the likes of Wayne Bennett to become a head coach one day. Young has taken significant steps to broaden his coaching education, such as spending time with the Cowboys as an assistant to get a different perspective on rugby league.

Perhaps the biggest issue for Young is that he has been a part of Dragons’ failures for too many years in his role as an assistant. These are all points worth considering as the Dragons weigh up their options for now, next year and beyond.

Dragsters

I have no doubt that DY will be installed as our interim then on to officially being appointed as HC.

They (the Board) will use the age old tactic of: he may not be popular but they (us supporters) will get used to it. Throw in the stability line somewhere there also.

However, if by some miracle intervention he's not chosen then, after some more thought I would go with for HC:
1. Peter Wallace
2. Michael Cheika
3. Ben Hornby
As my preference.

Cheika would be an interesting choice given his pedigree in Union and now 2 stints at the Roosters as an assistant. We need someone to right the ship before flamboyance. Promote WT as 1 assistant and maybe lure Hornby back as another wouldn't be a bad blend imo.

Wallace would want to bring his own choices of assistants (and rightly so).
Dream team!

St Benny

Personally, I’d be looking at Cameron Smith.

Yeah, he’s untested as a coach — but you won’t find a bigger competitor or a smarter footy brain in the game. His leadership, composure, and understanding of the game are elite. Sometimes you’ve got to back intelligence and mindset over experience.

If you’re going to take a gamble, that’s the kind worth taking.

sammymills

Personally, I’d be looking at Cameron Smith.

Yeah, he’s untested as a coach — but you won’t find a bigger competitor or a smarter footy brain in the game. His leadership, composure, and understanding of the game are elite. Sometimes you’ve got to back intelligence and mindset over experience.

If you’re going to take a gamble, that’s the kind worth taking.
100%. Would he come tho? I reckon he would be a really astute signing.

Stewartliddle

Glad the club didn't just sack Shane but Haran aswell. Massive decision on who our next coach and head of football will be hopefully they have been planning it in the background for a few weeks and we can get some answers soon. Dean Young and Mick ennis deserve criticism aswell and I don't want either of them considered for the full time role

56to66

I think someone like Brian Smith could steady the ship for the next couple of years. Nathan Brown is another. Brad Arthur would probably be seeking a long-term gig. My pick for the standout rookie is Hornby, Unfortunately for Deano he'll need to find another club to prove his ability before given a go.

Dragons4me

I think someone like Brian Smith could steady the ship for the next couple of years. Nathan Brown is another. Brad Arthur would probably be seeking a long-term gig. My pick for the standout rookie is Hornby, Unfortunately for Deano he'll need to find another club to prove his ability before given a go.

** duplicated **

To show you how badly I wanted Haran gone, when I saw the announcement, my takeaway was Haran being sacked with Flanno being gone as a bonus, not the other way around...

bubs

Whoever gets the job trying to coach the shite out of your shitestain of a club will get a shiny new 'Sack????" thread here very soon after hiring.

Considering Rubio is a bit of a jack of all trades, I would be open to seeing him as our interim coach.

View attachment 112224
I'm not sure of his credentials (in any respect) but on past evidence this is the Mario we would get:
Mario Odyssey Dancing GIF