Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

abandoned Balmain Tigers Leagues club fiasco - photos & feelings

T.S Quint

I loved Balmain and hated thr merger.

But its happened.

You have two options, accept it or f**k off.

Too many of these morons with neolithic attitudes towards the merger.

All you wankers do is hold the Wests Tigers back.

Well said.
You are stronger man than some. I'm not sure how I would go if the Eels merged.

But one thing I know I wouldn't do is hang around bitching and moaning.

balmaintigress

Didn't they merge because they were broke? So they need a Russell Crowe-type to swoop in and save the day. Can't they get another sponsor on board???? A real estate sponsor who will gift them XXXX years rent on a venue???? Seriously, something must be done. I don't want pokies to pervade the neighbourhood, but if there's decent entertainment, good food and drinks I would go....it's outside the lockout zone too!

Yeah the photos Lost Collective took are mad, the club is now a popular place for creatives to come and make projects, think it's been used as a film set too. Squatters have never been there when I visited, but deffo seen signs of them around the place.

Have tried to post a link to my photos but it won't let me as am new, but will do later.

Can someone possibly explain if the Balmain Tigers go out of business can they ever come back at a later date? Or will there be no more TIGERS team? Like there is no more BEARS team?

alien

A 12-storey building in that area would be disastrous.
You're talking about increasing the traffic of people and cars around what is already one of the busiest roads in Sydney (Victoria Rd). I spend quite a lot of time in Rozelle, and a building of that size would stand out like dog's balls. Very few buildings are more than 2 storeys, and the council and residents are very protective of the aesthetics in the area.

Fix up the joint, by all means. But don't turn it into a behemoth of a building just for the sake of it.

they actually expected the flight route of planes to change, so they could build residential twin towers on top of a leagues club :lol:

balmaintigress

Also the fact that you "refuse to call them WESTS" probably means that you should just give it away now.

If someone asks 'who's your footy team' I would say BALMAIN TIGERS only

my favourite footy era was when the men smoked at half time, went for beers at the pub after the game and had side jobs as hot tradies.... :thumb

sensesmaybenumbed

the world doesn't revolve around balmange tigers, even though a lot of it's fans obviously act like it should

That sounds like a former magpies, former Tigers, currently souffs fan for hire that some might have heard of.

His right hand is called 'rabs20'.

drago brelli

A 12-storey building in that area would be disastrous.
You're talking about increasing the traffic of people and cars around what is already one of the busiest roads in Sydney (Victoria Rd). I spend quite a lot of time in Rozelle, and a building of that size would stand out like dog's balls. Very few buildings are more than 2 storeys, and the council and residents are very protective of the aesthetics in the area.

Fix up the joint, by all means. But don't turn it into a behemoth of a building just for the sake of it.

Disastrous may be but join the rest of us here in Sydney. Developers are running amok in Sydney aided by Liberal councils and a Liberal State Government. Apart from the bridge and the harbour Sydney is rapidly turning to shit.

alien

12074884_672579579545122_996816088920179929_n.jpg

Reading Balmaintigress posts makes me realize how souths fans must feel when they read alien and r20s posts

magpie4ever

Disastrous may be but join the rest of us here in Sydney. Developers are running amok in Sydney aided by Liberal councils and a Liberal State Government. Apart from the bridge and the harbour Sydney is rapidly turning to shit.

Sydney is shit, it is just bloody dirty, dusty and overcrowded. It was at it best when the greater Sydney region had about 2.5 million people, the city was never built for 4-5 million residents.

As far as the other matter is concerned, posters know my point of view but seriously Tigress face the fact Balmain are extinct when they are unable to repay the debt to the NRL in March.

alien

Balmain Leagues Club: It’s now a sad and lonely ghost
January 20, 2016 10:40am - Neil Keene - The Daily Telegraph

THE former home of one of Australia’s most vaunted sporting clubs has been left to rot – literally – while arguments continue about the future of the site.

This year marks seven years since the Balmain Leagues Club was sold for $1 in exchange for its buyer inheriting the club’s $22million-plus debt.

But a series of shocking photos captured by Sydney photographer Brett Patman shows just how far the once-proud building has fallen into disrepair.

Squatters have taken up residence, floors are rotting from water damage and almost every wall has been covered in graffiti.

Meanwhile, the wrangling continues over what is to become of the site and who is to blame for its condition, with developer Ian Wright blaming Leichhardt Council, Mayor Darcy Byrne blaming Mr Wright and angry residents just wanting it all to come to a resolution they can live with.

Mr Wright and his Rozelle Village development company have tried and failed repeatedly to get the green light for large-scale development of the site, consisting of residential towers, shops and a new leagues club home.

But opponents shot down the initial 32-storey proposal, and several others that gradually decreased in height.

The current iteration consists of 135 apartments across a 12-storey tower and an eight-storey tower, the leagues club, a supermarket and 15 specialty shops.

Under the latest proposal, which is set for a NSW Land & Environment Court hearing in March, the leagues club would get the right to lease part of the site back for 45 years at market value.

“Everything that can be done is being done,” Mr Wright said yesterday, in relation to the building’s current state.

“We’ve got a perimeter fence around the entire site and we have four security patrols per night so there’s not much else we can do.”

“The real issue is why it is like it is, and the simple answer to that is Leichhardt Council’s incompetence.”

Mr Wright claimed his current proposal was “fully compliant” with the council’s planning controls and should be approved.

But mayor Darby Byrne argued that approval should not be given until Mr Wright agreed to let the leagues club take up permanent residence at the site for minimal rent.

“Our primary objective, as has been promised by the developer all along, is to make sure the Balmain Tigers will have a permanent home in the heartland of Rozelle through this redevelopment,” he said.

“At the moment, that’s far from guaranteed.”

“In terms of the building, I think it’s appalling that Rozelle Village has allowed it to become as dilapidated as it is. Balmain Tigers should never have been moved out of the building in the first place.”

Hundreds of people – many of them local residents and loyal Tigers fans – took to Mr Patman’s Lost Collective Facebook page, where he posted the photos on Saturday, to air their sadness and disgust at the site’s condition and about the ongoing development saga.

Rozelle Residents Action Group spokesman David Anderson said the block should never have been rezoned for such high-density development.

“There is overwhelming local opposition to the current proposal development due to its negative impacts,” he said.

“We are, however, supportive of a council initiated rezoning, with building heights of six and eight storeys and a substantially reduced retail component.”

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...t/news-story/bfb8e91628bfd7debb7ee2cebe7a8a05

balmaintigress

admit I laughed at someone's comment above saying 'balmange tigers'

I don't know the ins & outs of the club/business side/history of everything nrl but I do enjoy watching league and have my fav teams and ones I hate (manly, cronulla & st george) but also just like the nostalgia of the Balmain Tigers and in lots of places around the inner west you see Tigers around, it's a proud mascot! Am scared we'll lose the Tiger in town.

The sledging is making me lol but still want to know the whole story.

I can almost taste the steak & mushroom sauce & refreshing vodka lemonade now @ the old leagues club ...