Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

abandoned Balmain Tigers Leagues club fiasco - photos & feelings

Didn't they merge because they were broke? So they need a Russell Crowe-type to swoop in and save the day. Can't they get another sponsor on board???? A real estate sponsor who will gift them XXXX years rent on a venue???? Seriously, something must be done. I don't want pokies to pervade the neighbourhood, but if there's decent entertainment, good food and drinks I would go....it's outside the lockout zone too!

Yeah the photos Lost Collective took are mad, the club is now a popular place for creatives to come and make projects, think it's been used as a film set too. Squatters have never been there when I visited, but deffo seen signs of them around the place.

Have tried to post a link to my photos but it won't let me as am new, but will do later.

Can someone possibly explain if the Balmain Tigers go out of business can they ever come back at a later date? Or will there be no more TIGERS team? Like there is no more BEARS team?
Balmain weren't broke. But they weren't rolling in cash or making any great profits. Wests were in a worse state.

Combined they survived off the NRL grant.

Balmain can come back if they can afford it. But theres no chance in hell the NRL is going to add more Sydney teams. The last time Sydney expansion happened was in 1967.

There will be no more Balmain Tigers at NRL level.

If someone asks 'who's your footy team' I would say BALMAIN TIGERS only

my favourite footy era was when the men smoked at half time, went for beers at the pub after the game and had side jobs as hot tradies.... :thumb

So if the 1960's was your favourite era why do you care so much about the game now?

Either stop lying, move with the times or go away.

unforgiven

i beg to differ!!!

Oh surprise, here he is, the guy who supported a merged side for years, celebrated a premiership win, then when he was unhappy with the direction of the club jumped ship to support another team. All the time complaining that the other side of the merger killed his magpies and that he lost his team. Then he actively pushes for other people to lose their team so he can have his magpies back.

Alien, you moved on and support another team, you need to stop death riding other peoples teams in the purpose of you having 2. You would think someone who lost their team would have the decency to not want that to happen to others.

For example, why would you want my daughter to lose her team, the only team she has ever supported if you know what it feels like to lose your team?

I know you probably won't reply to thid as you are a gutless little man, but just move on, you supporr souths now, let other people have their team.

Oh surprise, here he is, the guy who supported a merged side for years, celebrated a premiership win, then when he was unhappy with the direction of the club jumped ship to support another team. All the time complaining that the other side of the merger killed his magpies and that he lost his team. Then he actively pushes for other people to lose their team so he can have his magpies back.

Alien, you moved on and support another team, you need to stop death riding other peoples teams in the purpose of you having 2. You would think someone who lost their team would have the decency to not want that to happen to others.

For example, why would you want my daughter to lose her team, the only team she has ever supported if you know what it feels like to lose your team?

I know you probably won't reply to thid as you are a gutless little man, but just move on, you supporr souths now, let other people have their team.

great post mate. quality truth telling there

juro

I don't see why Rozelle should be immune to taller buildings. It is only 4km from the CBD, so it should be next in line to have proper high-density living (like Pyrmont). Instead, we have 10+ storey buildings going up everywhere else around Sydney. Lunacy!

bottle

I don't see why Rozelle should be immune to taller buildings. It is only 4km from the CBD, so it should be next in line to have proper high-density living (like Pyrmont). Instead, we have 10+ storey buildings going up everywhere else around Sydney. Lunacy!

There's a 20 storey job going up in Castle Hill ffs.
Surely anything would be better than the eyesore they have allowed that site to develop into. It's just inner city hipster nimbyism.

bazza

I feel like the people who don't want the development to go ahead are a very vocal minority - there is a personal grudge between Leichhardt Council mayor and the developer dude.

We can't lose the Balmain Tigers, they're one of our oldest league clubs! Seriously, that'd be a travesty. Am still upset about the Bears RIP

Should have built the metro line there

reanimate

That goes for basically all the inner-west, it's absolute lunacy that there's still so many sections of low density free standing houses and terrace houses there when the area has access to some of the best public transport Sydney has.

Desert Qlder

Some pictures in the link also:

NO PARKING - ABANDONED TIGERS CAR PARK

In the 1950's the Balmain Tigers had such a huge following that they needed to build something just for the passionate followers, so in 1957 such a building was built, The Balmain Leagues Club. The club was the home to many die hard fans that would pile in on the weekends to come and down a few schooners and scream at the tv screens to get their team home.

The leagues club operated for over 50 years and in that time it was even identified as a 'place of historical significance' by the Australian Rugby League, it even held the party for the Tigers when they won the 2005 premiership. But just 5 years after their premiership the doors shut and were never to be opened again.

There is a whole ugly story (possibly more then one) about what is going to happen with the site and proposals like a 20 storey high rise that has been back and fourth with courts and council approvals and people doing some dodgy things by the sounds of it, but I can't be bothered doing the research into that as I* don't care what goes up there.

The Leagues Club was abandoned in 2010, and it quickly made way for some squatters who set up some pretty decent living quarters there, and from word on the street it sounds like they had a pretty sweet set up in there and were in there for a while. When you look through the barred windows you can see couches, tvs, beds and even some cooking utensils still there, but gaining access to the building isn't as easy as it used to be.

In saying that, this is why this is titled the Tigers Car Park, as on my visit I never go inside, I could see two access points which both involved the possibility of falling from a decent height that could of resulted in being seriously hurt, or possibly dead, so climbing up onto a three storey ledge and in through a broken glass window is not what i consider a smart choice. I have seen photos from inside and it looks cool, pretty trashed but there are some squatters treasures in there, but also from what i have heard there was a heavy drug presence in there, so if you do tempt death climbing in here, watch out for drug paraphernalia or possibly even a junky still lurking in the shadows.

The car park on the other hand is a lot less dangerous and takes no life threatening stunts to gain access. The car park once would of been filled with punters going to watch the game, resulting in their cars spending a night or two here after a few too many cold ones, but no cars have parked in here for a while.

It is just a car park, it is a multi-storey car park though, which makes it a little more exciting, but in the end its still just a carpark. It has some random objects scattered around the place and it does have some really cool graffiti in here. It's not mind blowing or going to make your top list of places to explore, but it's still got its charms, and if you explore enough you'll even come across a trophy or two from the clubs glory days.

WHAT: The car park for the former Balmain Leagues Club.

ACCESS - EASY: It's on a main road, but when i was there kids were jumping the fence right there...i opted for a more subtle entrance but that too was easy.

SECURITY - MEDIUM: Being on a busy road ups the security a bit as you never know what kind of nosey person might see you and dob you in, once inside though you'll be fine. When we were there there were workers there re-inforcing the doors that were boarded up, making the former leagues club like an impenetrable fortress unless you are spiderman.

INTEREST - 4/10: Like I said above its not mind blowing, but there are some cool relics laying around, some random shit as well but some cool, creative street art that's always nice to see.

ALONE OR WITH A FRIEND: It's a place you could do yourself as long as you aren't trying to get into the leagues club, it's small and no real dangers present.

DANGERS: None really...glass like every other abandonment, a needle or two which are never nice to stumble across but besides those structurally its sound.

http://www.abandonedaustralia.com/2015/07/no-parking-abandoned-tigers-car-park.html

Pugzley

So the Balmange Tigers are a bunch of squatters bumming of the Wests Tigers brand rent free and accepting dole checks from Wests Ashfields Leagues Club. Such a proud club, Balmange are. :sarcasm:

Because he's a merkin?

alien

10391991_696100300526383_722090670170088091_n.jpg