Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Accent - Why?

Tom Shines

South Australians from experience also pronounce dance and chance with a less-nasal a (ie "darnce").

Certainly noticed the 'castle' pronunciation straight away when I moved to Victoria. In regional Victoria I've noticed they pronounce many 'e' sounds as 'a' sounds - many say "I'm going to *Mal-bourne*", or "I'm feeling *wal*" (rhyming with 'Mal'), or "I need some *halp*". Stupid Victorians.

Maybe I'm crazy (distinct possibility), but I've noticed some Sydneysiders pronounce 'beer' as if it's nearly two syllables: "be-ar"??

That's not just a regional Victoria thing. It's mainstream city thing too. Kiwis swap the 'a' for the 'e' too.

It's easy to pick a Victorian for this very reason (a and e swap). Many 'a' sounds are pronouced 'e' as well.

Was Morrie Field from Sydney - a classic "Be yahh" man.

IanG

Then there is the blended ones that people who have immigrated have. Like one of my Year 11-12 teachers at High School. It was mainly Australian but it was when she said certain words that you could tell that she came from Scotland orginally. If only her name was Mrs Robinson

Poul

Maybe I'm crazy (distinct possibility), but I've noticed some Sydneysiders pronounce 'beer' as if it's nearly two syllables: "be-ar"??

Not sure about Sydneysiders, but I have noticed this with West Australians (or should that be Western Australians ;-) ) who make the amber brew bisyllabic.

Angry_eel

Don't know about others but I can pick up different Indian accents. From what I can hear, Indians tend to have the accents the same as the tone of the language they grew up with. e.g. South Indians can rarely say 'three' with a th instead saying it with a soft t. Bengalis can't differentiate between v, w and b and most fresh Indian Bengalis and Bangladeshis will say "balue" instead of value. Most other Indians wont be able to differentiate v and w since most of these languages have 'va' sound but no W(oua?) sound. I had to be taught to say Ourren(Warren) instead of vorren which I was saying when I immigrated to Australia.

woodyk2

My exs daughter lived in Guilford/Sth Granville and she has a DEFINATE fooly sik accent if you know what i mean. Her cousin who is a dead ringer for ginger megs has a DEFINATE middle eastern accent.Both are white anglo/saxon but have a definate middle eastern accent.

redvscotty

I work in a call centre and we service most of the country.

You can definately tell the Victorians and Queerslanders apart from the rest, however each state has their fair share of bogans. You can tell the QLD bogans from the Vic bogans and those 2 are by far the most distinguisable.

I can't pick a WA accent, only way I know is because they ring up and say good morning and it's like 1 o clock here.

The young teens to 20s age bracket is possibly the worst one for me. We get travel companies and clothes/fashion shops and the thing that pisses me off the most is when they say 'How are yew?'

Not You.

Yewwww.

Generally the pitch creeps up at the end of the yew. This is definately a reflection on the way the yank culture is creeping into our society. Also the use of z where there should be an s, but thats a whole other topic.

I work in a call centre and we service most of the country.

You can definately tell the Victorians and Queerslanders apart from the rest, however each state has their fair share of bogans. You can tell the QLD bogans from the Vic bogans and those 2 are by far the most distinguisable.

I can't pick a WA accent, only way I know is because they ring up and say good morning and it's like 1 o clock here.

The young teens to 20s age bracket is possibly the worst one for me. We get travel companies and clothes/fashion shops and the thing that pisses me off the most is when they say 'How are yew?'

Not You.

Yewwww.

Generally the pitch creeps up at the end of the yew. This is definately a reflection on the way the yank culture is creeping into our society. Also the use of z where there should be an s, but thats a whole other topic.

This is the Aussie accent that sticks out more than any other.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2009-08-29/interview-jared-crouch/1409276

Listen to the way he pronounces words like 'will' and 'also' and 'field'

Whether it's then bogan version, middle class or upper class version - they all do it. Julia Gillard has the bogan adelaide accent and she does exactly the same.

I agree that a Perth accent is a difficult one to detect. So is Tasmania funnily enough.

I reckon it goes

1.Adelaide
2. 'Malbourne'
3. Brisbane

In terms of capital city accent detection.

manly40gimps0

Mate I reckon I can pick somebody from the Hunter region if I listen to them long enough.

The way they words like so and go in a quickish type way. Johns Brothers, the Chief do this. It's ever so subtle.
And they always end a sentence with saying "and that"

One of the arvo newsreaders Jennifer King is from Adelaide. She has to be. Typical SA accent.

I'll bet my nut sack on it.

IanG

I once heard an Irish comedian (Can't remember his name but he did all those Smoke Free Pubs and Clubs ads) descibe the New Zealand accent. Saying it was an Australian accent with a speech impediment