Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

3.2.1 v broncos

Warmess

I've all but given up on bagging this bloke. We seem to be stuck with him and there's no motivation to drop him. I can't think of a more glaring example of a passenger who quite clearly does not have the athletic attributes to be effective at this level.

I reckon. Our wingers are absolute dogshit. I think it's disguised by the fact that we don't have an attacking structure centered around creating gaps for our wingers, but rather our overlaps tend to come in around the centres.

It won't be fixed this year, but along with defense, it's something I really hope Bluey gets right for next season.

WarriorDefence

1 Matulino, if he's not the best prop in the game I'll eat my hat
2 mannering, brick wall on d
3 Johnson, layed on the first try and pinpoint kicking

Packer and locke hm

Maloney= woeful

Meth

I said this in the gameday thread, but I am sick of the amount of rubbish around the neck and head that Manu gets, moreso than any other player in the comp. When he 'offloaded the ball in his own 20', the guys were fair dinkum ripping his head off.

Iafeta

No offence Meth, but honestly mate, the Maloney being the most overrated player in the game is as funny as a morning constitutional shelling out money and smelling like roses. We are going to miss him hard.

3 Matulino
2 Mannering
1 Packer

The forwards were absolutely exceptional out there I thought. I thought they rolled the Broncos relentlessly. Mannering at times was brutal on defence with some one on one takes and a lot of repeat work out of dummy half stifling everything they had.

Iafeta

A lot of criticism of Johnson, which I understand as he needs to be more involved and decisive, but his kicking game was immaculate wasn't it? The contrast between his kicking and Maloney's was huge. How bad were the attempts at a bomb and a grubber that Maloney put in towards the end? And then even on the last play, a perfect kick by Johnson and yet another stinker from Maloney. The bloke is a f**king gumby.

I thought the most defining period of the game was between about the 63rd and 71st minute. In that period, Johnson grubbed dead, Maloney put a bomb out on the full, Maloney grubbed dead, and Vatuvei put down a pass off an inside line. At all four points we were hitting their 20 metre area and we let them off the hook. Up to that point I thought both halves kicked very well.

Iafeta

Yeah, agree with this. When Johnson did kick last night it was good. Much better attacking kicks than Maloney. Other times, with ball in hand, looked like he was after the glory play rather than running the team.

Seriously, why the hell didn't he pass to Matulino off Manu's bat back? Big Ben had nothing but the line in front of him. In the last fifteen, there were at least three instances when Johnson decided to float along the line and dummy, and so ran behind hole runners and generally got mixed up. At least twice, i think if he'd passed to Maloney, Maloney was a good chance of going through the line, or at least drawing defenders in for a productive offload.

Maloney wasn't good, but imo both halves were average.

Yep, Shaun bombed a try there unfortunately. With the times he had to take the tackle after running behind Maloney, it seemed a matter of timing... my only thoughts are maybe the wet track and a heavy ball slightly delays a movement and it might have thrown those moves off by like a tenth of a second which is enough. On a dry track I reckon we rip the Broncos by 20.

Manu Vatuvei

I thought the most defining period of the game was between about the 63rd and 71st minute. In that period, Johnson grubbed dead, Maloney put a bomb out on the full, Maloney grubbed dead, and Vatuvei put down a pass off an inside line. At all four points we were hitting their 20 metre area and we let them off the hook. Up to that point I thought both halves kicked very well.

Maloney put two simple kicks straight in to Broncos legs under no pressure in the first half. That's every bit as bad as, say, Manu dropping the ball twice on the first tackle.

Iafeta

Johnson's kicking was superb.

On that last play, I think if Maloney spread it instead of kicked it, we would have been a better chance.

In fairness on that last play, I think Maloney's intention was to pass it, but third-man-in-pull-down-her-pants-for-me Sam came from nowhere and got in the passing lane. If Maloney passed it there, Thaiday gets a play on the ball. The kick was a good idea, there were like 4 Warriors converging on it, and one Bronco. It was a pity it didn't spin left a bit... would have been an amazing play by all concerned.

Iafeta

Maloney put two simple kicks straight in to Broncos legs under no pressure in the first half. That's every bit as bad as, say, Manu dropping the ball twice on the first tackle.

Yeah those kicks were bad. I'm not sure if he was trying to kick it low to get the skid off the ground... there was one about 10 minutes earlier than that that he rolled into the in goal from 40m out, we trapped Hoffman and after a Johnson repeat as well, we scored. That was a very good play.

Iafeta

I said this in the gameday thread, but I am sick of the amount of rubbish around the neck and head that Manu gets, moreso than any other player in the comp. When he 'offloaded the ball in his own 20', the guys were fair dinkum ripping his head off.

It was happening all game. I am seriously hoping McClennan is raising that to Bill Harrigan. Being unable to control a bloke doesn't give them permission to wrench at his neck repeatedly.

Meth

No offence Meth, but honestly mate, the Maloney being the most overrated player in the game is as funny as a morning constitutional shelling out money and smelling like roses.

The Roosters are talking about him like he's some sort of Messianic figure. They are in for a huge let down.

Fast Eddie

He's only overrated by Warriors and Roosters fans (and thats mainly because they all hate Anasta). I don't usually put much emphasis on rep selections and what not but the fact he couldn't even make a city/country game says a little bit.

kos

Meth
Lets just see how 2013 goes without Maloney. Maloney is a tough little rooster with a football brain.

Lets hope if they throw Tommy L in 6 next year he goes better.

Manu Vatuvei

Meth
Lets just see how 2013 goes without Maloney. Maloney is a tough little rooster with a football brain.

Lets hope if they throw Tommy L in 6 next year he goes better.

Questionable

In fairness, I think Maloney probably has the right ideas about what he should be doing in the game, just not really the quick thinking to actually pull it off

Rich102

3. Matulino
2. Mannering
1. Packer.

Two tries to one says it all. Shame about the kicking.

tangalife

why is everyone on mannering's dick and gives him 3 points every game? Not that I dont think hes a great player and he always is consistent but he seems to be topping everyones point list every game. IMO Friend and Matulino had stronger games.

Izz

why is everyone on mannering's dick and gives him 3 points every game? Not that I dont think hes a great player and he always is consistent but he seems to be topping everyones point list every game. IMO Friend and Matulino had stronger games.
3 out of 18 isn't quite everyone. ;-) 12 of the 18 so far have given Big Ben 3. Single 3 for Friend to date.

I do like a good stat.

Iafeta

Mannering's defence out there was epic. I loved it when the bloke was at first marker, for a set or two there he was tackling everything that moved out of marker and the Broncos were going nowhere.

hitman82

Hard - he was being choked out. I thought it was an obvious penalty... guess I was wrong. TBH in a situation like that I'd back a player dropping and clutching their throat. I'm sick of our players being hard merkins and getting dudded for blatant high tackles and chokes.

Also possibly the WORST leg pull I've ever seen - and no penalty. The referees were f**king geniused.