Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

4 Nations 2009 New Zealand v Great Britain & Ireland

Pistol

Forum 7s - 4 Nations - 2009
NEW ZEALAND v GREAT BRITAIN & IRELAND LIONS
logo_kiwi_NZ.jpg
-v-
british-map-100x100.jpg

LeagueNut (c)
--------Big Mick (c)

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.​

Naming Teams (F7s 4 Nations conditions):
* 3v3 (+ 2 reserves for each team)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named​

FULL TIME (F7s 4 Nations Conditions): Sunday 22 November 2009 at 9pm (Syd time)

REFEREE:
REFEREE: Showmanship

Venue: North Harbour Stadium
northharbourstadium2.jpg

**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

LeagueNut

Kiwis.jpg

The Kiwis rock up to North Harbour Stadium ... hey, I can see my house from here! Inspired by the embarrasingly unkempt state of his garden, LeagueNut takes the Kiwis into battle determined to "chop down" the opposition. ;-)

-----------------------------------
Team:
Hallatia
Jesbass

Bench:
LeagueNut (c)
Dragon_psa
-----------------------------------

Ringa pakia
Uma tiraha
Turi whatia
Hope whai ake
Waewae takahia kia kino

Ka mate, ka mate
Ka ora' Ka ora'
Ka mate, ka mate
Ka ora Ka ora

Tēnei te tangata pūhuruhuru
Nāna i tiki mai whakawhiti te rā
Upane... Upane
Upane Kaupane
Whiti te rā

Hī!

madunit for the Kiwis

Pippette

There is one little genius from yesteryear who would never have made it past one match in the current commercialised game.

With bans on alcohol and cigarette sponsorship, modern player physical dimensions and the training regimes they are subjected to, this pocket-sized genius would have never been.

Weighing under 70kgs and standing 5’3”, he is still one of the smallest players to ever play international rugby league, something which he did for fourteen years.

He was Robert Aubert Puig.

In 1944 while playing for French club Carcassonne, aged 19, he was selected in the run-on side for the first time, however he shared the same surname as two more prominent players at the time, so the French newspapers intentionally reversed his surname so that it read Puig-Aubert.

And an International rugby league legend was born.

On many occasions through his career, Puig-Aubert would be seen smoking while playing. In a match against Wigan in 1947, while playing at fullback, he was catching the ball one-handed, while holding his thinly rolled cigarette in the other hand.

When the French toured Australia in 1951, the public were witness not just to his on-field smoking antics, but also his bewildering attitude towards defence, his amazing attacking flair and his unique goalkicking style which has never since been replicated.

Puig-Aubert avoided tackling as much as he humanly could. He knew it was a weakness of his game, but his justification for allowing players to score tries when he could have attempted a tackle on them was what amazed the Australian media and public most.

After one tour match in Australia, a reporter asked Puig-Aubert why it is that he doesn’t tackle.
Puig Aubert replied “There are twelve men in front of me who should have stopped him, that’s their job. I do everything else.”

He would let players score as a form of punishment to his defenders. As strange a tactic this appears, it seemed to have the desired affect, as the French sides in the 1940’s and 1950’s were regarded as one of the toughest test sides to beat and were clearly the greatest French Rugby league sides ever to grace the field.

Puig-Aubert was also a devout non-trainer. He loathed training and would regularly avoid attending. On the few occasions that he did appear, he was more interested in arguing with the coach than training.

Yet the most amazing and widely remembered oddities about this great player was his goalkicking. He had an unbelievable success rate at kicking goals. In some matches he would just place the ball flat on the ground, turn around, walk back without measuring a run-up, amble in and kick the ball soccer-style and it would frequently sail over the crossbar.

Henri Garcia recalls Puig Aubert’s first match at the SCG between France and Sydney in 1951:

“…the stunned crowd watched in amazement as the incredible Puig-Aubert teed
the ball up without even looking at the posts, turned towards his own line and,
after a short run-up, lazily booted it skyward between the uprights. What cheek!
What an affront to rugby etiquette…”

Keith Holman was known to have said that Puig-Aubert was the only player to make Clive Churchill look ordinary. Holman also said:

“One day at practice on the Sydney Cricket Ground I saw him do something I've
never seen before or since. He placed the ball where the corner post usually stands and
with a remarkable kick curved it around between the goal posts for a goal.”

Puig-Aubert broke the tour pointscoring record on the 1951 Australian tour, a record previously held by England’s legendary Jim Sullivan. He also kicked 18 goals from 18 attempts in the 3 tests against Australia on the 1951 tour, a record which still stands.

Upon the arrival back home after the successful jaunt to Australia, he was awarded France’s Champion of Champions title, the first time any footballer from any code had ever won the award.

Puig-Aubert retired from rugby league in 1960. He became a test selector for France in 1969, a job he held for the next decade.

