Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

abandoned Balmain Tigers Leagues club fiasco - photos & feelings

magpie4ever

admit I laughed at someone's comment above saying 'balmange tigers'

I don't know the ins & outs of the club/business side/history of everything nrl but I do enjoy watching league and have my fav teams and ones I hate (manly, cronulla & st george) but also just like the nostalgia of the Balmain Tigers and in lots of places around the inner west you see Tigers around, it's a proud mascot! Am scared we'll lose the Tiger in town.

The sledging is making me lol but still want to know the whole story.

I can almost taste the steak & mushroom sauce & refreshing vodka lemonade now @ the old leagues club ...

There would be plenty of mushies growing on the site now, duck down grab some and walla, home-made mushy sauce. but be careful of the gold top ones.

BuffaloRules

admit I laughed at someone's comment above saying 'balmange tigers'

I don't know the ins & outs of the club/business side/history of everything nrl but I do enjoy watching league and have my fav teams and ones I hate (manly, cronulla & st george) but also just like the nostalgia of the Balmain Tigers and in lots of places around the inner west you see Tigers around, it's a proud mascot! Am scared we'll lose the Tiger in town.

The sledging is making me lol but still want to know the whole story.

I can almost taste the steak & mushroom sauce & refreshing vodka lemonade now @ the old leagues club ...

The whole story has been unfolding for years. When was the last time you read the newspaper prior to today?

Did you previously notice the club hasn't been open for a while?

balmaintigress

The whole story has been unfolding for years. When was the last time you read the newspaper prior to today?

Did you previously notice the club hasn't been open for a while?

I meant with all the teams, as in am not considered a 'hardcore' fan. Probably just a 'lite' fan. When I lived in Marrickville would go watch the Newtown Jets play sometimes, they let dogs in there too, which is nice.

I do know some details of the specific Tigers situation, as have written a blog post with my photos from exploring inside the abandoned leagues club building. I don't know all the info over the years as was overseas for some of it (like during the years around the Cronulla riots) and when I returned it was shut. But really expected the legal battle would've been resolved by now.

For sure the original skyscrapers were a ridiculous proposal, but 12 storeys is not that bad. If it was developed tastefully it could be a good little entertainment precinct. I could personally put up with a building that high in order to still have a TIGERS football team in the comp. It's the 21st century, Balmain is beautiful but I do believe that old & new buildings can stand together tasteully.

Anyways, if the TIGER dies it'll be as sad as when the bears went down.

alien

I meant with all the teams, as in am not considered a 'hardcore' fan. Probably just a 'lite' fan. When I lived in Marrickville would go watch the Newtown Jets play sometimes, they let dogs in there too, which is nice.

I do know some details of the specific Tigers situation, as have written a blog post with my photos from exploring inside the abandoned leagues club building. I don't know all the info over the years as was overseas for some of it (like during the years around the Cronulla riots) and when I returned it was shut. But really expected the legal battle would've been resolved by now.

For sure the original skyscrapers were a ridiculous proposal, but 12 storeys is not that bad. If it was developed tastefully it could be a good little entertainment precinct. I could personally put up with a building that high in order to still have a TIGERS football team in the comp. It's the 21st century, Balmain is beautiful but I do believe that old & new buildings can stand together tasteully.

supposedly the sunset date was in december last year, which means what ever residential towers, shops, etc gets approved, the developer doesn't have to build a leagues club as a part of it now, unless that date got pushed back..

The developers will still have a better chance of getting something built if they include the Leagues Club even if the sunset clause expired. No Leagues club would result in them getting zero community support

The tiger is the most used mascot in the sporting world. It won't die. It's too strong. I grew up in dragons and sharks territory, had a dad who was a manly fan and most of the family dogs fans. However as a kid my favourite animal was a tiger, so when I started watching footy I supported the Tigers. Lots of fans who have no affiliation with the Balmain/Wests area started the same way.

alien

The developers will still have a better chance of getting something built if they include the Leagues Club even if the sunset clause expired. No Leagues club would result in them getting zero community support

balmain leagues clubs were going into a lot of debt every year, so even if the leagues club is built, how are they going to suddenly make a profit now, especially when they would have to pay a lease now???

BuffaloRules

The tiger is the most used mascot in the sporting world. It won't die. It's too strong. I grew up in dragons and sharks territory, had a dad who was a manly fan and most of the family dogs fans. However as a kid my favourite animal was a tiger, so when I started watching footy I supported the Tigers. Lots of fans who have no affiliation with the Balmain/Wests area started the same way.

Agree that it's a strong brand in RL.

I just don't get why any sane person could seriously suggest they would flush 16+ Years of Wests Tigers branding down the dunny and change the name back to Magpies.

How many fans do they have now who have only known Wests Tigers?

the perth based "western magpies" could just use wests ashfield leagues club as a way to make money. i doubt the asians who throw their 50 dollar notes into the pokies and roulette wheels would give a shit if there were no more tigers in the nrl..

Wests Ashfield are doing a big refit of the upstairs dining areas, so they will have 3 "Western" options, the cafe, and the Chinese yum cha. All to make themselves less reliant on gaming (not that they would ever give it up)

alien

That supposed "strong brand" doesn't look very strong to me! It looks like a failing and dying brand! Time to put the filthy cat out of it's misery, and let the magpie RISE from the ashes! (ashfield) :D

BuffaloRules

That supposed "strong brand" doesn't look very strong to me! It looks like a failing and dying brand! Time to put the filthy cat out of it's misery, and let the magpie RISE from the ashes! :D

What's this got to do with your club Souffs?

Alex28

The trashed leagues club building seems strangely symbolic for what the Wests Tigers have become...

alien

the new balmange leagues club!

12239541_675662082570205_7825189726592211842_n.jpg

MrAnonymous

f**k you're a strange f**ker. Have you been diagnosed with Asperger's yet ? If not id go check that shit out ay.

sensesmaybenumbed

balmain leagues clubs were going into a lot of debt every year, so even if the leagues club is built, how are they going to suddenly make a profit now, especially when they would have to pay a lease now???

Ashfield can pick up the tab.

the new balmange leagues club!

12239541_675662082570205_7825189726592211842_n.jpg

Fail.

The tigers logo and the Jersey they are wearing are years apart. Details man, details.

I just don't get why any sane person could seriously suggest they would flush 16+ Years of Wests Tigers branding down the dunny and change the name back to Magpies.

How many fans do they have now who have only known Wests Tigers?

Despite the obese unemployed Leumeah scums wet dream, quiet simply the wests magpies will never come back, no matter what. If Balmain die it will have zero effect on the Wests Tigers football club, hell it might even make them stronger, and this is coming from an old Balmain fan.