In the 1980’s he was diagnosed with lung cancer, a direct result of his many years of chain smoking.
He passed away at his home in Carcassonne in 1994, aged 69.

In 2003, a statue of Puig-Aubert was unveiled at Stade Domec in Carcassonne.

The staue was taller and heavier than Puig-Aubert.

But it’s charm, showmanship and unparalleled extravagance pales in comparison to the one and only ‘Pippette.”

749 words, including title.

Hallatia

Hallatia runs out topless for New Zealand because she hasn't been given a jersey yet *scowls*

[FONT=&quot]ЖЖЖЖЖЖЖ
My Kiwi Affair
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]I am a diehard Parramatta fan, but I have a confession to make... I love the Warriors.
[/FONT] [FONT=&quot]
stupid.jpg
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] What can I say? They stole my heart...
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] My love affair with the Warriors commenced several years ago, I was young, the century had recently turned and no one knew quite what to expect from the twenty-first...

I never considered leaving Parra for the Warriors and I could never leave the blue and gold for anyone... but there was something about those crazy Kiwis I fell in love with. It wasn’t their accents or impossible to pronounce names. It wasn’t the exotic flavour or their Polynesian appeal:sarcasm:
[/FONT][FONT=&quot]. It was their style. They offered this wonderful spark that Parra didn’t – you give so much of yourself to a team and after so long they stop putting the effort in:([/FONT][FONT=&quot]. But the Warriors, they came out and ENTERTAINED!!! And with their illustrious style they stole my heart.

The way they threw the ball around was Harlem globetrotter-esque. They quite literally played basketball on the football field! I was enthralled and excited, they had not developed a perfect art, but that was half its appeal – it was insane, you were never meant to think they could pull those crazy plays off – but they often did and it was mesmerising! The way they moved that ball set the competition alight.

2004 was not a great year for Rugby League – the Bulldogs won the grand final, could it get much worse? But it was the mid-season antics which affected me, it had not been the Warriors best year and Daniel Anderson’s resignation seemed to have put an end to the awe-inspiring showmanship which won me over. Even though the excitement ended, I will always have a soft spot for that team which stole my heart.

What the Warriors pulled off in the years leading up to 2004 was unforgettable. In 2001, the Warriors played the Bulldogs in Wellington and a crowd of over 27,500 sat in silence as the Bulldogs built a commanding 24-8 lead before the Warriors amazingly clicked into gear in the last ten. Tries to Francis Meli, Henry Fa’afili and Clinton Toopi secured a 24-all draw and the crowd left awe-struck.

In 2002, the Warriors played the Broncos in Auckland. Brent Webb sparked a break to put Ali Lauti’iti in a gap, Ali tears away before eventually offloading to Stacey Jones who sets up a try for Ivan Cleary. Stacey said afterward that it looked like the pass had come “from his backside” – hence the try is now known as the one with “the pass from the arse”.

In 2003, the 3 vs 6 finals match, and Francis Meli scores 5 tries – a record likely to stand in finals footy for a bloody long time. Meli, Sione Faumuina and Clinton Toopi carved the Dogs’ defence to shreds, scoring practically at will during the second half. Even when Brent Webb was sin-binned reducing the Warriors to 12 men, Motu Tony came on and set up a try with his first touch.

All that was left after 2004 was the legacy of the early noughties Warriors, which suggested I thank Anderson for the memories and turn back to the ever-frustrating Parramatta team I love. In the time that past, Parramatta showed glimpses of brilliance with our playing talent, but expended a few coaches and consistently under-achieved.

Imagine my excitement in late 2008 with murmurs of Anderson returning to the NRL after a successful stint with ESL team St Helens, and I was over the moon at suggestions that he would be coming to coach my team. When the murmurs developed substance and he had signed a contract, the excitement built for Eels’ season 2009.

Half a season in and the Eels looked like they would yet again under-achieve... but enough has been said about Parramatta’s surge to the finals. There was one game which reignited my faith in Daniel Anderson and the illustrious showmanship he brings to the NRL – Round 16, Parramatta Stadium, Eels vs Broncos. Another Kiwi kid, but this time one in blue and gold, intercepted a pass from Kangaroo captain Darren Lockyer to score a 95-metre thriller. We also saw a mesmerising set piece where the ball went through about 8 sets of Parra hands before a ripper of a try was scored and it was almost as though we were watching the Warriors half a decade ago...

Long may it continue!\\\\:D/
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]ЖЖЖЖЖЖЖ
[/FONT]
748 words

LeagueNut

Kiwis.jpg

LeagueNut - Kiwis

=======================================

Boom-tish

This shouldn’t come as any great shock, but most people rock up to a Rugby League game expecting to be entertained. We want two teams going hammer and tongs, throwing everything they’ve got at each other, and giving us something to yell and scream about.

Over the years there have been plenty of showmen in the NRL, mostly made up of those pretty boys in the backline who flash a toothy smile at you while they’re jogging away for a try, flicking their hair as they go to make sure they’re ready for their close-up under the posts.

But there’s one group of showmen who don’t get the kudos for their efforts on game day. They won’t win any awards or get to wear a Premiership ring, but the part they play in an enjoyable day at the footy shouldn’t be underestimated.

It’s the fans – and especially the sledgers.

It’s hard to describe the impact of a well-timed and clever sledge from the grandstand. It makes a good thing even better – like an ice-cream at the beach, or a beer at a barbeque, or a feather-duster during marital relations. Sure, you can live without it and enjoy the game just as much, but it’s more satisfying to enjoy the physical battle with a bit of comedy thrown in too.

It’s not easy being a showman from the stands – for starters, you’ve got to be reasonably funny. Other fans don’t expect you to be a world-class comedian, but you’ve still got to put in a bit of effort if you want to win their respect and admiration. Yelling out “hey ref, you’re an egg!” might work at the right times, but if that’s the limit of your creative juices then you might as well go home now.

The best sledges aren’t just funny, they’re also meaningful. Anyone can be called “fat”, “useless” or a “balding kumquat”, but as the famous saying goes, it’s really the truth that will hurt.

I’ve heard some crackers over the years at Mt Smart. Here’s a few of my own favourites from 2009 – perhaps not so much for the comedy value, but more for the reaction they got from those who were targeted:

Woman to touch judge (once they’d started wearing those pink jerseys): “Hey touchie, where’d you find a pair of pantyhose to match your top?”

Man to Terry Campese: “Hey Campo, New South Wales were horrible in the first Origin, and they only dropped you! Just you! How did that make you feel Campo? They were horrible, and they only dropped you!!”

Man to Joel Monaghan as he walked back into position looking pleased with himself: “Hey Monaghan, thanks for the World Cup!”

Now the worst thing a player or touchie can do is react – it’s really the proverbial red rag to a bull. In the cases above, the touchie took it in his stride and allowed himself a smirk, while Joel Monaghan looked momentarily stunned but quickly shook it off like he should.

Campo, on the other hand, turned around and started talking back.

All of a sudden the whole section of the crowd in front of him rose as if they were all sitting on pincushions. Old ladies in wheelchairs were standing up and berating him! I don’t know what his mentality was for thinking he could reason with a sledging yobbo, but no matter what he did, he was always going to lose.

Of course there are others who can get away with it. Wendell was good value, even giving the Mt Smart faithful a good old-fashioned mooning to remember him by in his final appearance on this side of the Tasman. He understood the dance…

But for all the wit that flies around on game day there’s nothing more effective than a well-timed and completely truthful sledge. Here’s my personal favourite from way back in 2002:

The Northern Eagles had turned up for a clash against the Warriors and ended up being thoroughly annihilated. The crowd was in a jovial mood as you’d imagine, and it got to the stage where we almost felt sorry for the opposition. During the second half there was a lull in the play as the Eagles were trying to work the ball away from their own tryline. There was a momentary lapse in noise, and then it came … booming loud and clear across the ground …

“Give Hopoate a crack!”

=======================================
743 words in the official counter

Hallatia

I just realised, they didn't even name a side, are we sure they knew we had a game on now?

Jesbass

I'm pretty certain that Mick knew, going by a brief discussion in their team thread a couple of days ago. I suspect real life came into play, though. (And that's an offside penalty!)

Results - New Zealand vs Great Britain And Ireland

New Zealand

Madunit - Pippette
Score: 88
The author has written a detailed piece about a former larrakin of the game that somehow is barely mentioned these days, despite his former fame. The article is written in a great manner that combines his personality with a close link to the topic of the match. Well done for the great study you have put into this piece as well.

Hallatia - My Kiwi Affair
Score: 85
First, I must say well done, as it is very difficult to write about a second team. The author has written about a piece about a love for a second team, the Warriors, and the skills they were capable of. It reminded me of some great viewing a few years back. An interesting piece this one.

LeagueNut - Boom-Tish
Score: 93
The author has written a funny article revolving around some of the chants we hear from the fans at Mt. Smart Stadium. There are many great examples involved in a simple, but fun piece. I find the best articles are either written from personal experience or Rugby League humour. You have managed to gift-wrap the two together. Well done.

Great Britain And Ireland

No Post

Final Score: New Zealand 266 def. Great Britain And Ireland 0
Player Of The Match: LeagueNut (New Zealand)
Comments: First of all I would like to personally thank the Great Britain And Ireland side for their involvement, and send best wishes to them and their personal lives. For New Zealand, you've made the topic really interesting to think about. You have combined not only skill, but history and humour too (and plenty of it). Good luck for your Grand Final.